We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i wouldn't recommend it to a friend”
Review of Hotel Royal Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Haveli
Ranked #4 of 156 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“i wouldn't recommend it to a friend”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

first of all, i have to give all the credit to the guy we had at the desk,
he was very helpful and nice. my spouse had fever, and i was asking for directions to the nearest pharmacy, but he offered to get it all delivered to us.. and so he brought us what we needed and didn't rip us off.

the room we had looked good, but it was just really cold, and we didn't get any warm water during the whole stay, even though it was supposed to be possible at least in the morning. so you are freezing and wake up taking an ice-cold shower? personally, nice decorations on the walls don't compensate that.

the bathroom in our room was connected to the next one, so we could hear the people from the next room all the time, and generally there were no soundproof solutions. i'm an easy sleeper, but i can see why someone would have a problem with that.

we had breakfast at the main hotel "royale", and it was ok -- pretty plain, though. we met this middle-aged moustache man, who is definitely the most ill-mannered guy i've met during my first week in india. here's a conversation we had during breakfast:

"excuse me, does your wifi work right now?"
(i had actually connected already by guessing the simple password right, just had hardly any signal)

"yes it does. but you don't know the password"

"oh, so what is the password?"

"i don't know"

"how come you don't know?"

"because you will not use our internet"


not much you can add to that. do yourself a favor and find a nicer solution, the city's probably full of them.

Room Tip: we had a room with no window, i guess you can get one on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mental_savonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    68
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
87
79
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

My room was spacious with excellent detailed stone carvings in the window bays. Some other guests told me they didn't have windows, but that their rooms were well decorated. My room was bright (and colourful).

The restaurant was over at their main hotel, the Royale, but considering the standard of room I had, I was happy to stay at the Haveli and pop over for food at meal times. The food in the restaurant really was excellent, and the staff were very friendly.

An added bonus was being able to shower after my camel safari, despite having already checked out.

A criticism I would have would be how the main Royale hotel seem to wash their hands of dealing with issues connected to the main booking agents. I had an issue with a dodgy Delhi based travel agent regarding transfers to the camel safari. The hotel was helpful only to the extent that they allowed me to use their phone to call the agent. They seem content to be fed tourists from the agents, but then abandon any responsibility for helping guests when it comes to an issue. Their dismissive manner in handling the issue tainted an otherwise good experience. The attitude of some staff at the main hotel during the issue also overshadowed the pleasant and attentive impression made by the rest of the staff.

Worth a particular good mention are the restaurant staff of the main hotel who were consistently smiley and friendly, and the staff at the Haveli, who were helpful and professional.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Room is very good and comfortaible Room is very celan.
Good view of fort. Staff is very friendly and helpful.Just near the fort,very good hotel.I come again and again for this hotel. Extent choice in jaisalmel.Thank you for manager Mr khan.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokkun16g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Manager Mr. Khan was very helpful and funny, also all the staff were very helpful and kind Room is very good and comfortable, also a good view of the fort. Breakfast is simple but tasty Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

I had a really good experience in this awesome place. The rooms are great and quiet whit a really nice view to the fort. The manager is really friendly (mr. Khan) and all the staff is great as well.
The rooms is always clean and comfortable to have a great time in this city. Near to everything, I will give 5 strars to this place and for all the staff.
I will come back for sure to this hotel against!
Thanks for everything!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gsilval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, India
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I had originally booked at their main Hotel - The Royal Jaisalmer, but because of bungling by Expedia.co.in, my booking was not confirmed there & after a lot of persuasion with the owner, I was booked at their another property - Royal Haveli.
Rooms are clean with basic facilities. Hot water is available only betn 7 to 10 am but hardly comes for 1 hr. Only Tea/coffee is available. For Breakfast & Food you have to go to the main hotel.
Even the location is also in a small lane, but that is the case with all budget hotels in Jaisalmer.
Should prefer to stay at the main hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArifVora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramjhan K, Owner at Hotel Royal Haveli, responded to this review, 13 December 2014
Dear sir , thank you for taking time to review our property . we value your feedback , our property was on lease before july 2014 , now we are a separate unit and also we have well maintained roof top restaurant with variety of food( vegetarian , indian , continental ) . expecting your visit again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

New Hotel in walking distance to the Fort and the old city of Jaisalmer. The quiet rooms are tastefully decorated and have modern equippment. The staff is friendly and helpful. Very good value for those, who seek something special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twoworldstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramjhan K, Manager at Hotel Royal Haveli, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Haveli and for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

I really appreciate the feedback you have given about your experience with us.

Hotel Royal Haveli experience is all about people working together to create beautiful memories for all our guests and I am delighted to note that we were able to serve you well. your kind and generous comments are much appreciated and are a great source of motivation for our team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Abdul Khan
(Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,059 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 104 in Jaisalmer
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Haveli

Property: Hotel Royal Haveli
Address: | Near Desert Boy's Dhani, Dhibba Para Air Force Circle, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Haveli 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Haveli is a best hotel in Jaisalmer. Situated at the heart of the Golden City, it's walking distance from railway station. Hotel Royal Haveli is the most comfortable hotel in Jaisalmer at very good cost. We believe in true hospitality as well as serve as your gateway to the deserts and various other amazing destinations. We provide our guests with free pick-up service to take the hassle out of arriving in Jaisalmer, free welcome chai and free wi-fi. Whichever room you choose, be assured of surroundings of elegant sophistication, tasteful decor and first class features and comforts in one of the finest luxury hotels Jaislamer has to offer. Hotel Royal Haveli is one of the most comfortable hotels in Jaisalmer would be like an unforgettable journey to a Golden City. Hotel Royal Haveli is near all historical and heritage places and local shopping market where you get very good stuff. Hotel Royal Haveli gives you a complete satisfaction with affordable prices. You will get all things under one roof. We proudly present a great hotel with 12 budget rooms. In addition to our hotel and restaurant facilities we also offer different tours including camel safaris and Royal Specials: special packages and a variety of meditation. We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel and to give you a beautiful and relaxed stay in Jaisalmer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing