We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & comfortable hotel”
Review of Gorbandh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gorbandh Palace
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel itself was a lovely building and very well located to visit Jaisalmer. Our room was very clean, very comfortable beds. Fortunately we went off peak season so got a very good rate for bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were very good and filling and the service excellent. However the hotel restaurant was very expensive and we didnt eat in, nor did we use the mini bar which was rather extortionate! The swimming pool was fabulous. Jaisalmer is well worth a visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DPP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear DPP50,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

We are grateful to you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.


Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

beautiful and authentic hotel a nice place to have a rest after visiting jaisalmer, a nice swimming pool, very nice and helpful staff refined food quality at all levels you will feel like a maharadja or a rani just go and enjoy

Room Tip: room with a view over the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandj913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear sandj913,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

When our guests feel like Maharaja and Maharani during their stay at our hotel, we feel the job is well done. We take utmost satisfaction when our guests feel warm, welcome and well serviced at our hotels.

We thank you for giving us this feeling. Look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Was here for 2 nights. Can't say that Im fully impressed with this place.. Maintenance seems like a so-so. Food was just okay. It can get a little windy at times which is nice but it might get dusty. Had a good nights rest however.

There were very little guest at that point of the year. Maybe its just that season of the year. We got pretty good rates however.

The swimming pool was this hotel's saving grace. Had a good dip after a hot day under the sun. Loved it.

Final thoughts; might consider other alternatives if I return to Jaisalmer, probably a charming little B&B somewhere in the fort the next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordonated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Gordonated,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

We are glad you liked our services and gave us a chance to serve you. We thank you for taking out time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We regret the inconvenience caused to you and invite you once again to stay with us and enjoy our hospitality at it's best.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

On arrival you thi k you are staying in a palace but that is where the illusion stops . This is a mock palace built in the 1990s, something you would see in Las Vegas as another writer correctly pointed out . Inside the heat was unbearable . No airconditioning on in the foyer or any of the very long corridors . It was like a sauna just walking down the long glasss panelled corridors . You had to prepare yourself to go out when entering the corridors because of the heat .We should have known that there was a problem with the air conditioning then .When shown to our room there was a terrible smell from the bathroom . This has been consistently reported by other reviewers over the years . We were given another room which did not smell . The room was ok , but rather bland , though it did have what you required , fridge tea making and was clean . However the issue was
the air conditioning . We complained on several occassions . We were either ignored or not believed despite many complaints before on trip advisor about the airconditioning . Eventually on the second night staff came down and took the temperature in the room which was 29 degrees . They then showed us three other rooms , one smelt one was smaller than our room with no balcony and the third was no different fro the one we had already . None where any cooler . A lack if air conditioning is rather like European hotels failing to give heat I the winter . Staff then told us that the air conditioning was a centralised system and there was little that they could do . Then the staff generally ignored us .
As reported the pool is lovely .
The food and bar are very expensive . Do not eat in . We had a lovely meal out for about 600inr .for 2 .Beer 450inr plus tax about 80inr outside .

Room Tip: Get one with air conditioning and does not smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank siobhanrosslare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear siobhanrosslare,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

We thank you for taking out time and reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We thank you for intimating us about the lapse in our service. Your review makes us strive harder and work towards ensuring faultless hospitality and zero defect services at all the time.

We are looking in to the issue and would ensure that it does not recur to cause any inconvenience to our esteemed guests like you in future. We still look forward to serve you soon at our hotel and create a flawless memory for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

this is a nice hotel converted from a palace.the lobby.the walk area are quite impressive.specially kids enjoyed the marble stone filled pool .rooms are decent .the swimming pool is very big and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharmishmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear dharmishmehta,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

We are grateful to you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are highly satisfied to know that you were impressed and found the place enchanting.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great property with best people. Every staff wears the smile and are ready to walk extra mile to make sure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Right from hotel manager, front desk, restuarant staff - all were very courteous. Good food. Overall a great place to stay.... Will strogngly recommend folks to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank VijayR0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear VijayR0y,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are at peace to know that you were served well by our staff and could also relish our food. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was there on a business trip. I was pleased with the kind of reception I received. I judge the hotels by their washrooms. Without a shadow of doubt, the rooms were neat and clean. Coming to food and drinks, well, I must confess, they were insanely high. A beer which costs INR 70 - 80, can't be charged INR 400 + taxes. 5 - 6 pieces of chicken can't cost INR 525 + taxes. U cannot charge a 300 ml of soft drink to the tune of INR 170, when its available at INR 10 -12. The tariff of room was also very high. The kind of room I was in, can be easily booked at way below the price offered by Gorbandh. I also came to know that they tricked our corporate officer who booked the hotel for us. They did not provide any offer on the price, which these hotels usually do. Due to some reasons, AC was not working when I walked in and situation remained so till I walked out. Issue wasn't solved after making repeated complains. However, I can't deny the fact that they at least tried although he failed. May be it was off season and therefore, they did not bother giving due attention. This according to me is not a very wonderful gesture. They have wonderful pool facility which is found to be up to the mark. Hotel was maintained well. Very clean, neat and tidy. Breakfast has very limited options too, probably because of off-season issue. So, overall, a nice stay, nice ambiance but no value to money.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms under "Pearl" unit. AC does not work there during off-season I gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Subrata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Gorbandh Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Subrata C,

Greetings from Gorbandh Palace, Jaisalmer

We thank you for taking out time from your busy schedule and sharing your travel experiences with us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you found our hotel up to the mark on cleanliness and had a nice stay with us.

We look forward to serve you soon at our hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#28 of 114 in Jaisalmer
534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#30 of 114 in Jaisalmer
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#73 of 114 in Jaisalmer
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#13 of 114 in Jaisalmer
961 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Jaisalkot
Hotel Jaisalkot
#53 of 114 in Jaisalmer
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorbandh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorbandh Palace

Address: 1 Tourist Complex, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £36 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorbandh Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gorbandh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorbandh Palace Jaisalmer
Gorbandh Palace Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing