We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel - some minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Rajwada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Rajwada
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - some minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very nice hotel, the rooms are nice and clean.
The only small problems were:
- swimming pool not really clean, we complained and they "sort of" cleaned it the day after but it remained troubled water.
- everything is expensive, you need to pay for the billiard, the wifi,...
- the lobby is really hot but in Jaisalmer you are in the desert ;-)
- the air-co in the 2 rooms were noisy but function correctly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found the Hotel nice and clean. The swimming pool in this part of the desert remains a major issue. The strong winds and dust frequent dust storms bring in a lot of sand and cleaning it is a continuous task and we are at it. The charges of various additional facilities that you avail while at the hotel have been fixed after a lot of deliberations and are at par with the other Hotels of same standard in the area. I wish you had pointed out the noisy air conditioner in the room while you were here and the same would have been sorted out by our maintenance team.

With regards
Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    290
    130
    56
    62
See reviews for
200
291
26
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elsegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights - 3 days at Fort Rajwada: it is the only place we regret on our 3 weeks tour of Rajasthan.
The hotel is situated in a new area where several hotels are being build and is about 5' drive from Jaisalmer: you do need transportation if you want to go out for a walk or for dinner.
Upon arrival you see a huge hotel with a huge reception hall in marble. They welcome you with a crown of synthetic flowers and a glass of rosewater.
After check-in we were brought to our rooms, situated on ground level. Both rooms had a strong cigarette smell: when we informed reception they told us they could just spray it.
Rooms were large and well decorated; bathroom would need a makeover as it looked faded.

After the long journey from Jodhpur, the children were in a hurry to have a swim: a nice looking large pool was waiting for them. We had to look for the pool boy and ask him to bring us towels and mattresses to put on the pool beds.
The pool was not clean at all: I understand that in the desert there is always sand due to the wind, but there was a lot of sand in the pool and many "algues" on its wall. This was clearly not healthy pool water.

Our supper in the huge, cold looking dinning hall: we were only 10 people and were informed we could have the buffet. As we had a look at it, we preferred to have à la carte: food was ok.
Staff is very friendly.

For breakfast you have again a buffet ( and you get the impression everything is kept simmering for hours) What surprised us, is that we had to pay for the lassis: this was the first and only time we had too in India.

As we were leaving Jaisalmer with the evening train, we asked reception if we could keep 1 room till our pickup time at 16H; this was not possible as hotel was " fully booked". So we had to leave the rooms at 13h and wait in the hot reception hall.( no AC)
If in this huge hotel we would have been with 30 people, it will have been many!

This hotel is clearly for large groups traveling by bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVDS747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was much below expectation .room was good but there was power cuting every 20 mins and there was lizard on the bad and on floor and then at night air condition was not working and the staff said it will take 1hour to repair at 12:30 mid night and finally after 30 mins they Changed my room and next morning they shifted me back to the same room and air condition was still not working on the first day I was allowed to swim in my costum but on next day they didn't allow me to swim with the same costum it was redicillous this is worst experience of my life it has just five days of my marriage I was with my wife and it was so insulting and I had to change the hotel and the give a stupide reason this is of season but dude we pay 4000 rs in of season not giving us for free Advice as a kid I had stayed in this hotel that was lovely which mad me come again . If u can't change much atleast ask ur staff and general manger keep a smile on your face Thanks and regard. Pushpendra Singh rathore. Room no: 202. Contact details +919887778820

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rathoreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your views. The Trip Advisor gives the Guests a wonderful opportunity to come out with their perspective. Further it gives the Hotel an opportunity to improve based on the inputs of the guests. However, it appears that some people tend to come out with malicious fabrications to settle personal grievances. This defeats the whole purpose of the forum. To put things in perspective I would like to bring out the following:
You checked into the hotel on 08 Jul 2014 and everything was going honky dory till the 9th when you wanted to enter the pool with your wife. You were politely told that to enter the pool you have to be properly attired. This is what triggered off the whole issue and then nothing that the hotel had or did was right. The electricity is controlled by the JVVNL (Jodhpur Vidyut Vitran Nigam Ltd.) and whenever the supply goes off the generators come on, the changeover takes place in a few seconds. The Hotel has no control over the JVVNL. You asked for Cigarettes past midnight and you were again politely informed that the cigarettes are dispensed only through the Bar which closes at a particular time (Incidentally, the Bar closure is also a matter of Government control and the Hotel has no control over it). This irritated you further. You then complained about the AC and your room was accordingly changed. The air-conditioning was checked and thereafter monitored by the Maintenance Engineer and found to be working satisfactorily. While checking out you also informed about the TV and non functional TV remote. The same was checked and found to be fully functional. Probably there could be an issue about handling of the remote but it would be inappropriate on our part to say much on the subject as we believe – ‘GUEST IS ALWAYS RIGHT’. I would also like to bring out that I was out of station at the time of your stay here. Therefore, your comment about my non smiling face is in bad taste and undermines the complete authenticity and sincerity of your valuable comments. Your interaction was with Shri C S Rathore who requested you not to enter the pool inappropriately attired. You were quite angry with him and had threatened him at that time saying, “see what I will put on Trip Advisor”.
Notwithstanding the above we would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.
With regards

Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is a relatively new build in the style of grand fortified houses, its kept beautifully clean,
the service is fantastic as are the rooms. The hotel has an excellent pool and roof top bar area with great views. The dining rooms and food are first class, the chef is brilliant and presentation of his dishes are a sight to be seen. The manager runs the hotel very well oversees all aspects and does not let the standard drop. I would strongly recommend this hotel over much more expensive hotels as we have been disappointed at a few on this trip. My only negative comment would be there was no A/C in public areas, corridors etc of the hotel and june was 47 degree C.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a higher grade its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
469 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A well laid out hotel. Had the privilege of having two meals at the pool side. The hotel caters for all types of cuisine, however do try the local fare. The desi chicken and lal maas is out of this world, the continental stuff was average though. The hotel is beautifully constructed and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Corner suite is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chow69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding time to post your comments.

Regards

Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel at around 3 pm after a 9 hour drive from Ahmedabad. The approach road from the highway was not very good. The main gate was quite impressive, but it was nothing compared to what we saw as soon as we drove past the main gate. This hotel is beautiful to look at, fascinating architecture & intricate workmanship.
The main building which is a two level building houses all the dining facilities, bar and shop on the right hand side and rooms on the ground & first floor on the left side. In addition, there are three blocks behind the main building separated by lovely gardens, one each on the left side, right side and at the rear. The block are accessed by covered walkways with marble flooring. There is a beautiful swimming pool the left side block and the rear block. We did not dare to swim, as it was December; however it was lovely sitting by the poolside.
We had a garden facing room on the first floor in the rear block. The room was fairly large with a nice clean bathroom. The interiors were done in typical Rajasthani style, with a lot of vibrant colours.
The food was generally good, specially the local speciality Lal Maas. The main building has a terrace from where you can watch the sunset - a lovely sight. The city is quite close to the hotel, yet far enough to provide a sense of solitude.
The staff was efficient & helpful. Highly recommended if you want a princely experience !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpunwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank yo for your detailed comments. Your thorough analysis of the Hotel will go a long way in motivating all of us here to maintain and enhance the standards.

With regards

Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perfecto hotel in Jaiselmer. Its value for money. Hotels gives u a feel of a Palace. You will enjoy your every moment in this hotel. Pool side is just amazing. Lobby is huge. Rooms are quite comfortable. Breakfast served in the hotel can be improved bit more. Staff is very polite and helpful.
Perfecto hotel for you in Jaiselmer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wintourjaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortrajwada, General Manager at Fort Rajwada, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for finding time to post your valuable comments.

With Regards

Vijendra Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#25 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
10.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#28 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
#23 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.1 mi away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#22 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Rajwada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Rajwada

Property: Fort Rajwada
Address: Hotel Complex No 1 | Jodhpur-Barmer Link Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Rajwada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Fort Rajwada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Rajwada Jaisalmer
Fort Rajwada Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing