We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great staff”
Review of Hotel Rang Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rang Mahal
Ranked #22 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great staff”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Rang Mahal for two nights on May 6-7. This Hotel offers great decor and well maintained facilities. It is located in a quiet area five minutes by tuk-tuk from the center of town with a pool to cool you after a tour of the golden fort and town.
The staff at all levels were friendly and offered exceptional service. We checked out at 5:30am and were given two bags containing breakfast for the road. The breakfast was prepared with the most caring touches as everything was thought of down to the napkins that were wrapped in foil. Dinner was also a treat and thanks to the staff including the gentleman who recommended the dhal. I recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try dinner in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRangmahal, General Manager at Hotel Rang Mahal, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Michael,

We are really grateful to you appreciating our Hotel, its people and service. We renovate our hotel every year to provide utmost comfort and aesthetic feel to our guests. Our each and every guest is very important to us and our team provides them the personalized and customized service at all times. We feel honored and committed to provide best of our services to our esteemed guests like you. We look forward to have you, your friends and family as our guest on your next visit,

Thanks & regards,

Mohit Srivastava,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    201
    51
    13
    26
See reviews for
147
149
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

An beautifully constructed hotel with amazing decor. The hotel as all the facilities and are very well maintained. The staff at all levels are well trained and make yr stay a memorable one. The pool is always open for d guests, bar is well stocked and food array enlightens yr taste buds.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevPranab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRangmahal, General Manager at Hotel Rang Mahal, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Mr. Dev,

We are really very thankful to you appreciating our Hotel, its people and service. We renovate our hotel every year to provide utmost comfort and aesthetic feel to our guests. Our each and every guest is very important to us and our team provides them the personalized and customized service at all times. We have well stacked bar adjacent to the pool which really relaxes you in calm and quiet surrounding of the lush green garden. We feel honored and committed to provide best of our services to our esteemed guests like you. We look forward to have you, your friends and family as our guest on your next visit.

Thanks & regards,

Mohit Srivastava,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel with my family. The entrance, lobby and swimming pool has been very well maintained and looks great. The moment you enter the rooms you get to know about this hotel.

Rooms are less than average as compared to other at par hotels in Jaisalmer.

The Hotel staff is not that friendly. Specially the manager Mr. Akshay. They are very preferential in giving their treatment to foreigner and Indians which I don't like.food is also not that great though the dining area again has been made beautifully.

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone for sure

Would not prefer this hotel again as I am already planing another trip to Jaisalmer with bigger group as Suryagarh seemed to be a much better option.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PasrichaAbhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRangmahal, General Manager at Hotel Rang Mahal, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really thankful to you for appreciating the hotel in terms of entrance, lobby, swimming pool & dining area. But we wish to bring it to your notice that as hotelier we take care of our all the guests with the same respect.

First of all at the time of check in you were very much demanding but not willing to pay for it. Your booking was for standard room but you demanded “ROYAL ROOM” in the price for standard room. Then we showed you the deluxe and royal rooms where you had selected deluxe rooms and we had obliged your demand and upgraded to “DELUXE” category as per your choice without any additional charges.

In the evening again you demanded a discounted rate for our Gala buffet dinner which we accepted & given you 40% discount on buffet. Even after that we served A-la-carte soup on your demand and did not charged for the same. Just to take advantages of getting discounts at every step for all the facilities, you were repeatedly telling us that next time i will come with a big group.

Again late in the evening you demanded to shift the rooms with a ridiculous excuse and we had to shift all the three rooms at 10.30 PM. Even then you threatened that you would check out next day. But you enjoyed the stay both the nights as per your schedule.
At the time of check out Mr. Akshay met personally with your family and they appreciated their stay. But just to harm our reputation in the market you intentionally put these negative comments on trip advisor and misused this channel of communication.
Even after doing these efforts if you are not satisfied, we were unable to satisfy your demand and we feel apologetic for that.

Rakesh Singh Rathore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Rang Mahal is a 4 star hotel but I would rate it many times better than the 5 star hotel Suryagarh in Jaiselmer simply because of the gracious staff and their hospitality. While staff in other top hotels mesmerized by the foreign crowd, ignore the Indian tourists, this hotel was unbiased in their hospitality to everyone. I had called at the reception during our stay in the hotel to find out how we could visit the sand dunes and they suggested we take a package of Rs 9K that included dinner, desert safari and cultural programmes. When I refused to take up the package and asked them for suggestions on how else we could do our desert safari, they were so honest and forthcoming that it was heartwarming. Most other hotels would try to push for the package but they did not and they put the customer's preferences first which was really amazing. The last day when we were traveling back, we had an early morning flight from jodhpur which was 300 kms away and since we would miss breakfast, we requested them to pack it for us. They obliged and packed a really good meal for all of us. It was a wonderful stay! Even the 5 stars have a lot to learn from their hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reethika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRangmahal, General Manager at Hotel Rang Mahal, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Reethika,

We highly admire your appreciation about our Hotel, its people and service. We feel honored and committed to provide best of our services to our esteemed guests like you. Our team is very sensitive about taking utmost care of all our guests equally. We maintain our hotel to provide best of the comforts and aesthetic feel to our guests. Our each and every guest is very important to us and our team provides them the personalized and customized service at all times. We look forward to have you, your friends and family as our guest on your next visit.

Thanks & regards,

Mohit Srivastava,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with the typical Rajasthani fort feel to it. It's quite luxurious (there are TVs in the loos!). The rooms were nice and we used a triple sharing, which also quite comfortable. The service is good, although the dinner at the restaurant could have been better. But the breakfast buffet was delicious with many options for vegetarians - I particularly liked the south Indian food and the donuts.

It's a bit far from the main city area and you need to hire a car to get to the top attractions, but that's no hassle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShubhdaKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I and my team members stayed here for one day and night. The hotel is 5-6 km outside the fort city, which is where all 5-star hotels are located. There are no markets/streets in the vicinity of the hotel. If you're looking for a more cultural experience, observing the city and meeting the people, you should head towards the fort and find a modest accommodation. Having said that, Rang Mahal was quite comfortable. The rooms were simple but with all facilities, the beds comfortable. The extra bed we got in our room was a comfortable folding bed with a big mattress.
Coming to the food, the dinner buffet was limited but delicious. The lal-maas (red-meat) they cooked seemed authentic. The breakfast spread next morning was more elaborate and diverse.
Unlike typical 5-star hotels that can only provide cabs, this one can arrange local autorickshaws (that carry 8-10 people) in a private arrangement which are quite cheap (Rs. 200-300 per vehicle) if you are to travel to the city or railway station. The pool was clean and the staff very cordial and friendly. They took our orders and served us whatever they could till 5:00 in the morning, as we were partying whole night. The hotel is recommended for families with kids.

Room Tip: It's a big hotel. If you aren't game for walking, try to get a room near to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dividedby_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were adviced for the food and it was marvellous. If you are non-vegetarian, please try Lal-Mash (Local Lamp cooked with red chilli n hot spicey flavor), simply amazing. We had stayed ay some different hotel but I liked the interior and ambiance of the hotel. I have a plan to visit next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arijit_Chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#25 of 105 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
#24 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rang Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rang Mahal

Property: Hotel Rang Mahal
Address: Sam Road | 5, Hotel Complex, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rang Mahal 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a spa and wellness centre, Hotel Rang Mahal features a heritage look and decor. It is in close proximity of Nakki Lake Free, Sunset Point and Dilwara Temple. WiFi is available throughout the property. Each modern air-conditioned room here will provide you with a cable TV and a minibar. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with a hairdryer and free toiletries. At Hotel Rang Mahal you will find a 24-hour front desk, and 24 hours room service. Other facilities offered at the property include garden, tour desk, meeting facilities and luggage storage. Also the property offers free parking. The Jaisalmer Fort, the Patwa Haveli and the Bada Bagh are within 6 km from the property. The Jaisalmer Bus Station and the Jaisalmer Railway Station are 3 km away. The Jodhpur Airport is 300 km. The on-site restaurant serves Indian, Chinese, continental and regional fare. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rang Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rang Mahal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing