We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in 5 weeks of India travel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1st Gate Home- Fusion
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The 1st Gate Home Fusion was by far the best run hotel in 5 weeks of travel in India. We were accommodated in room 8, which had a perfect view of the fort from the window. The rooms were clean and spacious. Decor in rooms was very minimalist. Could have done with a splash of colour on the walls. A large rug or fabric hanging on the wall would have added some ambiance. There were many in the markets, so it would be nice to see some local work hanging in the rooms. Footsteps and talking in the hallway outside was noisy at night, so a long runner on the floor would have absorbed some of the noise and given a more sophisticated feel. Just a thought.

Breakfast in the downstairs dining room was made to order. Croissants and pastries were an unexpected addition. Many courses served separately. Very nice food.

The rooftop restaurant was well used by us. Watching the sun rise at dawn over the rooftops, while wrapped in a blanket and served the first morning cup of freshly made cappuccino and biscuits by Ali was a magic experience. Later in the day the rooftop restaurant once again provided a nice place to sit to catch up on emails or read a book and eat a delicious lunch. You could lie on a day bed and catch a few rays of winter sun or sit at tables under the pergola. It was quite cold at night, so a brazier was lit beside each table and blankets were draped around the shoulders of patrons. Food in the evening was tasty, fresh and a good size serving. Italian dishes were available.

The location and hospitality were exceptional. Staff were attentive and friendly. You MUST stay here while visiting Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had 4 nights at 1st gate and we both decided that it had been the best hotel experience had during our month long stay in india .The rooms were were incredible with the most comfy bed ever.Great staff provided everything we needed qiuckly and without fuss.The roof top restaurant [the best view of the fort] served fabulous inexpensive food and icy cold beer..We were lucky enough to take part in a [free] cooking class which was alot of fun.This hotel is only going to get better with the building of the spa sauna and yoga retreat well on its way next door.Thank you to our fabulous hosts [hope your feeling better Fredrica] their could not have been a better spot to spend a 50th birthday or valentines day. Thanks again Heidi and Sam. [special thanks to your wonderful staff Mahaveer ,Harish, Uday and Alli and any one i have missed]

Room Tip: The beds are truly like clouds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrigamgster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Exceptional hospitality in a beautifully designed hotel. We stayed for three, very comfortable nights. Attentive hosts and staff, efficient housekeeping and good laundry service. The roof top restaurant is a great place to relax and eat (European or Indian food). If you want a brief respite from the heat of the desert or the maelstrom of activity that is India - this is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LooksWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Landed at the location by an accidental meeting with the owner and was bowled over by the place. The rooms look like a dream considering what I'd seen at the other places there. Spacious, and super comfortable beds and the small other things which add a personalized touch to it. Sadly, I was there for just a day... and could'nt stay here. However, I made up for myself, by being there for dinner with the most awesome view in front of me - The Fort! Lit up and beautiful!!
The location is The Best! Right opposite the fort with hardly a couple of minutes walk to the entrance. They are coming up with a spa and guess it would be ready in a few months. That would definitely Up this place more.
The owners are great people to meet while there and I Do hope to be there someday soon!
Would add the last star in the rating when I actually get to stay there! :D

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank B_3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I applaud the honesty and support of the hotel management. The room we checked in to had some mechanical problems which required us to check out as no other rooms were available. The management arranged for us to stay in an alternative hotel of equal quality, provided us transportation and also provided us a free dinner. This is the way of excellent custom service and not something you find today. Thanks again to the staff and management of the hotel for their total considerations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

1st Gate is a very nice hotel in Jaisalmer with well design interior and great staff / management >> All has been done for us to enjoy our stay with great tips, customized service Etc.

The location is just perfect at 200 Meters from Jaisalmer Fort entrance and - need to be mentioned - the surroundings were quiet at night.

Our room was a bit dark (I assume all the ones not in front of the fort) and the bed was a bit to bed a bit to soft but nothing serious.

We'll wait for them to finalize the Spa (I understood End 2014) to add the fifth star to the rating.

Room Tip: Select rooms facing the fort, this is definetely worth it even more as they seem more bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We decided to book one night in a nice hotel during our trip to India for a change from all the average ones and we could not have made a better choice than the 1st Gate Home-Fusion hotel. Rooms are very clean and nice, the beds are very comfortable and the service at the hotel is great. It is a must for staying in that beautiful town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nzlatev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
552 reviews
8.5 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,228 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 106 in Jaisalmer
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1st Gate Home- Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Gate Home- Fusion

Address: Dhibba Para | near Fort Parking, Jaisalmer, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £82 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1st Gate Home- Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 1st gate Home-Fusion we offer to guests all the best they deserve: from furnishing to full optional service. 8 rooms with all modern amenities, 8 unique nests where the true home comfort of home as well as the luxury of a classy hotel mix together to offer a refined, warm and cheering sensation. The rooms are uncluttered and stylish with soft furnishings and decorative items; wooden flooring and organic walls colors contribute to a make staying warm and comfortable as ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1st Gate Home- Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing