We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1st Gate Home- Fusion
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hi Everyone, we stayed there for 2 nights and had a good time, it is located very close to fort entrance, staff is super friendly and hotel itself is done in Italian-indian twist way and very clean. It has roof top restaurant with superb views over the town. On this point I would like say we were disappointed with food a bit i.e. it was very bland. although asked to make indian meals hot/spicy it still arrived very mild. It seems it is more tourist orientated rather than giving local character of the food. Apart from that it was very good overall . It is probably a bit too pricy for local standards and you can find places with similar features and maybe less glamour with half the price. Overall very good

Room Tip: rooms with fort view are best - it is a bit noisy but with double glazed windows and traffic gone fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

All the rave reviews surprise me. Sorry, I didn't think that this hotel is that extraordinary. Yes, everybody is super-friendly, accommodating and helpful and if this was a review of the staff they would certainly get 5 points. But the hotel as a whole? Absolutely not. It is located at a street corner and exposed to tremendous street and traffic noise, dog barking at night, music etc. I had trouble sleeping there at all. The bathroom had a horrible sewer smell. It was so bad that the staff must have noticed it, so I didn't even mention it to them. I'm sure if there was anything they could do about it they would have done it before we even got there. So I didn't want to deal with it if it couldn't be fixed. The breakfast is "continental" for sure: fruit, juice, toast, egg, that's it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ALien89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1stGateHomeFusion, Owner at 1st Gate Home- Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Guest

We are also dissapointed to READ about your experience just in Tripadvisor

Actually our hotel is NOT located into the desert but we are located close to all the main city attractions, as we explain in our web site and all over in the net and in the main guide books.

About dogs and noisy outside I hope you can understand that it is not one of our amenities as it is not one of our options but it is India lifestyle, not only in Jaisalmer but everywhere, the music in the street is due to the Indian marriage and your stay was during the marriage season.

As we as owners and our staff too is always attentive of the Guest need, but you already choice that we couldn't made any thing for the sewer smell or any other problem, we would have definitely cure the problem if we would have knew it before your arrival.

Mainly the stay in our home is made comfortable because also our Guest provides us to follow them in a better way, but unfortunatly we didnt get this chance with you.

I am living in India since 2008 and I can assure you that you cannot get our quality and variety breakfast also in the 5* hotel (Indian standard), as homemade jam, croissants, bread basket, choice of eggs and cerals ,we are not serving breakfast as buffet as we want to serve fresh meal but all the items are available, just ask or tell about your need.

Warm regards
Manoj, Federica and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I and my wife stayed in 1st Gate Home on the last day of our 2-week trip across Rajasthan. Easily, this was one of the best hotels we had stayed in the trip. This botique hotel surprised us in many aspects.

The hotel itself is located right in the middle of the town outside the fort's gate. And, the rooms have a nice view of the fort walls. From the restaurant at the open terrace, the view of the rustic fort is amazing. It is a stark contrast to the opulent facilities at the hotel.

The staff are courteous and pleasant right from our checkin, all the way through our stay in the hotel. The room was immaculate and well furnished. The complimentary fruits and snacks basket was a pleasant surprise. So was the supply of bottled water in the corridor. Small things like this make a good impression on the guests. The room, bed and the shower were all spotless and luxurious. The shower, especially, was the best in our trip.

The restaurant serves Indian as well as Italian vegetarian food, and it was very tasty. We could dine here only for lunch, and found the staff at the restaurant cheerful and warm. I am sure the views from the restaurant during dinner would be magnificient. We also got a complimentary dessert sent to our room which was another of the hotel's surprises. The breakfast in the morning had Indian as well as continental options. We opted for the Indian one, which had multiple courses having dishes like poha, paratha and juices. The dishes were well made, well presented and were filling.

It was a shame that we could stay only one night in this place (it was fully booked for our other days in Jaisalmer). But, I am sure where I would stay in Jaisalmer when I visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a fantastic little hotel in Jaisalmer. Stayed there for only a night, but it was fantastic. The bed that everyone is raving about IS worth it. Absolute heaven. The room that we got was stunning. We had booked a triple occupancy room and it was large, airy and had a fantastic bathroom to go with it. Dual showers in the bathroom (first time i,ve seen that in a hotel anywhere). The staff were brilliant. Very attentive and helpful. The owner was very nice to talk to. The restaurant was a gem. Great food, whether Italian or Indian. The restaurant was vegetarian , but a meat lover like my-self had no issues with that since it was fantastic veg food. The breakfast was superb as well. Overall Absolutely Worth every penny. If I was to visit Jaisalmer again, I would ONLY stay here. Keep it up 1st Gate!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the fort are smaller in size than the ones at the back. If there are going to be 3 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shail1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The 1st Gate Home Fusion was by far the best run hotel in 5 weeks of travel in India. We were accommodated in room 8, which had a perfect view of the fort from the window. The rooms were clean and spacious. Decor in rooms was very minimalist. Could have done with a splash of colour on the walls. A large rug or fabric hanging on the wall would have added some ambiance. There were many in the markets, so it would be nice to see some local work hanging in the rooms. Footsteps and talking in the hallway outside was noisy at night, so a long runner on the floor would have absorbed some of the noise and given a more sophisticated feel. Just a thought.

Breakfast in the downstairs dining room was made to order. Croissants and pastries were an unexpected addition. Many courses served separately. Very nice food.

The rooftop restaurant was well used by us. Watching the sun rise at dawn over the rooftops, while wrapped in a blanket and served the first morning cup of freshly made cappuccino and biscuits by Ali was a magic experience. Later in the day the rooftop restaurant once again provided a nice place to sit to catch up on emails or read a book and eat a delicious lunch. You could lie on a day bed and catch a few rays of winter sun or sit at tables under the pergola. It was quite cold at night, so a brazier was lit beside each table and blankets were draped around the shoulders of patrons. Food in the evening was tasty, fresh and a good size serving. Italian dishes were available.

The location and hospitality were exceptional. Staff were attentive and friendly. You MUST stay here while visiting Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had 4 nights at 1st gate and we both decided that it had been the best hotel experience had during our month long stay in india .The rooms were were incredible with the most comfy bed ever.Great staff provided everything we needed qiuckly and without fuss.The roof top restaurant [the best view of the fort] served fabulous inexpensive food and icy cold beer..We were lucky enough to take part in a [free] cooking class which was alot of fun.This hotel is only going to get better with the building of the spa sauna and yoga retreat well on its way next door.Thank you to our fabulous hosts [hope your feeling better Fredrica] their could not have been a better spot to spend a 50th birthday or valentines day. Thanks again Heidi and Sam. [special thanks to your wonderful staff Mahaveer ,Harish, Uday and Alli and any one i have missed]

Room Tip: The beds are truly like clouds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrigamgster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Exceptional hospitality in a beautifully designed hotel. We stayed for three, very comfortable nights. Attentive hosts and staff, efficient housekeeping and good laundry service. The roof top restaurant is a great place to relax and eat (European or Indian food). If you want a brief respite from the heat of the desert or the maelstrom of activity that is India - this is the place for you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LooksWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
567 reviews
8.5 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#8 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#3 of 108 in Jaisalmer
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1st Gate Home- Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Gate Home- Fusion

Address: Dhibba Para | near Fort Parking, Jaisalmer, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £77 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1st Gate Home- Fusion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 1st gate Home-Fusion we offer to guests all the best they deserve: from furnishing to full optional service. 8 rooms with all modern amenities, 8 unique nests where the true home comfort of home as well as the luxury of a classy hotel mix together to offer a refined, warm and cheering sensation. The rooms are uncluttered and stylish with soft furnishings and decorative items; wooden flooring and organic walls colors contribute to a make staying warm and comfortable as ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 1st Gate Home- Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing