We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you ! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surya Paying Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Surya Paying Guest House
Ranked #6 of 150 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 6 and we stayed in Jaisalmer for 2 nights. After a 17hr train trip from Delhi Padam was waiting at the station to pick us up. He continued to take wonderful care of us from arranging a camel safari to booking a taxi to Udaipur as well as giving us a lot of informative history and information about Rajasthan. The camel safari was as he promised just my family and 2 guides, 7 camels and the Thar desert with a great meal. He is certainly a great host. We also want to thank the wonderful Kahn who tirelessly climbed the stairs up to the roof top and brought us beautiful meals and cold kingfisher! I was nervous when I booked this guest house because of the price but it certainly turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. The only down side was that I wish we had taken Padams advice and stayed one more night! Thank you Padam and thank you Kahn!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiji2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
54
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful time staying here. The staff are friendly but not intrusive. The food was great as well with the chance to learn how to Cook it . A small piece of heaven on earth. The views are amazing from the roof . Instead of sitting by the pool you sit by the pool of life

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I've been traveling in India for almost 2 months and I have to say that this hostel was like my home. The manager Padam it's a person that really understand your needs and he is always open to give you solutions and help you with everything from safari travels to the desert to have a nice dinner in the hostel.
The rooms are very nice for the price and the plus of the location inside the fort and the greats views of the rooftop make a really nice difference. The rooms don't have private bathrooms but for the price it's more than fare.
I will totally come back to this lovely place.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile


Absolutely Fantastic View from the fort! Very nice ambulance to eat / drink or chat. Room is clean. Wifi is working most of time. Friendly staff. Early check in. Very reasonable price.

Room doesn't come with attached bathroom as I booked, even bathroom just beside. But with the view and price I paid. I think it is still ok.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yxiao9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a wonderful little guesthouse in the walls of jaisalmer. It is super cheap, the rooms are really clean with clean white bed sheets. The staff are helpful and friendly, the food excellent and eating on the roof top with wonderful views is a unique and unforgettable experience. Thank you very much for a great few days,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandMargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Padam - the owner - went to pick us up with a name card in the bus station which was really a plus, after a 12h crazy bus ride from Udaipur. He told us later that some people in the bus ask you the hostel you're going to stay and your name, for later in the arrival having your name on their card, afirming that your hostel would be full. So, watch out since the competition among guesthouses is fierce and this one is pretty cheap.

We arrived early in the morning and came to the hostel with Padam that served us a welcome chai while he prepared our room. He is the owner and the staff, as it's a small property.
The room was super clean. It had a balcony to the courtyard.
All the guesthouse is pretty colourfull and you can even draw by yourself if you have the talent and the will.
We had access to a shared bathroom with hot water since the rooms dont have ensuited bathrooms.
The wifi was free and worked fine during the day. In the evenings, as the city's network would get busy, could get harder to work, but depended on the days.

The restaurant was pretty nice in terms of food and location an it's run by Acu.
Its settled in a nice and colourful room and as the building is part of the golden fort and the rooftop has actually one of the best views I've seen from Jaisalmer... If not staying for sleeping, let yourself be captivated by the friendly staff and the simple but tasty food.

Briefly.. This guesthouse was a place we ended to stay a few more days than expected as it gave us the tranquility we were looking for. We slept long hours along with its quietness.

Ps: Dont mistaken Surya guesthouse with Surja guesthouse/hotel. That is a neighbour place.

Room Tip: There is a room with a view over the city, other with a sunny balcony over the inside pateo and othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Inside the fort is this super lovely, super cheap wee treat! Only paid 250 rupees for a room with an amazing view of the old city, a bathroom and a comfortable bed.
We came in really early on the bus, they didn't have any rooms available until the other guests checked out, so they let us into their comfortable and warm (it was so cold outside!!) dining room. And brought us in some chai.

Their rooftop restaurant has the most stunning views, and really, the whole place had a great feel to it.
The boys were all so lovely.
Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mud Mirror Guest House
Mud Mirror Guest House
#2 of 150 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surja Hotel
Surja Hotel
#5 of 150 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Temple View
Hotel Temple View
#3 of 150 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surya Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surya Paying Guest House

Property: The Surya Paying Guest House
Address: Kotri Para, inside Jaisalmer Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — The Surya Paying Guest House 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are inside fort, and from the rooms you can see sunrise and in every room view and balcony from the roof you can see sunset. Rooms are neat and clean with good price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Surya Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing