We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Killa Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Killa Bhawan
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

Am I the only person to be very disappointed with the Killa Bhawan? It had been recommended by friends and there had been glowing reviews in various magazines, so I was expecting great things! I found the bedroom dirty and had to have breakfast in the reception area on one morning, I'm not sure why. People were queuing for the bathroom in front of our table and it was certainly not sweet smelling every time the door opened, hardly condusive to enjoying ones omlette.

I had visited Jaisalmer about five years before and found it very changed, with many more tourists and the fort lanes spoiled by all the banners the shopkeepers had been allowed to put up....Personally, if I was to go again, I would stay at the wonderful Fort Pokharan, which has been beautifully converted, and visit Jaisalmer for the day.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable beds and lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dicky-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    70
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
160
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

We went to Jaisalmer in late August, which might be a crazy idea. It was HOT HOT HOT, but still amazing. This hotel made it completely okay that we couldn't leave the air conditioning half the time. I've probably never stayed somewhere quite so unique. You are inside the fort, so it's like living in a sandcastle, but unlike the other hotels inside the fort, this one is responsible about water and waste, so you don't have to feel guilty about destroying the sandcastle. The rooms in this hotel are each a work of art -- and are literally filled with works of art as well -- beautiful pieces of Indian craftsmanship, all of which I would have gladly taken home with me! The owner was incredibly helpful and welcoming, and the staff were so kind and always there to assist with anything. Delicious breakfast on the terrace watching the city wake up remains one of my favorite Jaisalmer memories...even in the heat! Also immensely romantic - it would make a great honeymoon destination! And the price is an amazing value - splurge on the more expensive rooms if you can, they're worth it and still less than what you'd pay for a mediocre hotel in the US. Definitely go!!

  • Liked — The beautiful room and the amazing location
  • Disliked — A little hard to find at first (and arriving at the Jaisalmer train station is a bit harrowing).
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

We stayed at Killa Bhawan with our children 9 & 13 years. Our whole family really enjoyed our time there. We had meals overlooking the fort's main gate. The staff and owners were very friendly and we only wished we had booked longer. We might come back for a second honeymoon judging from the new room they were building. we were very impressed with the conservation work and the waste water being pumped into tanks so that it did not damage the forts foundations. Well done and thanks.

  • Liked — The staff and the view
  • Disliked — We did not stay long enough
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CanterburyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

If you are looking for a stay that goes beyond sleeping and eating, a place where you will mingle with other guests as well as the hosts then you must stay at Killa Bhawan.

Killa Bhawan defined our Jaisalmer experience and here are the reasons why I would not pick any other hotel in Jaisalmer:

1) Location
It is located in the fort overlooking the city and the location simply can not be beat. If we stayed anywhere else in Jaisalmer our experience would have not been the same.
My daily routine started with sipping masala chai on the balcony while looking at the parade of cotton-candy sarees in the streets below. The smell of cardamom, cinnamon and clove filled my nostrils and the feeling of serenity slowly filled my body with every sip. Surrounded by the sounds of devotional songs from a nearby temple I began to understand the spiritual aspect of India. I wish to remember this moment forever and be able to recall the feeling of peace of mind when stuck in a Friday 5pm project meeting that just won’t end.

2) Food
Breakfast is included in the price and you are not limited to the certain number of toasts, eggs, cups of coffees, etc. that you can have. They will be more that happy to bring you as much as you like at NO extra charge. Dinner is extra, and it is about 300 Rs. We were thinking to go out and dine in one of the restaurants recommended by Lonely Planet but after eating dinner at the hotel on our first night we needed not look further. We loved the Thali they served, made up of local delicacies, definitely some of the best Indian food we’ve ever eaten. I’m a picky eater with very sensitive stomach and a number of food allergies. I had absolutely no stomach problems with the food at this hotel.

3) Everyone at Killa Bhawan treats you like a family.
Our debit card stopped working in Jaisalmer. We contacted our bank but they were unable to resolve the issue. At this point we were ready to cancel all of our tours. After explaining what was going on with our card, Mr. India pulled out a couple of thousand rupees, handed them to us and said we can pay back when we resolve the issue. We told him we don't think we'll be able to withdraw the money in Jaisalmer, to which he replied: "It’s OK, you send the money once you arrive to Canada. We trust you."

  • Liked — service, location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizzyPionir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2007

Rajasthan has some wonderful and unique places to stay, none more wonderful than Killa Bhawan in Jaisalmer.
It is an oasis in the desert.
The accomodations are exceptionally comfortable and stylish without it feeling overdone or impersonal. You really feel as if you are staying in a home rather than a hotel.
As India can be a difficult place to travel and as a tourist you are constantly being hounded, walking into Killa Bhawan is a welcomed retreat from all that.
The family who runs the property is exceptionally warm and friendly, they treat you like a guest in their home rather than a customer passing through.
Having stayed in a variety of "high end" properties during my 3 weeks in Rajasthan, I can assure that Killa Bhawan offered far and away the most rewarding experience.
This is THE place to stay in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander-da-great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2007

The Killa Bhawan is an amazing place.

Built within the fortress's old walls, it offers stunning views over Jaisalmer from its different roof-top terraces.

If you're looking for swiming pools and cable TV, this place is not for you. But if you're looking for a wonderful place where history and comfort are in perfect harmony, this is definitely a place worth staying in.

The rooms are beautiful, Banu and Manu, the two managers are extremely kind, welcoming and efficient. The staff are helpful and very friendly.

Breakfast on one of the roof-top terraces overlooking the old city walls is quite possibly one of the most romantic experiences ever.

This is a place you'll want to return to over and over again.
I certainly do!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADRID
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2007

Hi ,

Just to inform you that the killa Bhawan experience was a great moment. Very kind welcome and attention with the client. We recommend you to take the meals at the hotel as well because is very practical and offer you an excellent quality.
Very personnalize and correct attention with good advises and discretion.
Thank you at the managers and the personnal, a very nice remember.

Elena and Jean-Philippe

  • Liked — Special attention , charm place , food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JIPIUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
8.0 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Killa Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Killa Bhawan

Property: Hotel Killa Bhawan
Address: On Fort | On Fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Killa Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killa Bhawan Hotel
Killa Bhawan Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing