We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Ranked #25 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
MontrealCanada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We stayed there for 2 nights it is a very nice hotel small hotel very clean room good food and very nice staff the only negative thing is tht there is no shade at the pool and it was very hot

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeRobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    144
    57
    5
    13
See reviews for
127
117
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

We arrived in Jaisalmer in mid March in a heatwave with temperatures around 40 degrees. Perhaps this coloured our views of the Rawal Kot which is (surprisingly) one of the Taj Group hotels. What struck us immediately is that this small but modern hotel, which has rooms on two levels round a large courtyard, has absolutely no shade. The central courtyard soaks up heat all day like a night storage heater and gives it out all night. The pool has no shade, no umbrellas, no relief from the baking sun. It was impossible to sit round the pool and we found it impossible to go into the pool before 6 pm.
The room was fine and, thankfully, the air-conditioning was effective. But there were few facilities in the room. Service around the hotel was limited and it was often difficult to find a waiter or anyone to provide a pool towel. Cleaning up was slovenly with dirty cloths, full ashtrays and glasses still there in the morning. It seems to be on the French tourist trail with coach parties arriving every evening and leaving next morning so by the time we got down to breakfast it wasn't a pretty sight. In the evening coach parties had buffet food but we ordered from the a la carte and the food was good and not too pricy. This place needs a lot of work before it can be considered of decent standard.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the lack of shade and poor service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Normski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2008

lovely property. coldnt be better in such a remote place
the only problem was very limited food selection available
the manager always took care for us.the aircon in our second room was facing some problem was attended thrice.

  • Liked — lovely service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — limited food selection,aircon failure
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaurav32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiplun, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

It's a nice clean hotel with good rooms and freindly staff.
It is owned by the Taj Group, but it doeasnt have all 5 star facilities. However, it is much cheaper as well.
being a little out of town you will need your own vehicle.
But since it's away from hustle and bustle of the town it's very relaxing .
Overall definitely recommended for the price.

  • Liked — Service, Rooms, Food
  • Disliked — Location away from the town
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vikramghanekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2007

My overall experience with the hotel had been nice. Taj took over this hotel 3 years back and constantly renovating the property and improving their facilities and services. This has a heritage haveli kind of look made of golden sand stone and having antique looking furnitures. This is not a 5 star hotel it's a small 32 room hotel 3 Km away from the railway station 5 km away from the main city and market area. This is not as huge as othet Taj properties and is not centrally AC. It has a medium swimming pool, very well maintained, neat and clean. They also have a Spa with Ayurvedic massage facilities and certified masseurs. They do not have steam, sauna or jacuzzi. The rooms are quite spacious with 21" TV, AC, Mini Fridge and Tea/Coffee maker in every room. They do not have bath tubs and cupboards neither they provide bath robes. The rooms are Fort facing. They have a small 50 seater restaurant which mainly serves indian cuisine. Their service is excellent and as good as any other Taj hotel. They do not have much recreational facilities except for the swimming pool. The property is also away from the city and there is not much to do in and around the hotel. Fort Rajwada is just next to Rawal Kot. They do arrange pick up and drop to the city and back at a nomial cost of Rs.100 each way or they arrange for Auto richshaws(tuktuk) for Rs.50 each side. They also arrange for local sight seeing trips, Sam sand dunes safari at a reasonable price. It's better to go on a MAP or AP Package deal as their Ala Carte Menu rate is ridiculous.

My wife fell ill after having some roadside food, they provided me with some SOS medicines, kept inquiring about her health and also asked if we need a doctor. That gesture was very touchy! I was there on a MAP package and I was asked to order anything from their Ala Carte Menu - Anything means anything and everything I could have eaten - no matter what was the amount of the food we ate, I was not charged a single rupee extra. My train departure was at 6 pm, I was entertained to stay there till 5 pm though the official check out was at 12 noon.


The restaurant does not serve any chinese/italian or continental cuisine. The Ala carte menu price is ridiculous, same is their spa rate. A simple meal for two would cost around Rs.2000 and one hour full body massage is for Rs. 2000. As per me, these rates are ridiculous in a small city like jaisalmer moreover the hotel is not 5 star.
I was there to celebrate my Anniversary, but they could not provide me with flowers, I am dissapointed.

  • Liked — Service and swimming pool
  • Disliked — Pricing of restaurant and spa. No bath Tub
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyjeetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

There is a huge choice of hotels in Jaisalmer and we started at a desert camp (which I would not recommend). The Rawal Kot is a few miles from the medieval town which is great because you can go into the busy, narrow streets and wander round and then come back and relax completely in this serene hotel with beautiful courtyards, pool and spa.

The indoor restaurant is pleasant and quite small but eating outside in the courtyard is lovely. The food is excellent and so fresh (my husband is Indian and he was very impressed) and all the people who work here are so friendly and helpful. We came with our three daughters (all under 12 and their first trip to India) and the chef even cooked pasta for them. Highly recommend the buffets with a mix of Indian and European dishes.

The rooms are tasteful and restful with good bathrooms and showers. It was a delight staying here.

  • Liked — the staff, open courtyards and food
  • Disliked — Some of the grounds have yet to be landscaped
  • Tips/Secrets — As darkness falls, listen out for the beautiful, haunting flute music, it's the hotel's security man playing down by the gate.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2006

My wife and I toured Rajhastan for 3 weeks in Sept/Oct and stayed in a couple of places in Jaisalmer . We chose the Taj Rawal Kot hotel for a couple of nights of comfort at the end of our 2 day camel trek (ouch).

We arrived late, smelly and tired - and they ran around and did everything they could to make us comfortable. It was a lovely experience with a soft bed (for India) a great pool and really welcoming staff who couldn't do enough.

The hotel is described as a Leisure hotel by the Taj group so don't expect it to match some of the higher-end Taj offerings - but neither is it the same price. The rooms are comfortable but not very distinctive - but we'd stayed in enough of those anyway.

It's a few kms out of town but getting about is easy. We stayed in Jahawar Niwas Palace for a couple of nights at the start of our visit to explore the town and then moved out to the Rawal Kot when we wanted something a liitle more relaxing.

  • Liked — The staff and management
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you have a comfortable bed after your camel trek
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilandViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.1 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#55 of 104 in Jaisalmer
124 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#22 of 104 in Jaisalmer
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#26 of 104 in Jaisalmer
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#27 of 104 in Jaisalmer
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
#42 of 104 in Jaisalmer
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer

Property: Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer
Address: Plot No. 3, Hotel Complex, Jodhpur-Jaisalmer Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India (Formerly Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#6 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
#16 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popularly known as the Golden City due to the colour the stone walls take on at sunset, Jaisalmer is a captivating destination. Historic Havelis, a vast desert landscape and picture-perfect sand dunes make Jaisalmer one of the most charming destinations in India. Modern comfort melds seamlessly with medieval charm at The Gateway Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer. The hotel is the perfect vantage point to watch the Jaisalmer Fort change colour from sunrise to sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rawalkot Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawal Kot Hotel
Rawal Kot Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing