We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, value hotel with great views and perks.”
Review of Hotel Golden City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Golden City
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
1 review
“Good, value hotel with great views and perks.”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Hotel Golden City is a good place to stay on a budget. Price includes pool access and wi-fi. Staff were friendly and ready to help. Great views from the rooftop restaurant overlooking the city and the fort.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drow87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    43
    19
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
33
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Had a good stay at this hotel. Good value for money and a nice swimming pool. Staff were very happy to help. Also wi-fi included. Beds were comfortable and pillows were good. Staff were also keen to help organise camel safaris.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisalmer, India
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I would recommend this hotel for any travellers on a shoe string budget, our room had clean sheets and fresh towels. Overall nice atmosphere in the hotel, friendly staff and the swimming pool is the cleanest we've seen in India so far. It has free wifi as well which is an added bonus if you've got a laptop, also good food from the rooftop restaurant. Khan the hotel manager was very friendly and didn't pester us about camel treks and other tourist traps which was nice. Be prepared for a bit of bartering to get a good room price, other than that I'd recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praha
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were not excited, but satisfied enough to recommend this place.
Room was nice and reasonably clean with a small terrace and pool view. Bathroom acording to indian standarts pretty good. Price reasonable. Service OK, serving food to the room, but little slow in the roof restaurant. Location is quite good, its out of the busy streets yet few minutes walk from the fort. We also went for the camel safari, which we found quite pricy having comparism from other travelers, but we agreed with the price and cant complain about anythig, our camelguy was prefect, took good care of us and cooked great meals and even we were able to negotiate a change in places to be seen on the way to the safari and back to see not what was planned but what we were interested in (Bada Bagh, Lodurwa). So satisfaction I'd say.

Room Tip: We were in the only one with terrace above the swimming pool and it was nice added value to have a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamila52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Been there without a booking and was a blessing in disguise.Was able to catch up with this hotel and the hotel is in excellent location and the staff are superbly behaved. Mr. Farooq ( Bhai Khan ) was awesome! The pool is very tempting and the view of the fort is excellent. A nice relaxing evening facing the famous fort wowed me.The desert safari was also arranged by the hotel and they dont charge you when in safari. I was arranged for a drop off to the station as well. Overall a big thumbs up to this hotel and the friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book hotels which are pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akmalsageer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

A great budget guest house that was really warm and welcoming. The pool was very nice and clean and perfect after spending a day in the sun. All the staff were really friendly and professional and really made an effort to ensure I was comfortable. As a solo female traveller, this is really important to me. The restaurant food was good, free pick up from train and free wifi fantastic. I did the non touristic camel safari through the hotel and loved it. Good value for money and there weren't heaps of tourists around.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emlee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I booked the hotel in advance because I wanted the free pick up from the trainstation. This worked perfectly. For 600 Rupies a night, the hotel was nice, fairly clean and during the hot summer, the pool is absolutely fantastic. The staff was also very friendly and helpful, arranged a drop off at the station and helped me book a hotel at my next destination.
But: be prepared to bargain hard for the camel safari. They charged me a price so high, I wanted to leave the hotel immediately but after some discussion, I got the full package for a third of the money he originally wanted. And it was absolutely amazing. Out in the desert, far away from huge tourists crowds with a magical sunset and night under the stars, it was one of the best experiences so far. The food was pretty good as well ;D

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mareike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.2 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#32 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fort View
Hotel Fort View
#44 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royale Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer
#19 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#40 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palace Height
Hotel Palace Height
#48 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden City

Property: Hotel Golden City
Address: Opposite SBI Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden City 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with 14 rooms. We have a/c and non a/c rooms all with ceiling fans and satellite tv's. We have a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the old city and a swimming pool with a small garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Golden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing