We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner/Manager makes the hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden City
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owner/Manager makes the hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed in the hotel a few weeks back with my fiance and the owner/manager did nothing but try and make sure we had a good time. We got there after a long train (the hotel arranged FREE Pick up) and was hungry so went straight up for food on the roof. We looked around and was not impressed with the roof (although amazing view of the though) so didnt have much hope for the food. However the food was really good and suprised both of us.

We was lucky enough to have a room with a balcony and swimming pool view. The owner also booked us a safari camel ride which we enjoyed. We then was lucky enough to be moved to there new hotel which was amazing and we was treated very well.

The owner moto is "if your happy, then im happy" and we was happy.

Thanks,

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    43
    19
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
33
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed in January with family. We had booked through email and faced no problem checking-in. The resturant staff extremely efficiently served us lunch within 15minutes as it was 3pm and our young kids were ravishingly hungry. Everyone else was also helpful and we have no specific complains.Personally it felt more like a hostel than a hotel. But it is adequate for lone travellers or young couples, even if not the best place for families.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatiKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Anbefaling af hotel

We are two girl who came to jaisalmer for the camel safari. We stayed at hotel golden city and were very happy about our stay. The staff is very kind, helpful and friendly and they do what ever they can to fulfill your desires. The hotel is nice, clean and the rooms are big and you have your own bathroom. There is a nice pool and the rooftop restaurant is very nice with very good food. :-) we went on a three days safari, arranged from the hotel and it was an amazing experience - one of the most beautiful and amazing things that we have done here in India. Our guide in the safari was very good. He did whatever he could to please us and we didn't have to do anything. 
One of us got really sick, and the manager was very thoughtful. He came and asked if everything was alright and said that we should just ask if we needed anything. We loved our time here in jaisalmer and would definetly stay here again if/when we go back to jaisalmer 

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolineskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Nice view of the fortress. Friendly staff. Clean and confortable. Not too far from the centre. Quiet and good value. Nice restaurant on the roof. Wi-fi service and pool. Not all the hotels in jaisalmer ar sooo nice.
The rooms are wl eqiped, some of them have balcony to the patio with swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahajaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We found this hotel as our driver was driving around looking for rooms or us. We paid RS500, per night for a double room. Quite small, with small bathroom in the room. Not much space for storage, or any surfaces, but perfect for our 2 night stay. There's wifi, but it didnt quite reach our room, so I say outside the door when I needed it. Hot water in the showers is only available in the morning but they'll bring you a bucket of hot water in the evening of you need it. Our room overlooked the pool, which looked quite grubby, but it was too cold for a swim so we weren't bothered. Location is good, lots of shops and restaurants near by. Clamber over the sewage in the streets and dodge a few cows and you're away! I'd recommend for a short good value for money stay. :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very cheep price!! Free wi-fi!!!!!
I'm impressed with kindness of them. We can use cloakroom and travel so easyly.
I think the owner of this hotel is very kind.
They give us lots of hot water at morning time. I'm really sorry I just stay one day in this nice place!
I hope so you just come this place once, you fall in this place:)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoonseokim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The price is very cheap, and live very comfortable, WiFi hot water of what is good, in India is very cool, but also a home to a small swimming pool is very good. Strongly recommended and supporting system is perfect, can go to the desert, booking something; to feel very good, recommend.

Well, the hotel is very good, the boss is very warm, can provide various charter services, and plan your trip, and customer service is very kind.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ying l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royale Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer
#19 of 105 in Jaisalmer
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#31 of 105 in Jaisalmer
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#40 of 105 in Jaisalmer
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#86 of 105 in Jaisalmer
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#56 of 105 in Jaisalmer
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden City

Property: Hotel Golden City
Address: Opposite SBI Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden City 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with 14 rooms. We have a/c and non a/c rooms all with ceiling fans and satellite tv's. We have a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the old city and a swimming pool with a small garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Golden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing