We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Worst Worst Hotel in the country!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Golden City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Golden City
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Worst Worst Hotel in the country!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I had been to the Hotel in Aug from Hyderabad when i checked-in the room.The TV & A.C wasnot working.The rooms were extremely untidy.Actually they have posted a false photo in the website.The bathroom doors were filled up with bid black ants.They cheat you with false rates regarding desert sight-seeing.They charge Rs7500 for Rs 1800 which is normal rate for desert safari & sam dunes.The Manager is a cheat who is responsible for all false promises.Never never visit this hotel

Room Tip: Never visit this hotel!!It will be a nightmare!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sar_raju1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    43
    19
    8
    28
See reviews for
23
33
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We are an Australian couple that spent three nights at the hotel. The hotel is very good value for money seeing as though you get a pool, air con and tv. The manager is great too and is always up for a chat.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikaelanopostcode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very humble rooms, some with access directly to the pool and one with a balcony. Very helpful and friendly staff including the cute rooftop restaurant. Though sometimes for them to properly clean your room you will need some patience and persistence, an apparent necessity for travelling India.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is nice, in a good location just outside the fort, with a nice view of the fort from the rooftop. the room is spacious and reasonably clean. the AC was not working perfectly, but it was enough to get a relief from the 42 degree heat outside. Good value for what I got, but I fell on their camel safari trap. The experience was nice, I spent a pleasant and safe night in the desert, but later I found I spent almost 3 times more than what was offered by Ganesh Travels (inside the fort) for exactly the same tour (the "non-touristy" dunes).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pushkar, India
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

A clean and central hotel with decent facilities. The staff are very friendly and helpful and although they offer camel tours not too pushy about them. They did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable and even went as far as helping me find accommodation and a free transfer in the next town. The rooftop restaurant is brilliant, a nice place to chill out with a beautiful view of the fort. The prices were amongst the cheapest we found in jaisalmer. We didn't have a bad meal there and unlike most places we found in India the food was quick and all our food came out at the same time. The swimming pool was a questionable colour but we used it and survived. Don't bother getting a room with a fan it was very uncomfortable but their rooms with aircon are reasonably priced (600 rupees for 3 people). They don't provide toilet roll though so bring your own and if you need regular or reliable wifi then you'll need to look elsewhere for that. I would definitely recommend golden city and return if I had the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel was great, it had great service, a decent restaurant with a wide menu and some fast good quality cooking. The hotel has a nice swimming pole and a very nice owner, but don't forget to bargain ;) The owner is originaly from a dessert village and you can book a safari with him to, prices will vary van 750 rup. to 2000 rup. depending on what you want and you barganing skills :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBelongtoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

服務很好,人群友善。熱季來有談到不錯的價格,經理人很熱心,幫忙許多!夏天的齋沙默爾沒有想像中熱,然後沙漠城市的清晨、日落和夜晚都是很美的,是一個值得推薦的旅行地:)Very nice service and friendly people. Bikahn just drive toward and forward to the train station. welcome tea is very lovable. Nice blanket and A/C room, outside with a small balcony each room is the perfect place I adore. Get into city easier :)

Room Tip: They also offer the camel safari and lots of different service. Try your best to get the best deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royale Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer
#19 of 104 in Jaisalmer
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#32 of 104 in Jaisalmer
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#40 of 104 in Jaisalmer
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#86 of 104 in Jaisalmer
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
Chokhi Dhani The Palace Hotel
#54 of 104 in Jaisalmer
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden City

Property: Hotel Golden City
Address: Opposite SBI Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden City 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel with 14 rooms. We have a/c and non a/c rooms all with ceiling fans and satellite tv's. We have a rooftop restaurant with wonderful views of the old city and a swimming pool with a small garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Golden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing