We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gulaal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gulaal
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Gulaal has everything we wished for: a large , very comfortable room, a beautiful view, sparkling pool and above all we experienced the best service ever. It seemed nothing was too much for them, even serving breakfast at 5:00 am. We recommend it highly!

Room Tip: The suites have a perfect view on the fort and have a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TjeerdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    53
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
163
224
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our group of two couples enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Mr. Virendra Singh and his staff for 3 days in later part of February. We were upgraded to their stately suites, enjoyed delicious breakfasts, breathtaking views of the Fort and much more. We confirm all the previous reviews are well deserved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Along with fourteen friends from France, India, Germany Czech Republic and New-Zealand, we had the pleasure of enjoying the hospitality of the Gulaal for two magical days in Jaisalmer.
The Manager was always present, receiving you as if you were in his proper home.
The food selection and quality were exceptional.
The hotel is relatively new, but one to be definitely check-out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulaal, Owner at The Gulaal, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your amazing review.

Our philosophy is to explore all opportunities to make the guests feel most comfortable and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly. The very essence of a Hotel is to provide a tranquil setting for the guests to relax in and we take pride in being able to offer this to our guests.

I would also want to thank you for your compliments about our services and facilities. I have shared your review with my entire team which will only motivate our Staff to continue and strive harder to excel in providing exceptional experiences to our guests.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon!

Best Regards,

Virendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We landed in this property at the end of our Jaisalmer trip just to have lunch. Must say that we got the best and authentic Rajasthani food we were craving for. We did not stay in the property but the owner took us through all the rooms and every room was designed very tastefully and beautifully. All the rooms were very spacious and had all the modern amenities. Would definitely like to stay here in my next Jaisalmer trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This place is really excellent, beautifully made, furnished and with really good care of service and details. I didn't sleep here but i visited the hotel and stayed for dinner. Rooms are huge and beautiful, common areas so comfortable and nice, food delicious and the owner is a real host, very prepared, interesting and loves entertaining guests. The roof terrace has the most amazing views in town. I would really recommend if you're looking for the best quality place to stay in Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelepiselli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulaal, Owner at The Gulaal, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your amazing review.

Our philosophy is to explore all opportunities to make the guests feel most comfortable and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly. The very essence of a Hotel is to provide a tranquil setting for the guests to relax in and we take pride in being able to offer this to our guests.

I would also want to thank you for your compliments about our services and facilities. I have shared your review with my entire team which will only motivate our Staff to continue and strive harder to excel in providing exceptional experiences to our guests.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon!

Best Regards,

Virendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is very very good hotels.
Excellent interiors,
Big Big rooms with everything you need.
Roof top restaurant with nice fort view.
Spa and Pool.
Free WIFI.
Breakfast of you choice.
And very helpful Manager Mr. Virender.

The location of hotel is bit odd, we are scarred by waching the near by area of hotels. But once we entered into main gate we are very pleased with the architecture, cleanliness. I highly recommended this hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameerladani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulaal, Owner at The Gulaal, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your amazing review.

Our philosophy is to explore all opportunities to make the guests feel most comfortable and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly. The very essence of a Hotel is to provide a tranquil setting for the guests to relax in and we take pride in being able to offer this to our guests.

I would also want to thank you for your compliments about our services and facilities. I have shared your review with my entire team which will only motivate our Staff to continue and strive harder to excel in providing exceptional experiences to our guests.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon!

Best Regards,

Virendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Here's where you get the real feel of luxury, right in the middle of a desert town. Situated a few minutes away from the fort, The Gulaal doesn't just offer all that's great about Jaisalmer but almost everything that you admire in the best hotels you've stayed in. It's designed like a traditional haveli from the outside, while the rooms provide international facilities like spotless white linen. Me and my wife stayed at the suite without having booked one.Thanks to Mr.Vijendra's generosity. He is the guy who owns this fabulous place. Every corner of this hotel demonstrates his eye for detail. Right from the beautiful wooden doors on the first floor to the international standard washrooms, it's hard to find anything that's less that awesome. My favourite were the Jharokhas (seats by the windows). There was one even inside the loo! The Gulaal even gave us the perfect backdrop for clicking the most amazing pictures with its doors, balconies, nicely designed seats and colourful drapes hanging in the courtyard. Even if you haven't booked the place, just visit it once. Mr.Vijendra will surely treat you like his guests who've booked a room. It's his understanding of hospitality, his views about keeping Jaisalmer away from the tourist limelight and all that I've talked about here is what will convince you to try it out.

Room Tip: If you haven't booked one of the two suites, opt for a room with the fort view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deshu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulaal, Owner at The Gulaal, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your amazing review.

Our philosophy is to explore all opportunities to make the guests feel most comfortable and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly. The very essence of a Hotel is to provide a tranquil setting for the guests to relax in and we take pride in being able to offer this to our guests.

I would also want to thank you for your compliments about our services and facilities. I have shared your review with my entire team which will only motivate our Staff to continue and strive harder to excel in providing exceptional experiences to our guests.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon!

Best Regards,

Virendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
1,139 reviews
0.6 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 103 in Jaisalmer
388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#2 of 103 in Jaisalmer
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
755 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gulaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gulaal

Property: The Gulaal
Address: Bera Road, Opp Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gulaal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gulaal is a luxury boutiqe haveli offering 12 rooms (8 deluxe rooms and 4 luxury suites). All rooms are air-conditioned with attached bathroom and measure 42 square metres each. These include 24 hr housekeeping with an elegantly appointed bedroom with king size bed adorned with Rajasthani textiles, a dressing table with private wardrobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gulaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing