We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcomed rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gulaal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Gulaal
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A welcomed rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Gulaal in February of 2014. After two weeks of travel through India with my two sons I need a quite, clean and friendly place to rest. Victor the proprietor went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. Food was good with a quite roof top area. I would recommend it to anyone who has made their way this far into India.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulaal, Owner at The Gulaal, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for your amazing review.

Our philosophy is to explore all opportunities to make the guests feel most comfortable and we did exactly that to ensure that you remember us fondly. The very essence of a Hotel [Ad by save net] is to provide a tranquil setting for the guests to relax in and we take pride in being able to offer this to our guests.

I would also want to thank you for your compliments about our services and facilities. I have shared your review with my entire team which will only motivate our Staff to continue and strive harder to excel in providing exceptional experiences to our guests.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write the review. We hope that you will plan another holiday with us soon!

Best Regards,

Virendra Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    52
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
161
211
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in Jaisalmer.
Rooms are very good, great view of the fort. Food was fantastic.
But the highlight was the service. This kind of service you can not get in big hotels. And all credit goes to Mr Virendarv Singh. He displayed the true spirit of Rajasthan.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yagyawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Beautiful hotel, we had a very large room with a terrace and a view on the pool and the fort.
We really enjoyed our stay there and the staff was very helpful: they even organised a visit to the cenotaphs at sunset for free. Food was very good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a terrace and a view on the pool and the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rdazet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deinze, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

From our room on the 2nd floor we had a magnificent view on Jaisalmer fortress even when lying in bed ! Room was very large, comfortable and clean, obviously everything in the room still brand new. Evening dinner we enjoyed outside on the rooftop terrace, again with full view on the fortress, and complete with candle lights, a chilled bottle of nice Indian white wine and a cool desert breaze to make the atmosphere perfectly romantic for our wedding anniversary.
During the hot afternoon hours, it is nice to sit and relax at the poolside which has been installed very nicely with a small pavillon to provide some shade and some fontains providing a refreshing feeling.
The staff is extremely helpful at all hours of the day (even serving breakfast when we had to leave at 4.00am). Food is great as well, and the staff will advise you if required.
As the hotel is not on the main road, as most other hotels, it is also much quiter than most of the bigger "palaces" in the area.
We can recommend the Gulaal to anyone travelling to Jaisalmer, and we guarantee that all other comments I have read on this site have proven to be true !

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing Jaisalmer obviously offer the best views on the fortress (I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

It makes a difference when the owner of a property is hands on involved in the operations of the property. The Gulaal was top class stay from the minute we were picked up until we were dropped, we were mighty pleased with the service. The place is new and in the city. The property is well designed, small and completely equipped. A nice pool too. The suites are brilliantly done addressing the necessities of international travelers & local alike. There are enough seating places and a nice view of the main fort from the room. The toilets are spacious, neat & rich fixtures. Food was tasty & hygienic and the staffs are pleasant & motivated. The most important thing that as tourist we fear is the go around places. Starting from the sand dunes to the forts, they sat with us and helped us organize every bit and that is a blessing! The Gulaal designed like a fort makes for a perfect stay with personalized care and much better than many star hotels! Strongly recommend anyone to blindly go for The Gulaal in Jaisalmer.

Room Tip: Go for the Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SAISHANKARRAMANI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Gulaal has everything we wished for: a large , very comfortable room, a beautiful view, sparkling pool and above all we experienced the best service ever. It seemed nothing was too much for them, even serving breakfast at 5:00 am. We recommend it highly!

Room Tip: The suites have a perfect view on the fort and have a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TjeerdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our group of two couples enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Mr. Virendra Singh and his staff for 3 days in later part of February. We were upgraded to their stately suites, enjoyed delicious breakfasts, breathtaking views of the Fort and much more. We confirm all the previous reviews are well deserved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#2 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#3 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gulaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gulaal

Property: The Gulaal
Address: Bera Road, Opp Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gulaal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gulaal is a luxury boutiqe haveli offering 12 rooms (8 deluxe rooms and 4 luxury suites). All rooms are air-conditioned with attached bathroom and measure 42 square metres each. These include 24 hr housekeeping with an elegantly appointed bedroom with king size bed adorned with Rajasthani textiles, a dressing table with private wardrobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gulaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing