We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shahi Palace Hotel, Jaisalmer, India”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Upon arrival at the bus station, we were picked up by a guy who drove us the short distance to the hotel; this was a free service. The hotel had various rooms differing in size & price; we chose a ground floor room near the reception desk & it was a good price. This was clean & comfortable with its own bathroom. The room had interesting decoration which pleased us. The staff were friendly & polite. There is a rooftop restaurant with a good view of the fort, where we ate breakfast & dinner. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinto_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Good camel safari. Rooftop restaurant is very good and the view is awesome. The manager Hemant speak good English and Chinese. Cleaning room, the price is reasonable, near the railway station, and free pick up at 5:00am. Hemant pick me up and drink the Masala tea first. Recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

- Rooms are average sized, extremely clean and with all the basic amenities to make ones' stay comfortable. They are decorated in a way to give them a Rajasthani touch.
- The owner Mr. Dev ensures that your stay is pleasant. He engages in friendly conversations and makes you feel at home instantly. He even drove us personally to the Railway Station.
- The best part of the hotel is the roof top restaurant. Its got a very comfortable seating arrangement with beds, pillows and blankets under the sky. There is light music playing in the back ground and food is being served to you. One can see the lit up fort from ones' seat. The food is also satisfying. They even serve you sheesha on demand. You can laze there for as long as you want. There is a comfortable swing on the terrace as well.
- The whole experience makes this place better than any 5 star hotel that I've stayed in.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

First time for me to visit and stay here, Shahi palace. It's very very wonderful, clean, comfortable and great cuisine. I reccomend this place for all traveller who plan to visit Jasalmer.
The hotel also organize for Camel safari which you should take this experience. I have been stay overnight under thousand stars. This is a must to do in Jalsalmer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saimaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Wonderful small hotel, built with the local sandstone and nicely decorated. Very friendly staff. They had some plumbing problems at one side of the building, but they went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Great rooftop terrace, nicely decorated, with a view of the fort and nice food. The owner seems to own two more hotels (same street), which may be cheaper. Asked about camel tours only once, and very politely. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0E_D0E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Rough Guide took me to Shahi Palace. The book is sometimes hit and miss but the testimonials on the wall in the office speak for this hotel - letters of gratitude from around the world. Excellent, inexpensive and very friendly staff. The manager, Hemant, speaks very good English and is a great guide for the local area - took a nice drive on his motorbike to see a sunset point with him - the best way to see Jaisalmer. Very nice to escape the hassle of the Golden Triangle. My room is very comfortable - by far the best place I have stayed in India, and the rooftop has excellent views of the fort. The food is excellent too. I would highly recommend staying here. I believe they are opening another hotel too, so look out for that. (November 2013)

Room Tip: Stick to your budget - all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRK404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Rooms very comfortable, rooftop restaurant has great cuisine, beside the view is amazing. Free Wi-Fi and well-organized camel safari, which is really worth to join. Location is excellent - 10min walk from fort. I definitelly reccomand this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uhasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 106 in Jaisalmer
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
428 reviews
8.2 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Address: Shiv Road | near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £8 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of Jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing