We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great friendly service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place was comfortable and cheap, and the service was amazing. We booked our camel safari through the hotel too and it was excellent, great food, plenty of water and a great experience. Well worth the stay at Shahi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipiDesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello,

We really appreciate your review. Our goal is to provide unforgettable experiences for our guests and your message shows that we are on the right track :)

Thank you so much!
Devilal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    684
    240
    75
    30
    17
See reviews for
121
371
142
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Shahi Palace in April for 3 nights with friends (all of us in our early 30s). It's a great choice and reasonably priced. The location is great, the staff is helpful and the rooms are really pretty and decorated nicely with Indian textiles, etc.

The staff arranged a "camel safari" for some of the members of our group and were really helpful in explaining the choices.

They also helped us arranged transportation back to Jodhpur at the end of our time in Jaisalmer.

There is a great roof that the owners told me is very busy at night during peak season (we were there in April) but we only had breakfast and lunch there a couple times and beers on the roof. It's a lovely place to hang out though when it's not too hot.

WiFi throughout.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw (and I saw 4 of them) were pretty nice. I especially liked Rooms 34 and 35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramanyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Laura,

We really enjoyed having you and your friends stay with us.its great to read your experience of stay at shahi palace, we hope you all friends will visit us again in cool season to enjoy the better atmosphere .

Thanks for choosing to stay at Shahi Palace!
Kind Regards,
DEVILAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Shahi Palace is a sensational hotel in every aspect.
The hotel, and all the rooms within are designed in the traditional style of the haveli's... (the exquisite houses of Jaisalmer's past). The rooms are clean, comfortable and come with their own TV, private en suite and the option of a fan or AC... Sometimes both!

The rooftop restaurant is to DIE for! Not only is the food amazingly delicious and at a fair and honest price but the view from the roof top of the fort is incredible!! i spent many a day simply lounging on the rooftop having a beer, talking with the owners and having a laugh with some great new friends.

The service on the roof from the staff is also exceptional. They will ensure that all your needs are met, and will always greet you with the most wonderful smiles you could imagine. It is a paradise on Shahi Palace's rooftop.

I have returned to Jaisalmer 3 times, over the last 2 and a half years and could never imagine staying anywhere else apart from Shahi Palace. The owners will welcome you like part of their family, and by now I kind of feel like I am an addition to their lovely, friendly and large family.

I could never thank the 4 brothers of Shahi Palace enough for everything they have done for me over the last few years. I have never felt more at home anywhere else. Should I not make it back to Jaisalmer in the near future, I know that I will be dreaming of this magical place every night when I go to sleep.... Hopefully, I can return back in reality one day!

Bhakraji, Jorsa, Dev and Swaroop... thank you for your friendship, your kindness, your warmth and your generousity. I will never forget my time in Jaisalmer.

To any potential guests, still deciding if this is the right hotel to stay in at Jaisalmer, all I could say is that you would be crazy to pass up this enchanting place!

Hugs from Australia!
Cass. :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monique s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Monique!
my management is late , so sorry for the late .i was reading old reviews and i saw that i have not posted the reply.
You are always welcome to join our family.your paradise of shahi palace rooftop is waiting for your returned of 4th visit . We are very pleased to have you as a valuable friend :) We hope to see you again soon.

Hugs from Shahi Palace staff!
Kind regards,
Devilal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

..i was several days at this lovely hotel in mid-march 2014.... all the staff were always pleasant, ever helpful and very obliging.... a good sized extremely clean room, fresh bed linen and very effective air conditioning unit.... en suit shower room was clean and very easy to use....
.....the rooftop restaurant is a huge plus.....great service...great food...very modest prices..
.....thank you DIV .... and thanks to all your staff members for a most enjoyable and memorable stay at your very lovely hotel.... i certainly do hope to return to enjoy a SHAHI CAMEL SAFARI...

Room Tip: ...just talk to the staff.... they will definitely find you the room that best suits your needs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louismspiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed three nights (one night half the group went out on a Shahi-organized 'camel safari' and the other half stayed in our rooms) during the warmth of April. The rooms were dark and cool which was great given the weather. The guys who run the hotel were (practically literally) falling over each other to be helpful. There were some communication hiccups but they made sure we were taken care of.

Highly recommend the camel safari and, if possible, to request Babu Singh Sodha as your guide. He was warm, funny, insightful, and really catered to what we wanted to do. He was a highlight of our whole trip to India!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BkTraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

After a rough night in the desert we were really praying for a nice clean hotel and we found it! This hotel was charming in so many ways! The rooms were a great size, the water was hot (our shower head wasn't the best..) and the wifi worked in the rooms. The restaurant was good and the service was the best we have had in India! Good customer service is somewhat hard to come by in India but this place was exceptional!! This hotel had everything! Don't bother look at others

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aimeeeee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Shahi Palace is one out of four hotels from four brothers. On Agoda I saw a room I wanted to book. Asking whether it was possible to book this room directly with the hotel for the same price I was told the photo was from another hotel and a similar room at Shahi Palace was more expensive, but since I already saw this room online I could book it for the same price as listed on Agoda. Very correct service!
Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly people whom were constantly available for us during our stay and always tried to make us feel at home!
They offer a free guide to see the havelis, but he will also take you to his textileshop. Fixed prices and fair ones for tourists too. If you are not interested in buying just tell him! Otherwise, when looking for something particular he'll also be able to take you to some shops so you can compare.
The entrance to the fort is a 15min walk, the havelis are 5min away.
The hotel also has a nice rooftop restaurant with good food, an AC-room (which is very convenient during the hot season) and a great view of the fort.
The staff in the restaurant doesn't always understand what you say in english but they'll make up for that with a big smile and their friendliness, while someone else who speaks good english is always around.

Room Tip: In summer, a room without view will be cooler, you can enjoy the views from the rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjarel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#10 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haveli Hotel
Haveli Hotel
#14 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Property: Hotel Shahi Palace
Address: Shiv Road | Near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing