We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of Two Generations”
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #14 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

So from the outset I will say I loved this hotel - the room, the furnishing and the food. All very agreeable and I would recommend on all these areas. So why three stars? I suppose it comes down to service... The "old management" were spot on - experienced, polite and convivial (no complaints here) my issues lie with "young management". From the first time I ate at the restaurant I was asked in one way or another for my email/phone number by the younger staff as a way of befriending me - quite annoying at times but this soon stopped when "old management" showed up a day later. Also, I took the camel trek through the hotel which was really enjoyable. At the end when the young driver came to pick me up, despite having little Hindi, I was fully aware that he asked the guide if I had tipped him (which I hadn't at that point). On the drive home I got asked about my salary and told about how little the younger driver gets paid in his job - uncomfortable to say the least - so, despite considering myself a good 'tipper', I didn't tip (having already tipped the guide by this point) which seemed to annoy the driver even more. I felt his annoyance a little further when I came to get my auto to the station that evening. In the absence of "old management" the "young management" plus my driver from earlier were in charge of arranging my transport. They watched television as I waited and waited for the auto to arrive as the time ticked by. As they realised it was getting late a couple jumped on their bikes and tried to get an auto for me off the street but in truth I was so dismayed by the lack of professionalism of this younger generation I had hailed my own and was well in my way. What a shame - especially as "old management" had been so kind as to give me a room for the evening after I returned from my trek. A real case of the younger generation letting down the experience of the older generation. Good luck.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank blakelockb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

We are sorry to hear that you were not completely happy with your stay and in particular some of our younger staff. We are a family run hotel and up until the last couple of years myself and my three brothers have been running the hotel. As our children are getting older they have been getting involved in the running of the hotels and safaris. They are working for two years now to this business and we are slowly teaching them the ropes. The drivers/safari staff we use do not ask for tips as we pay them a fee and they do not need to rely on tips. We've been using them for 5 years and they know that the guests comfort is their priority. It is apparent that our hotel staff needs further training in regards to guest relations. I have spoken to all our staff about the appropriateness of questions asked of our guests. I have also spoken to the driver (who was new) and guide in regards to expectations in regards to tipping. We have always maintained a policy that tipping is optional and it is up to the guests as to how and when they do this. Once again we are sorry that you were not happy with some aspects of your stay. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Dev

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shahi Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

After several weeks of traveling India, with plenty of experience to aid comparison, Shahi Palace is by far the best hotel at which me and my wife stayed. The staff are understanding, genuinely helpful people. The room with a view that we had was both rustic/traditional and my wife (who has an interior design streak) was extremely impressed by the decor. The only drawback to other rooms was lack of natural light but they are all nevertheless beautiful and a needed sanctuary in the midst of the desert town. The restaurant on the roof gives seriously indulgent views and perhaps even the best food we've had so far and even offers classes. The camel safari they arranged for us is also recommended. The entire establishment was clean, beautiful, calm and made our stay in Jaisalmer stand out as significantly better than any that came before! Good AC, wifi, bathrooms, prices, people, service, food etc. etc. etc.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RumDiary82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the hotel and we found a very nice and friendly welcome. The rooms are all made in ocher stone, also the bed:) and this introduces the visitor in the Jaisalmer desert atmosphere. There are different kind of room, with balcony or not, pink or blue, single or double.
The rooftop with the view in front of the Jaisalmer fort is one of the best thing of the accommodation. It allows the visitor to chill out outside if it's not too cold and for the hottest days there is a bright room from which to see the fort at the ACs air. We had dinner there and we enjoyed a lot. Dishes are ok, but we do not recommend the pizza if u want to eat an Italian pizza.
DEV is the owner of the hotel and he's friendly and helpful as all the other people there.
The hotel gives us the possibility to do a non-tourist safari in the desert at an affordable price. It varies between 1700 and 2100 INR depending if to visit some monuments before the safari or not.
We highly recommend it because it is such a great experience also as having the possibility to talk with local people, the "camel driver", through the desert.
We found totally at ease in the shahi palace atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Valeria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is a nice and economical option to stay just outside the fort area. The service is fantastic and the people are super helpful. The rooftop restaurant offers a wide choice of cuisines, provided by a very versativel cook. The rooftop offers great views of the "Sonar Kella" (Golden Fort). They also run a very good jeep + camel safari into the dunes. Note that this is not a high-end resort type place - it is a small hotel in a residential area of the town. So the location is in an area that is not very well maintained by the Jaisalmer town municipality and has problems with litter, open drains etc. So please have realistic expectations. However the place is walking distance from the fort, the restaurants and city facilities (ATMs, Medical etc). And the manager and staff will take very good care of you, are very accommodating, provide you lots of options for tourism and make your visit a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vshyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is very ethnic flavor and gets a high cost performance ! It is very clean and service is very good. They picked us up from railway station for free at 5AM ! And nice boss cooks the most delicious Mutton in India I think !I miss the hotel and boss and Mutton very much! Can I speak in Chinese?! 到达旅馆的时候,上来了好喝的MASALA TEA!还有Mango lassi!都是盛情款待的for free 噢!离开Jailsmer的时候,老板好贴心的给我们准备了矿泉水作为GIFT,然后TUTUK免费送到的火车站。我觉得酒香就应该全世界都知道!老板还给我们推荐了JAIPUR的Hotel,可惜到的时候满房了,Hotel 一看就跟周围的与众不同,好多花儿,淡季都能满房啊亲!! 老板品味挺高的,关键性价比不错啊啊!!因为雨季,只看了SUNSIRE,等着十月份住沙漠数星星!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOURNEY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Staffs are absolutely polite, kind and responsible for almost every occasions encountered during the days, unlike other indians. Room was nice, made of thick and gorgeous rocks. Safari was also nice, conducted by well trained staffs.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunhackjang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Shahi Palace for 3 nights and it was a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is located outside the Jaisalmer fort and offers an amazing views of the fort from its roof-top restaurant, where, despite the cold temperatures most guests and visitors tended to hang out and spend their time. I had a room on the ground floor with a TV and hot shower 24 hours a day, I was also given a heater, free of charge, to keep my room warm because it was below 0C at night.
The staff was very considerate and helpful in arranging a massage in the room and assisting me with some other little issues.
The hotel was clean, well-maintained; food at the restaurant was delicious. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 108 in Jaisalmer
903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 108 in Jaisalmer
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
672 reviews
8.2 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,203 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Address: Shiv Road | near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#9 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £7 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Shahi Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of Jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing