We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great service”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Hotel Fifu is a great place to stay when you are in Jaisalmer. The rooms are very clean, cosy and individually decorated. The rooftop restaurant is great for relaxing, the staff is friendly and helpful. The Indian food was not the best I had during my trip; it was decent though. The Pizzas (for the homesick) are great and the Banana Lassi is awesome.

The hotel is a little out of town, but therefore it is very quiet at night.

What I liked in particular was the personal service provided. The hotel manager, Fifu, is a great host; he personally tried his very best to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Even though the camel safari was slightly more expensive then elsewhere, it was worth it. Everything was well organized. The only downturn was that the desert camp is situated not too far from a road; therefore in the early evening the sound of some trucks/jeeps were interrupting the otherwise magical ambience when sleeping under the stars. But overall this was a minor issue.

Can only highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, in particular on the top floor. There is a suite-type room which has an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Namaste. Thank you for your valuable feed back for your Hotel. We take is positively and assure you sincerely to improve our safari and desert camp services in a better way.

We once more thankfull of your feed back and your time.

With regards,

Om Prakash Kewalia(Fifu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed one night and one safari camel night with the Fifu hotel.
I was surprises and delighted by such wonderful service! Everybody is ready to serve you and help you while offering you great advice. I was also impressed by the cleanliness of the place and the fact that the whole hotel is continuously cleaned.
As for the camel safari, it was excellent! We were a group of 8 and had a nice quiet locatation in the desert. The food was so good! And the staff so friendly. Plus I made new friends!
Defintive place to be in jaisalmer!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed one night at Hotel Fifu. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room was nice, well furnished and neat. There is a quiet rooftop restaurant serving good food.
We did the camel safari proposed by the hotel, it was an awesome experience. We had lots of fun, met nice people, and all was done to make us feel comfortable. We were provided delicious food and everything necessary to sleep in the desert (beds, clean and warm sleeping bags...). The only drawbacks were that we could not ride the camel on our own (we were pulled by someone) and we did not have a personal guide from the beginning to the end (different people accompanied us). But when they asked for feedback (which we really appreciated) they told us that they did not let us ride the camel by ourselves for security reasons, and that they will improve the second point.
This hotel is the best one I stayed in during my trip in Rajasthan and I definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 108 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapis_volante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

A nice cozy hotel with all basic facilities. We booked two standard rooms which were not big but comfortable.We were in Jaisalmer for touristic purpose and hence did not have much time to be in the hotel rooms. The owner was very polite and helpful. They provided jeep service for a pick up and drop from and to the railway station. We enjoyed the desert safari which we booked via the hotel.Our train was at 11 pm and the hotel rooms were booked till 12 noon.We were very happy as they provided us one room without any extra charge. The food was also good.Overall we had a nice experience,but yes I may try the better room next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinabhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Hotel Fifu ensured our stay in Jaisalmer was a memorable and relaxing one. Mr Fifu is a gracious host and speaks French and Spanish as well as English. The crepes for breakfast were a treat! The rooftop restaurant is a lovely place to chill out with stunning views of the fort and scenes of daily village life below us.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevincrouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We loved this place. The staff are friendly and helpful (eg. printing out emails for us), and the hotel itself is clean, decorated really well and is cosy and welcoming. The roof terrace is great for lounging about, whatever time of day, so take your book and have a beer while relaxing and watching the sun go down over the town. The food too, is great - it's all vegetarian and there wasn't anything on the menu we didn't find delicious. We were a bit worried when we turned off onto the street, as it looks really run down, but the hotel itself is lovely. It's only a 10 minute walk back into Jaisalmer itself, which is very busy, so it's great that the hotel is slightly set back from the noise and bustle. Additionally, the hotel has its own tuk tuk so will run you anywhere in town you need (for free, a pleasant change). If you're looking for somewhere which is great value for money in Jaisalmer, this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wycombewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel Fifu is set just outside the main town but a very cheap 5min tuk-tuk ride and you are in the heart of it all. This hotel is in a wonderfully quite location with amazing and probably the best views of the Fort from its restaurant on the roof. I was a single lady there on business and never felt uncomfortable at all and every oppertunity I had I sat up in the restaurant with its comfy seating where you could curl your legs up and read a book or just while away your time watching the world go by with an ice-cold beer. The food was very good and very reasonably priced. The rooms are divine and are so comfortable and clean. All the staff from the top (Fifu) down to even the hotel tuk-tuk man were so helpful and nothing was too much for them. It is also worth taking a ride out with Gitu to ride camels and visit the local village life. This hotel is a real must and I will guarantee that you will not be dis-satisfied........thank you so much and I will definatly be back.

Room Tip: I was in room 109 that had a window seat and in the mornigs I would sit in it and look up to the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
795 reviews
0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#8 of 108 in Jaisalmer
393 reviews
0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 108 in Jaisalmer
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £25 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing