We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay, with cold water.”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

A good place to stay, I recommend it, and would visit again.

I had three nights here just before Christmas, with my wife and our 4yr old kid, and my father. All of us are experienced travellers, and my father and I have been to India before...

We had a double room, and a family suite, both were very comfortable, spotlessly clean, nice furnishings, and with views of Jaisalmer fort.

Only drawback to the rooms was a lack of hot water. In the three days we were there, in both rooms, we could never get the water above tepid. As in cold tepid. We were assured the hotel had good hot water, but alas, there was none. And in cold December days, with a 4yr old kid, it would have been nice to be able to access hot showers...

The Hotel Fifu is down a dusty, and slightly stinky not maintained road (for part of the road), but don't let this put you off. From hotel to fort is only about 4 minutes in a rickshaw, and getting a rickshaw from the hotel is never a problem. We even walked the route with my 4yr old daughter and it is fine. You just need to hold your nose for a 30 metre stretch... But upside is that it is a nice quiet location to stay/sleep in, away from the touristy shops etc.

Antriksh, one of the owners, was very friendly, and helpful. As is written elsewhere the owners in the Fifu are very good hosts. Nothing was a problem to get organised or to arrange for us. And they made my daughter feel very welcome.

We booked our camel safari via the hotel, and that was all fine. An enjoyable evening in the desert.

Hotel restaurant was good, bit cold in the winter December evenings if there is a breeze. Again, as mentioned elsewhere in reviews of the Fifu, they should put up some clear plastic awnings in winter to keep the breeze of, even if only partly on the rooftop. But even with the breeze we ate there regularly, and found the food to be fine and tasty. And all kitchen staff were helpful, even if their lack of basic English-speaking skills sometimes limited conversation when ordering...

A good place to stay in Jaisalmer, and if they can fix the cold water issue then a great place to stay. I'd stay there again, even with the cold water...

Room Tip: Room with view of fort...although perhaps all have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for inconvinience for getting hot water during your stay.

During the off season time we are going to install electric gyser in each bath room.

Also we are going to cover half of the terrace with glass covers so you can get the best view of Jaisalmer Fort ..

Thank you once more for giving us valuable feed back to update us.

With regards, Sincerely, Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

Mr Fifu & Antariksh are every good hosts. They take their guests very seriously & are very helpful.
The hotel surroundings are not good with drainage around an issue, and the distance to the fort is a bummer. The open top floor restaurant has excellent views of the fort which may be a little too windy for some.
The rooms are well maintained and food cooked is awesome.

Room Tip: Fort Facing Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

We take positively that the location of our Hotel is a little out of city, it is a good point for some as it is the most quietest part of the city, It takes 10 minutes by walk from our Hotel to the first gate of the Fort. Also we can arrange an auto riksha on a short notice. About the drainage and dusty road we are talking with and requesting to the local administration to help us to make better road conditions and cover the drainage everywhere.

The terrace of our Hotel is open but the roof covered with cement sheets as it gives you the best view of the Jaisalmer Fort , as we have extreme winter like 09 to 12 degrees for 15 days in the year so it is not worth to cover the whole terrace. We will surely consider your suggestion positively to cover it when it is windy.

Thank you once more for your kind feedback and nice words for us which really help us to improve the services and work.

with regards, Sincerely,

Om Prakash kewaliya(Fifu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel itself is very attractive, all built with yellow stone. The rooms are nicely decorated in rajasthani style and are very confortable, clean and tidy. I love the location because it is only 4 minutes outside the city by taxi and next to a rural area which is very quite and peaceful.
I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. It has a very pleasant rooftop with a spectacular fort view and a restaurant that serves excellent vegetarian meals. Fifu, the owner, is always around to ensure all his guests are as confortable as possible.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs rooms with a fort view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riveralexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Nestled near the city centre, Hotel Fifu is a relatively new, but amazingly comfy hotel. The ambience gives you the feeling of staying in a traditional haveli which makes your experience authentic. The service and the property are very good. Will definitely recommend it to every traveller.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Our stay in Hotel Fifu was excellent, our family of four, felt at home with courteous behavior of staff and owners. Best part of the hotel is: it’s run by the owners who take care of every nitty-gritty. Three basic requirements of any sane traveler: Clean bed-linen, clean bathroom and hygienic food—are met honestly. Several so-called heritage hotels in Jaisalmer are given on lease and not run by the owners, they concentrate on short-term gains.
We loved roof top restaurant for its excellent fort and sun set views, for reading books or simply for chit-chatting while sipping Ginger-lemon tea. Rooms are neatly decorated with ethnic design and colours, despite their moderate size you feel freshness inside. One can freely use Wi-Fi service for iPad, laptop or any other device, owners are happy to offer you computers for any necessity.
Approach and surrounding could have been cleaner but we all know that’s the area where government administration should pay more attention all over the country.
We also loved camp safari organized by the hotel, this was a pleasant experience, and we wish to pay special thanks to Mr. Bhojraj Singh Soda for being such a caring Jeep driver and guide during Sand Dune safari.
Overall it was a great experience and one would not hesitate to recommend FIFU to friends. Big thanks to Mr. Om Kewalia, Jeetu Kewalia and Antriksh Kewalia for providing us three cheerful days in our life when we were not at home yet we never felt away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms on second and third floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jai7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I have always found tripadvisor reliable, used its recommendations many times - but I'm at a loss to understand why Fifu gets rave reviews. For the price I think you could do better elsewhere. The rooms are very small, beds hard, no where to hang anything and the hotel is quite a walk from the town centre along a dusty, barren road. I wouldn't want to walk along here at night.

Our experience was further diminished when we changed our plans and decided to cancel the last two nights we had booked at the hotel. I am a mother traveling with my son, and for several reasons we wanted to stay in a larger hotel. Well Fifu charged us for the two days that we cancelled!!! I know it is the hotel policy so BEWARE. I have never encountered such a punitive policy and I travel a lot. I thought it very greedy of Fifu, bad karma. We would have been fine about paying for one night's cancellation, but two was just plain grasping --- with a sweet smile all the while. There are many other hotels in Jaisalmer to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank emstar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiste, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Probably you made the reservation through booking.com . As per terms and conditions of booking.com within 15 days of arrival no modification is allowed. Booking.com provides the hotelier guest"s complete credit card no. and also CVV no. , hotel must have to verified the card whether it is valid or not immediately when reservation made. Further as per terms and conditions of booking.com if any modification or changes made within 15 days of arrival or during the stay of guest, hotelier are allow to charge from the credit card of guest as the credit card of guest is already preauthorised.

Further booking.com send the invoice to the hotelier of complete stay of the guest as booking.com does not allow any modification or changes in the stay. So booking.com charge complete commission on the complete amount of the stay.

As I understand you left the hotel in middle of your stay without any fault of hotel. About the size of rooms and situation of hotel , we have already clearly mentioned at our website. We do not hide from you.

Only in this case probably you were charged for complete stay as hotel is bound to follow the terms and conditions of booking.com and hotel must have to pay the commission to the booking.com for your entire stay.

Of course if hotel in fault by bad services or any inconvinient situation, our Hotel will held responsible and we sincerely apology for the same.

We are thankfull of your kind feed back , we take it positively and explain you properly and as per guidelines of booking.com if you have made the reservation through it.

With best regards,

Om Prakash kewaliya(Fifu)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

It's an excellent place to stay and I would certainly come back. Mr. Om Prakash who I believe is the owner takes personal interest to ensure all guests are comfortable. Rooms are clean with fresh and clean sheets and towels. Bathroom was very clean with hot water. We were given a warm blanket promptly on request. Excellent breakfast included in room rent. Approach to hotel is through a rough road. No place for drivers to stay in case you are traveling with one. I stayed on ground floor which can be avoided due to noise from people who work at the reception and adjoining room was given to service staff for use. The terrace has great view of the fort. Room built with stone which has a nice warm feel. I suggest other hotels in Rajasthan to learn for Fifu on cleanliness and guest service. Highly recommended. 4 stars due to noise on ground floor.

Room Tip: Please ensure you don't get room on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 106 in Jaisalmer
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#13 of 106 in Jaisalmer
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing