We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six Very Happy Customers”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Six Very Happy Customers”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

From the very beginning when we made reservations, to the end as we checked out of the hotel, our stay was managed with personal attention and professionalism that can be hard to find in India. If you want to have confidence in your hotel, stay here: Om and Jitu will make sure your visit in Jaisalmer is what you want!

The hotel is outside the the fort: this means you can sit on terrace and enjoy the view of it.

Hotel is in a quiet location very close to train station and rickshaws are easy quick ride into old part of town. (March 2012: Rs. 50-70 with 3 people per rickshaw.) Hotel will call rickshaw for you. And in town every driver knew the Hotel.

The rooms are a good size, some with a sitting room as well. They are colorful and nicely done. The baths are basic but super clean. Beds are comfortable. AC runs nicely and fans in every room.

There's free wifi throughout the property.

They serve breakfast lunch & dinner on a gorgeous comfortable terrace atop the hotel. The food is tasty and all the utensils, glasses, plates etc were super clean. Biggest danger is that you might just want to sit on the terrace all day and not go see the city.

They also arrange desert safaris. We decided to go to the dunes without a camel ride. We saw 4 or 5 very interesting sites outside the city in their jeep and then they cooked a magnificent meal for us as the sun went down over the sand dunes. The cost was right at the middle of the other similar tours we had checked-out before arriving. We left at 3:00pm and returned about 10:00pm. It was one of the highlights of a 7-day Rajasthan trip.

Will we stay here again? I can't even imagine why I would want to stay anywhere else! If I return to Jaisalmer Hotel Fifu will be my "home".

Room Tip: Some rooms face the fort and have a window seat! Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

This sounds like it was perfect for you, we are so happy you enjoyed your time here with us and yes you should definitely come back we would love to see you again. Next time you can try the camel ride instead of going in the jeep. Once again thank you so much for the lovely review.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    205
    29
    8
    9
See reviews for
213
440
92
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Hotel Fifu was a great choice because it is away from the chaos of the fort city but not far away.You can easily get a tuk tuk for 70Rs(4 people) into the fort area. The management there made us feel very at home and comfortable. There's an awesome view of the fort from the rooftop. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean, and had a very nice bathroom with hot water. Also, it was pretty quiet at night. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

We are so happy you were comfortable and enjoyable stay here with us and to read the nice review, and yes we like to make our customers feel more like friends or family. We love our work and if our customer is happy it makes us happy.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I stayed in Hotel fifu so many times as whenever i been to Jaisalmer i stay there in fifu hotel only, the reason is very simple very friendly people are there n even staff is very co-operative. the view of fort which is very amazing 24/7. Even they organize camel safari. Every hotel provide sunset point visit , even Hotel fifu also do the same but from fifu hotel there is amazing sunset view itself no need to go anywhere out. Food is superb , i love Masala Tea in Hotel Fifu very much.

Room Tip: There is no other reason to search any other place to stay in Jaisalmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepaliSinroja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you want to come back here every time,its good to know that you found our hotel is the best. You like Masala Tea and enjoyed it from our roof top restaurant watching the sun set is priceless.

We assure you sincerely the same spirit of hospitality and best quality of our service and food in the restaurant.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We originally tried to get a hotel inside the fort walls, but couldn't find any acceptable ones with rooms available so we picked this one for the high reviews on trip advisor. After seeing the fort, I think we were both glad we actually did not stay in it. While the fort is a site worth seeing, it is a bit dirtier and stinkier inside than we expected. Fifu is outside the fort on a very quiet street and from our window we had a view of the fort plus the bonus of seeing life go by on the street below. The air is clean and fresh around the hotel as it is on the edge of the city and no busy traffic or anything else stinky nearby. It is a 15 minute walk to the gate of the fort, or they will call a rickshaw for you if you don't want to walk (50 Rupee - $1 - ride). We saw every type of animal (cows, camels pulling carts, pigs, dogs, etc - not to excess mind you) as well as kids heading to school (there are two schools on the street), people in their houses or going about their daily lives, etc. One guest was actually invited into a neighboring house for dinner for some real interaction with the locals! It was nice to see some 'real' life going on and not just shops catering to tourists, which is mostly what is inside the fort. It was actually a very peaceful, tranquil place to stay. I could sit in the comfy lounge benches on the roof (in the restaurant) for hours, reading and watching life. The rooms are very nice; beds a little hard but acceptable; we had no issues with hot water. The owner is very friendly and interacts with all the guests and tries to make sure they are happy and seeing if he can do anything for them. They set us up for a sunset camel ride on the edge of the desert which was a highlight of the trip (as were the kids in the village where we picked up the camels).

On the negative side there were frequent power outages although this did not seem to affect the restaurant (this also happened in at least two other hotels in other parts of India but seemed more frequent here). As well I got quite sick after the first meal I ate at the hotel. It was a Rajasthani desert meal made from beans and nuts and kept me in bed for a day. Fortunately we had 4 days in Jaisalmer so it did not keep me from seeing and doing everything I wanted to do. The owner was very apologetic and we did not have any other issues in the restaurant which we continued to eat in most days. I wrote it off as a one-off (you expect to get sick at least once in India!) and overall still enjoyed my time in Jaisalmer and at this hotel, and would still recommend it. It appears they generally keep a high standard in their service and I give them the benefit of the doubt on this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fort view, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveInVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

Thank you so much for the great review, we are glad and feel honoured that you were satisfied with our hotel even though it was your second choice, , we are so happy you could still enjoy you time with us.

You are most welcome in future, we welcome you from our heart.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This small hotel is a little out of the way. It's about a ten-fifteen minute walk to the closest ATM and a little further than that to get to the sights (Jaisalmer Fort, the Jain and Hindu temples and the havelis). But if you aren't into walking, there are lots of autorickshaws that'll get you to the sights in a few minutes for a very small fee. The double room we had on the 3rd floor was cosy, clean and colourfully decorated, with a window seat and view of the fort. The open air restaurant on the top floor (with a roof) was comfortable and had a great view of the fort. The restaurant food was really delicious - probably the best food of our trip (the cashew curry and palak paneer were amazing). We were in Jaisalmer at a busy time during the Desert Fair and found that we preferred to take an autorickshaw back to the hotel to have a comfortable relaxing lunch rather than wait for a table in the crowded restaurants that were closer to the fair and sights. But what really distinguished this hotel from all of the others on our 5 1/2 week trip was the attentiveness of the owner. He was really interested in making sure that our stay in his hotel and Jaisalmer met our expectations and in a very friendly way. We could see him doing the same for other guests too. When we told him that we didn't have hot water in the shower, he said the water had to run for a few minutes and had one of his staff demonstrate for us - we had lots of hot water from then on. (He also told us that the hotel was getting a new instant-hot water system soon.) The owner is multi lingual (German, French, Spanish and Japanese, maybe more) - languages are a pastime for him. By the way, the hotel is named after the owner - Fifu is his nickname. We would definitely stay at Fifu again in Jaisalmer and recommend it highly.
Iris&Gord (Canada)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

Thank you so much for you kind review it is so nice to here so many kind words, we are also very happy to here that the food was the best you had in Jaisalmer our chef will be exited to read this. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you once again for the kind recommendation.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We drove in our private car to Jaisalmer. It was our 7th day of our road trip. Almost 20 KM before the city limits, some touts start following us on bikes. Sometimes they were driving parallel to our car and were trying to talk to us into buying their desert safaris. I had to stop the car and lie to them that I already had booking with another operator. They drove so dangerously that I had to be aggressive at times to make them go away. Bad experience!

I had done my research before arriving. Hotel Fifu is rated very good on TripAdvisor. I called Mr Jitu (From Hotel Fifu) one hour prior to our arrival to check the availability. He was kind enough to receive us at a prominent city landmark. We followed him to the hotel. We were very impressed with their hospitality. On arrival Mr Jitu sat with us and was very polite. He asked our preference of tea and offered us a very well needed personalized tea to us. He offered us 4 options.

1. Stay in their beautiful hotel.
2. Go to a private, uncrowded desert camp and stay there in a luxurious tent overnight.
3. Go to the sand dunes and stay there overnight under the clear, tranquil sky.
4. Go to the desert camp and return to the hotel for overnight stay.

We picked up the second option and went to the desert camp for stay. The camp was uncrowded, unpopulated, clean and very relaxing. The private tents were huge and traditional with attached toilets. Very well maintained and decorated. In the evening we went on a camel to a small villages. Awesome experience. We rode camel on the giant sand dunes while the sun was setting. There was practically no one around till far far away. This has been the best travel experience of my life. After returning to the camp after 2-3 hours, we gathered in the center of the camp and the traditional Rajasthani musicians and dancers were called in from the near by village. I was surprised to see their talent. While the entertainment was fun, we were dancing around the fire, enjoying the snacks and drinks. Great life..! Had dinner, took a stroll on the sand dunes under the moon. It was a pleasant and windy night. It was very peaceful. Had a great, quality sleep at night which I hadn't expected in the middle of the desert. Early morning, we decided to go for a long walk in the desert and see the sun rise amongst the beautiful desert. On arrival, breakfast and tea was served. The service was good and the staff running the camp was very helpful and polite. We returned to the hotel and Mr Jitu offered us a complimentary use of a room before we hit the roads again. The hotel is very well maintained. Rooms are clean, luxurious and traditionally decorated. Impressive.

I highly recommend this experience to everyone! The memories and the experience is worth 100 times the money spent here. A special thanks to Mr Jitu and his family for making our stay so comfortable and memorable. I am pretty sure, we will be coming here again! :)

Room Tip: Don't miss the desert safari.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KshitijS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

This is great to here and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the desert camp, we hope you do come back again and could take a different exprience next time. So glad to here you have some of the best memory’s of your life here, now you can have some great story’s to tell your friends and may be they will want to come as well.

We assure you sincerely the same spirit of hospitality and best quality of services to our guests.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed in Jaisalmer and at hotell fifu for 2 days and had a very good time.
The service is especially good at this hotel. You always got the feeling that you were welcome and taken care of.

As for the location of the hotel it is pretty far away from the city centrum, but this is a very small city, so it doesnt matter at all. A rickshaw will take you there in 5 minutes or so.

The roof restaurant is very nice as well. Good overview of the city and the golden fort, and nice food.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank north123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasjsm, Owner at Hotel Fifu, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback for our Hotel.

Thank you so much for your kind review, we always treat our guests moor like friends or family and to your individual needs .We assure you sincerely that same spirit of hospitality and will provide the best quality of services to all our guests.

many thanks, with regards,

Om Prakash Kewaliya(Fifu)
Hotel Fifu-Jaisalmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Property: Hotel Fifu
Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motto is Hospitality with Honesty . Hotel Fifu is situated only 1.0 kms from Jaisalmer Fort , please note the distance and do not confused by wrong datas. . It looks far but it is not. From the terrace and the rooms you can find a panoramic view of Jaisalmer fort. Hotel Fifu built in 30x40 total 1200 sq ft area. It has total 11 rooms, all the rooms have aircondition, attached bathroom, an LCD TV with cable connection. The room size at Hotel Fifu is 09x13 total 117 sq feet and bath room size is 06x08 total 48 sq feet. As it is a small hotel in a limited space, it does not has 1. Lift 2. Swimming Pool, 3. Garden 4. Bath-tub 5.Fridge and safe in the rooms. Please check and read carefully that the check out time which is 10.30am, the check in time is 12.30pm. We offer free wi-fi internet, free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway Station and Bus station.Hotel Fifu run by Mr.Om Kewaliya, his nephew Mr.Antriksha and his son Mr.Anirudh , so it is a family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing