We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We chose this hotel based on our guidebook and Tripadvisor reviews. We hadn't realised it was a little further out than most of the tourist accommodation, but this was not a problem for us as we had hired a car/driver for part of our Rajasthan trip. However, the walk itself is a lot shorter than it looks and would be fine in the day. However at night you would want to get an autorickshaw, or at least have company and a torch. Those are my thoughts for future travellers. But as for our stay...

I thought the Hotel was fantastic. It is a lovingly designed building in traditional haveli style inside and out. The rooms have a great ambiance and the bathrooms are clean and had hot water (important for the cold nights and mornings in winter). Our room had a lovely bay window and was spacious. The highlight was the great rooftop terrace, which is decorated beautifully, comfortable and relaxing. The restaurant up here is great - good service and food, with fabulous views of the fort. It is a superb place to relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. We encountered Fifu himself many times during our stay - he is a dedicated and proud owner. He was always checking we were OK and keen to improve where possible. He also amazed us with his multilingual talents. His friendly and gentle nature was an asset to the hotel. He gave us excellent local advice on all manner of things which really helped our stay. There was definitely no pushing of tours - just a keen sense of wanting to help guests where possible. Finally the internet wifi was excellent. i would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Liked — Excellent service and rooftop terrace
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    205
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
211
439
92
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Fifu for two nights in February 2010 and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Mr. Fifu and Mr. Gitu, the hotel proprietors were friendly and generous, even letting my friend use their cell phone to call the U.S. since we didn't have phone cards. The service was excellent and attentive with a staff that obviously took great pride in their work. The rooms were comfortable and clean, lovingly decorated with traditional Rajasthani furniture. We were given a choice of rooms when we checked in.

The food at the rooftop restaurant -- with a great view of the Jaisalmer fort -- was great Indian home-cooked food. Nothing fancy, but a wide selection of tasty dishes for a very reasonable price. A light breakfast (both western and Indian options) is included with the room, and we liked the restaurant so much we ended up eating dinner there both nights of our stay.

The only caveat I have is that Fifu is a little further from the old city than the Lonely Planet book describes. It's about a 10-15 minute walk (1/2 mile) from the old city wall down a few not well-populated streets. Then once you get to the city walls its another 1/3-1/2 mile to the fort. However for such a wonderful and reasonably-priced hotel the walk (or a short tuk-tuk ride) is completely worth it! Also, the extra distance means that Hotel Fifu is much more peaceful and quiet than other guest houses right in the old city which can be loud.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Hello

We (as a family of 6) had a great time in Hotel Fifu during our stay in september 2009. We did appreciate the time the owners spent talking of their beautiful country, the dishes (like the sangri la), the interior design...

Hotel Fifu has been for us the perfect compromise between tradition (because of the delicate decoration) and modernity of comfort.

Rooms are neat, very clean, and decoration is delicate. Food is good, and you can enjoy your meal and breakfast on the large flat roof.

We also had a great time visiting their other rooms on top of the Citadelle of Jaisalmer. Once again, great eye for interior design and confort of the place !

Fifu brothers are really complementary, and will do their best for you during your stay.

We warmly recommend them !!

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — hum..I really don't know !
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tibbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Hotel Fifu is a great place to stay! The staff & owners are so hospitable-- they even took me on a motorcycle to pick up my friend from the train station!! The food was good, the rooms beautiful, & the service is unparalleled. The laundry service was also great. After a long journey to Jaisalmer, this is a great value for your money, and a very peaceful retreat. Definitely one of my favorite hotels in India.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hollyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

One of the best hotels we stayed at during our 4 week holiday in India, and one of the most affordable! Only a short walk to town and to the fort but with an amazing view of both. The rooms all offered views of either the desert or the fort, they were immaculate and clean but also gorgeously decorated with local textiles in themed colours throughout. Service was efficient, the food was great and inexpensive, staff were helpful, friendly and with good english. It was very refreshing to be at a hotel which didn't expect tipping and offered services simply to ensure you had a great stay! I would also recommend the sunset camel safari and other excursions the hotel offers. The only downside which seems to be common throughout India, is the noisey barking dogs outside otherwise, the stay was one of the highlights of my holiday!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

I’m not quite sure to start with this place as it was just so great! We arrived from Bikaner very early in the morning and we were picked up from the train station (one of the only hotel lifts that actually showed up!) and taken to the hotel, and after a nightmare journey it was such a wonderful relief. As we arrived so early our pre-booked room wasn’t quite ready but we were allowed to use another room (Room 1) for a sleep until our room was ready. The room was elegantly designed and so beautiful with great care and detail taken.

Later in the day we were shown into my chosen room (Room 2) which is quite simply amazing and probably the best hotel room i have ever stayed in! Again the attention to detail is stunning and the decor and ambience, with the stone walls, cosy window seat and furnishings was so beautiful.

We booked our camel safari with Fifu who was more than happy to sit down and explain the entire trip in detail and answer any questions and alleviate any concerns that we had. Fifu was such a friendly and lovely man and he truly knows how to make his guests feel special and to make their stay as perfect as he can. He always had time for us and nothing was ever too much trouble.

Upon returning from our amazing camel safari we stayed in out third and final room (Room 3) which again was very nice. We were given an extended bigger bedroom as we wanted to have a massage and the room was again exquisitely furnished and decorated and had so much character.

Good
- Every single room we stayed in was wonderfully decorated and furnished, with tons of character, space and light
- The service was exemplary with nothing ever too much trouble. Fifu has time for everyone and makes you feel so welcome and just like part of his family
- The location is very good just outside the city centre away from the noise and hustle and bustle with a fantastic view of the fort
- There as so many great little areas in the hotel for you to sit and relax, take in the view with a beer and chat till the sun goes down
- Guaranteed pickup and transport to the train/bus station and anywhere else you want to go
- Our camel safari booked through Fifu was simply brilliant and such an experience

Bad
- I honestly can’t think of a single bad point!

Overall
This hotel is without a doubt the best I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world and I cant recommend it enough, if you come to Jaisalmer and don’t stay here then you must be mad!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam6210e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We were ready for this quiet, small guest house outside the city walls. We felt that we were in a small neighborhood and enjoyed watching the camels pulling water tanks, seeing goats meandering and people walking to work/homes. We experienced very friendly staff, great service, and marvelous rooms. We enjoyed lazing on the roof top restaurant before dinner watching the world go by below us. It was such a relief to be away from the honkering sounds of heavy traffic in this lovely small hotel. The rooms were tastefull decorated and had good reading lights by the beds (a rarity in India). We enjoyed all of our meals there.
We also enjoyed the afternoon safari trip with Fifu Guest House. I was concerned that we would be taken to a packed area in the desert with lots of tourists. This was not the case at all. We had a wonderful camel ride (just the right length from our perspective), walked in the warm desert sands, and watched the brillant sunset. Upon our return to the camp site, we heard some of the best Rajstanian folk music of our trip. The muscians were excellent and showed the joy of their music. The safari was worth the money and time. Fifu Guest House was a marvelous surprise in the desert and lived up to all its reviews.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FavonianPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#12 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Property: Hotel Fifu
Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motto is Hospitality with Honesty . Hotel Fifu is situated only 1.0 kms from Jaisalmer Fort , please note the distance and do not confused by wrong datas. . It looks far but it is not. From the terrace and the rooms you can find a panoramic view of Jaisalmer fort. Hotel Fifu built in 30x40 total 1200 sq ft area. It has total 11 rooms, all the rooms have aircondition, attached bathroom, an LCD TV with cable connection. The room size at Hotel Fifu is 09x13 total 117 sq feet and bath room size is 06x08 total 48 sq feet. As it is a small hotel in a limited space, it does not has 1. Lift 2. Swimming Pool, 3. Garden 4. Bath-tub 5.Fridge and safe in the rooms. Please check and read carefully that the check out time which is 10.30am, the check in time is 12.30pm. We offer free wi-fi internet, free pick up from Jaisalmer Railway Station and Bus station.Hotel Fifu run by Mr.Om Kewaliya, his nephew Mr.Antriksha and his son Mr.Anirudh , so it is a family run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing