We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can only recommend Fifu Hotel”
Review of Hotel Fifu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fifu
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Excellent value for money, very nice owner (Fifu) and staff. Will definitely go back to Fifu Hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2010

This is a great place to stay - it's way off the beaten track on the outskirts of Jaisalmer but still only 10 mins from the centre and the fort. The rooftop restaurant is a great place to enjoy the vegetarian home cooking with a fantastic view of the floodlit fort. I doubt if there can be a better view in the whole of Jaisalmer! Breakfast is also taken on the roof, a great way to start the day. Mr. Fifu, the owner, helped us to plan a day's sightseeing with our car and driver - nothing was too much trouble for him. Internet is free and laundry very cheap. Would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We went to Jaisalmer for a period of two days this February 2010. We went on a tour to Rajasthan and Jaisalmer was our first stop. We had booked rooms at Hotel Fifu online dint know what to expect exactly, but we think it was one of the best decisions we made.

Fifu and Jitu were extremely helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. The staff were also very helpful. The rooms were clean and beautifully made . The food was good (A little bland for us , but the quality was good)

They took time to answer our questions, guided us around correctly and gave invaluable inputs regarding travel in and around Jaisalmer. They also took us around their newly constructed hotel next door.

The arrangements for the desert safari was without any glitches. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend Hotel Fifu to anyone who is traveling to Jaisalmer. Stay there and you are really looked after.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maanasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We chose this hotel based on our guidebook and Tripadvisor reviews. We hadn't realised it was a little further out than most of the tourist accommodation, but this was not a problem for us as we had hired a car/driver for part of our Rajasthan trip. However, the walk itself is a lot shorter than it looks and would be fine in the day. However at night you would want to get an autorickshaw, or at least have company and a torch. Those are my thoughts for future travellers. But as for our stay...

I thought the Hotel was fantastic. It is a lovingly designed building in traditional haveli style inside and out. The rooms have a great ambiance and the bathrooms are clean and had hot water (important for the cold nights and mornings in winter). Our room had a lovely bay window and was spacious. The highlight was the great rooftop terrace, which is decorated beautifully, comfortable and relaxing. The restaurant up here is great - good service and food, with fabulous views of the fort. It is a superb place to relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. We encountered Fifu himself many times during our stay - he is a dedicated and proud owner. He was always checking we were OK and keen to improve where possible. He also amazed us with his multilingual talents. His friendly and gentle nature was an asset to the hotel. He gave us excellent local advice on all manner of things which really helped our stay. There was definitely no pushing of tours - just a keen sense of wanting to help guests where possible. Finally the internet wifi was excellent. i would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2Bobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My friend and I stayed at Hotel Fifu for two nights in February 2010 and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Mr. Fifu and Mr. Gitu, the hotel proprietors were friendly and generous, even letting my friend use their cell phone to call the U.S. since we didn't have phone cards. The service was excellent and attentive with a staff that obviously took great pride in their work. The rooms were comfortable and clean, lovingly decorated with traditional Rajasthani furniture. We were given a choice of rooms when we checked in.

The food at the rooftop restaurant -- with a great view of the Jaisalmer fort -- was great Indian home-cooked food. Nothing fancy, but a wide selection of tasty dishes for a very reasonable price. A light breakfast (both western and Indian options) is included with the room, and we liked the restaurant so much we ended up eating dinner there both nights of our stay.

The only caveat I have is that Fifu is a little further from the old city than the Lonely Planet book describes. It's about a 10-15 minute walk (1/2 mile) from the old city wall down a few not well-populated streets. Then once you get to the city walls its another 1/3-1/2 mile to the fort. However for such a wonderful and reasonably-priced hotel the walk (or a short tuk-tuk ride) is completely worth it! Also, the extra distance means that Hotel Fifu is much more peaceful and quiet than other guest houses right in the old city which can be loud.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Hello

We (as a family of 6) had a great time in Hotel Fifu during our stay in september 2009. We did appreciate the time the owners spent talking of their beautiful country, the dishes (like the sangri la), the interior design...

Hotel Fifu has been for us the perfect compromise between tradition (because of the delicate decoration) and modernity of comfort.

Rooms are neat, very clean, and decoration is delicate. Food is good, and you can enjoy your meal and breakfast on the large flat roof.

We also had a great time visiting their other rooms on top of the Citadelle of Jaisalmer. Once again, great eye for interior design and confort of the place !

Fifu brothers are really complementary, and will do their best for you during your stay.

We warmly recommend them !!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tibbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Hotel Fifu is a great place to stay! The staff & owners are so hospitable-- they even took me on a motorcycle to pick up my friend from the train station!! The food was good, the rooms beautiful, & the service is unparalleled. The laundry service was also great. After a long journey to Jaisalmer, this is a great value for your money, and a very peaceful retreat. Definitely one of my favorite hotels in India.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
Thank hollyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 106 in Jaisalmer
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 106 in Jaisalmer
785 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 106 in Jaisalmer
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helsinki House
Helsinki House
#13 of 106 in Jaisalmer
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fifu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fifu

Address: Pushkarna Bera Road | Opp. Nagarpalika Building, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fifu 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fifu is run by Om Prakash Kewaliya (known by his friends as Fifu) and his family, with the help of a team of dedicated staff. Established in 1999, the hotel is styled on an ornate, traditional Haveli with stunning views of Jaisalmer’s ancient fort. Tucked in a quiet corner, just outside of the city centre, Hotel Fifu offers a quiet kind of luxury. Fifu was born in Jaisalmer and has been working in the tourism industry for over 20 years. In 1996, Fifu started his camel safari business, which still continues today. In 1999, Hotel Fifu was built from Fifu’s own original design. Using traditional methods and the help of the local community, the building was constructed in 3 years, with additional rooms added until it’s completion in 2006. Fifu is a graduate in economics and accountancy. He speaks Hindi, fluent English, German, Spanish and French, and is married with two children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fifu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing