We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Mandir Palace Sept 2011 for 3 nights & had a great time. I had called ahead and negotiated a very good price for one of its smaller rooms in the old Palace which was very clean and well maintained. We found the staff to be extremely helpful both across the hotel & at the hotel reception. Fused bulbs were immediately replaced without any hassle!

There was no pressure to take any of the hotel's trips or to eat its restaurants. We did have eat both dinner & breakfast which were very good with equally attentive service. For breakfast we just ordered what we wanted rather than have the recommended buffet! The views of the Fort were tremendous & it would have nice to have dined on the roof area but it was a bit too windy for that for the nights we stayed. Snacks at the pool were good too but order well in advance as they do take some time to appear! Still at least they are all freshly cooked!

The swimming pool was simply glorious and I used it both early mornings & late afternoons. Towels were provided though there could have been a few more loungers. It was very clean and simply marvellous to relax in after the heat & dust of Jaisalmer.

The hotel was very centrally placed with easy access to the local open market, the fort [a not too long or ardous walk if you wanted to] and had several eating places within walking distance. I had checked out some of the other hotels in Jaisalmer listed in Lonely Planet but they were poor compared to the Mandir Palace & many had construction works in progress or had open sewers in their street................none were as conventiently sited at the Madir Palace.

GB. London

Room Tip: Check out the rooms & bargain hard. Don't accept the first price or any price listed on car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    95
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
101
126
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

It was one the best rooms I have stayed in my entire life. What a grand presence, décor and space to accommodate our 2 kids!!
We felt like king/queen and princesses in Jaisalmaer.
The Surya Mahal was outstanding with a break of sunlight waking us up.
The interior carvings on our bedroom was outstanding!!!

Our special thanks to Mr Shivendra and hotel staff hospitality for making a memorable stay.

Best Regards,

- Vivek, Bangalore.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekb_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Spent 2 nights at the Mandir Palace. A great location - right next to the jaisalmer market lane leading you to the fort. Right next to some decent food joints - Saffron, Trio etc. Nice rooms - Clean, large sized, bath with hot water. Service: Though the manager tried to be friendly, we found the service to be very impersonal and lacking in genuineness. If they hire a service guy from the Taj, this would easily be the best place to stay at in Jaisalmer. But overall, you will be quite happy picking this place for your stay in Jaisalmer, as all other brand name hotels are situated only in the outskirts of the city (very inconvenient to explore a small town with everything centered around the fort and the market area).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLNBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
333 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Durng our visit to Jaisalmer we had stayed at Mandir Palace for 3 days. The hotel is a beautiful property with the looks of an old fort & is a heritage property.

As you enter the hotel & go up the stairs to the reception you see a magnificent "jharokha" - balcony. It is beautifully carved & is a tourist attraction.

The rooms are well appointed with airconditiones, western toilets & attached bathrooms.

The hotel has 1 restaurants whihc serves differnt types of vegeteraian & non vegatarian food.

The hotel itself is a tourist attraction specially after it was extensively used in the movie Sarfarosh.

It is undoubtedly one of the better hotels of Jaisalmer.

One of the major attraction of Jaisalmer is the visit to the desert - Sam sand dunes.

As you enter Jaisalmer you will be approached by agents for arranging your visit to the desert. Rates very & one needs to bargain hevaily. More the people greater will be the bargaining power.

They take you in an SUV upto a certain point from where you will go in the desert on camel.
There is a cultural show of traditional rajasthani folk dances etc. followed by dinner.

Your over night stay is in a tent. The tents have decent clean western toilets & bed.However, there are no fans & lights too are barely adequate. Around 10Pm all lights are switched off & you have to spend the night in pitch darkness.

Overall it is a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaishavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajmer, Rajasthan, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The palace is great mixture of finest living standards as well as great architecture...
the food is awsome and the services provided are exellent...
in total a overwhelming experience...
it is a place which u must choose for ur stay when u visit jaisalmer!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushar101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Wonderful heritage building with nice neat rooms. The only negative was that it had solar hot water and one morning we had to have tepid showers. (Note for hotel: an electric or gas booster heater for when solar is not functioning would solve this problem.)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shansand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
348 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Beautiful hotel with excellent rooms. We stayed in a suite at a little extra and it was unbelievable. Beautiful, comfortable and fully equipped. Our friend had a Standard room and that was also very good with all you can expect.

The ambience of the hotel is wonderful. You are in a Palace, a Museum and a wonderful display of the skills of the Rajasthani craftesmen.

Sadly the Restaurant was okay if you ordered something that had to be cooked then and there. I made a mistake of ordering a Thali at dinner time. I paid for it for the next two days. My wife and our friend ordered more sensibly items that had to be cooked immediately and had no problem.

The hotel is just at the bottom of the street leading to the fort and was easy to make a vist there and return.

Room Tip: Book a Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyril-Mundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#26 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
8.1 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jaisalmer Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#29 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fort Rajwada
Fort Rajwada
#23 of 103 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
Address: Gandhi Chowk, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#15 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two centuries old palace converted into a hotel, WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace offers a concoction of medieval charm with the modern amenities. The main portion of the two centuries old Palace was built during the reign of the late Maharawal Jawahir Singh. This palace is testimony to the history of Jaisalmer with different portions of the palace being built by different rulers of Jaisalmer till as late as the beginning of the twentieth century. ‘Badal Vilas’, a unique tower like structure at Mandir Palace is the tallest structure in town below the hill-top city fort, reminding us of the incredible historical relevance attached to both the palace as well as the city of Jaisalmer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandir Palace Jaisalmer
Mandir Palace Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing