We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - very welcoming”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Victoria. Pankaj is a very caring hotelier who has a real interest in his guests and has created a very quirky, homely hotel. The rooms, food and ambience were all great, especially the banana and honey pancakes for breakfast on the roof. The views across the town were brilliant and it was a great advantage staying within the historic fort.
Don't come here if you expect a Radisson, it is much more interesting than that. Do come here if you are looking for a beautifully restored historic house, with interesting furnishings, nice fellow guests and a fabulous base for exploring Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were in room 2, which has a small balcony looking outside the fort. It was spacious and clean, with a small but perfectly adequate shower room. Upstairs there is a nice terrace with great views and comfortable seating.

On arrival from the overnight train from Delhi we received a great welcome from the owner, along with a tasty complimentary breakfast of banana pancakes. All the staff were ready to help at any time looked after us very well.

Overall, a really great experience and wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank PMcGeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had booked a hotel that we didn't like, so walked around the fort looking for another hotel and found the Victoria. We were shown several rooms, picked the one that overlooked the entrance with a wonderful window seat, comfortable bed, good bathroom. We ate all our meals on the roof, except one night when we thought we didn't want dinner and were served banana pancakes in our room--what a treat! The owner, Pankaj Purohit, whose family had owned the building for centuries, was helpful, courteous, interesting and professional, and the staff equally accommodating. A thoroughly delightful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The opportunity to stay in the only living fort in India - Jaisalmer's Sonar Qila was truly irresistible. And, Hotel Victoria - which is the ancestral home of Mr.Pankaj Purohit gave us exactly the experience we were looking for, and more.

The hospitality was evident right from entering the hotel - where Mr.Pankaj greeted us and introduced us to his home. He also messaged me the password for the free wifi. We had booked one of the best rooms in the hotel - with an elaborate Jharokha (a decorated mini-balcony hanging out from the building), which gave us a cool view of the golden town of Jaisalmer. The experience of staying in this place was definitely exceptional.

The room itself, though not huge, was spacious, with a comfortable bed and enough cushions. The attached bathroom was small, but that would be a luxury in this place, considering that the building itself is part of a 500-year old structure (Toilets were not part of the buildings back then). There is even a television with satelite channels. The highlight was the jharokha where we spent more than 3 hours in the evening just lying down in the cozy cushions provided and looking down at the town-life go by. The sun setting on the town of Jaisalmer is a splendid sight where it gives a tinge of golden color to all the buildings, against the backdrop of the desert.

We were served breakfast as soon as we came to the hotel after a long train journey. Mr.Pankaj briefed us on the places inside and outside the fort which were worth visiting. This was helpful for us to plan our day. We came back to the hotel's rooftop dining place for dinner - from where we could continue to enjoy the views of the town. The dinner was hot and freshly prepared, and tasted homely and nice. Mr.Pankaj joined us for a friendly chat during dinner where we exchanged notes on different places to visit in India.

The hotel, being right inside the fort, is 5 minutes away from every attraction inside the fort. Also, the fort's gate leading to the town is a stone's throw away, and it would be pretty easy to visit the havelis around the fort. I would't forget the splendid views from the sunset point a small walk from the fort - which gives a view of the fort with the sun's evening rays lighting up the fort from the side - this was recommended to us by Mr.Pankaj.

I would recommend Hotel Victoria to anyone visiting Jaisalmer. The hotel has a romantic setting overlooking the town, and gives the opportunity to stay in an ancient, but living fort in India. Above all, the hospiltality of Mr.Pankaj deserves special mention which made our stay better than expected and memorable.

Room Tip: Book the rooms with jharokhas - they are worth the price giving a romantic experience during the sta...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After backpacking for a while, we were looking for a good bed to rest on. Hotel Victoria had really good reviews so we booked room #11. That bed was a-ma-zing. It was big, it was clean, it was soft, it smelt good and it was warm ! The room is spacious and really comfortable. Bathroom is clean and the shower is warm.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It has a big rooftop with a beautiful view. The food is delicious (try the thali), the staff is really nice and Pankaj will do anything to make your trip perfect. Although we only slept one night at Victoria Hotel, Pankaj offered us a box of indian sweets and prepared us (for free) a meal for our bus trip for Udaipur.

In short, this hotel and its staff are excellent. It's the place to be for a romantic night in Jaisalmer :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoufJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in December and were so pampered and happy the whole time! This was truly such a treat. Everyone working there was so kind, everything was clean and beautiful! We had endless amazing chai on the roof with a stunning view of the sunset. Our room had a balcony which was clean and comfortable - The whole place felt very magical. I would highly recommend this hotel to literally anyone I know.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thank You Pankaj for your hospitality. Our visit to jaiselmer wouldn't have been complete without mentioning our meomorable stay at Hotel Victoria. The room was fantastic,Hotel Victoria is an incredibly atmospheric place, ancient, beautiful and romantic. The location is wonderful.,espically its roof top hotel and its awesome view . Apart from the lovely place itself, one of the best things about it was the kindness of the owner MR.Punkaj. I felt more like a family member than guest.


By best wishes to you and staff of Victoria. I want to recommend Victoria for any traveller who is looking for a memorable Jaiselmer experience.

Stayed Feb 2014, travelled with family

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneeshupadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#1 of 108 in Jaisalmer
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: £12 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 9 years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing