We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Sweet Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Home Sweet Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Pankaj was a perfect host and the hotel was comfortable and unique.
Pros: free WiFi and breakfast - banana pancakes! Pankaj was really chill and helpful. Sharing the best places to go see and do. Yes had a camel safari, and wasn't pushy about it when we said no thanks. The hotel felt like home, something about being on top of everything, great view from the roof top to watch sunrise and enjoy breakfast, comfortable beds, nice AC, plenty of free bottled water.
Cons: little tough for those tall people who are not mindful walking through small door frames! Not necessarily a con, but you do get the sounds of fort life, from morning prayer to dogs barking.
I would definitely recommend those who want a cool fort experience, who wants to stay in comfort at a fair price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    122
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
186
307
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Wow, right at the top of the fort, stunning views from the rooftop restaurant/lounge. I spent a lot of time just hanging out on the roof, admiring the views and chilling out.

The owner, Mr. P. is really nice and welcoming. He came up with the idea to convert his family's home into this little cozy hotel and he's very passionate about the house and his customers. He spends a lot of time chatting with everyone and keeping us happy. He even went out and bought me a box of local candy when he saw how much i liked them!

The rooms, although ancient, have a modern bathroom, hot water, and very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Victoria. Pankaj is a very caring hotelier who has a real interest in his guests and has created a very quirky, homely hotel. The rooms, food and ambience were all great, especially the banana and honey pancakes for breakfast on the roof. The views across the town were brilliant and it was a great advantage staying within the historic fort.
Don't come here if you expect a Radisson, it is much more interesting than that. Do come here if you are looking for a beautifully restored historic house, with interesting furnishings, nice fellow guests and a fabulous base for exploring Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We were in room 2, which has a small balcony looking outside the fort. It was spacious and clean, with a small but perfectly adequate shower room. Upstairs there is a nice terrace with great views and comfortable seating.

On arrival from the overnight train from Delhi we received a great welcome from the owner, along with a tasty complimentary breakfast of banana pancakes. All the staff were ready to help at any time looked after us very well.

Overall, a really great experience and wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PMcGeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had booked a hotel that we didn't like, so walked around the fort looking for another hotel and found the Victoria. We were shown several rooms, picked the one that overlooked the entrance with a wonderful window seat, comfortable bed, good bathroom. We ate all our meals on the roof, except one night when we thought we didn't want dinner and were served banana pancakes in our room--what a treat! The owner, Pankaj Purohit, whose family had owned the building for centuries, was helpful, courteous, interesting and professional, and the staff equally accommodating. A thoroughly delightful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The opportunity to stay in the only living fort in India - Jaisalmer's Sonar Qila was truly irresistible. And, Hotel Victoria - which is the ancestral home of Mr.Pankaj Purohit gave us exactly the experience we were looking for, and more.

The hospitality was evident right from entering the hotel - where Mr.Pankaj greeted us and introduced us to his home. He also messaged me the password for the free wifi. We had booked one of the best rooms in the hotel - with an elaborate Jharokha (a decorated mini-balcony hanging out from the building), which gave us a cool view of the golden town of Jaisalmer. The experience of staying in this place was definitely exceptional.

The room itself, though not huge, was spacious, with a comfortable bed and enough cushions. The attached bathroom was small, but that would be a luxury in this place, considering that the building itself is part of a 500-year old structure (Toilets were not part of the buildings back then). There is even a television with satelite channels. The highlight was the jharokha where we spent more than 3 hours in the evening just lying down in the cozy cushions provided and looking down at the town-life go by. The sun setting on the town of Jaisalmer is a splendid sight where it gives a tinge of golden color to all the buildings, against the backdrop of the desert.

We were served breakfast as soon as we came to the hotel after a long train journey. Mr.Pankaj briefed us on the places inside and outside the fort which were worth visiting. This was helpful for us to plan our day. We came back to the hotel's rooftop dining place for dinner - from where we could continue to enjoy the views of the town. The dinner was hot and freshly prepared, and tasted homely and nice. Mr.Pankaj joined us for a friendly chat during dinner where we exchanged notes on different places to visit in India.

The hotel, being right inside the fort, is 5 minutes away from every attraction inside the fort. Also, the fort's gate leading to the town is a stone's throw away, and it would be pretty easy to visit the havelis around the fort. I would't forget the splendid views from the sunset point a small walk from the fort - which gives a view of the fort with the sun's evening rays lighting up the fort from the side - this was recommended to us by Mr.Pankaj.

I would recommend Hotel Victoria to anyone visiting Jaisalmer. The hotel has a romantic setting overlooking the town, and gives the opportunity to stay in an ancient, but living fort in India. Above all, the hospiltality of Mr.Pankaj deserves special mention which made our stay better than expected and memorable.

Room Tip: Book the rooms with jharokhas - they are worth the price giving a romantic experience during the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

After backpacking for a while, we were looking for a good bed to rest on. Hotel Victoria had really good reviews so we booked room #11. That bed was a-ma-zing. It was big, it was clean, it was soft, it smelt good and it was warm ! The room is spacious and really comfortable. Bathroom is clean and the shower is warm.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It has a big rooftop with a beautiful view. The food is delicious (try the thali), the staff is really nice and Pankaj will do anything to make your trip perfect. Although we only slept one night at Victoria Hotel, Pankaj offered us a box of indian sweets and prepared us (for free) a meal for our bus trip for Udaipur.

In short, this hotel and its staff are excellent. It's the place to be for a romantic night in Jaisalmer :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoufJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fifu
Hotel Fifu
#8 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 9 years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing