We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad and terrible service”
Review of Deepak Rest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deepak Rest House
Ranked #40 of 156 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad and terrible service”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Ok I don't know how this guesthouse has gotten 5 stars everywhere. I'm use to staying at simple places when going backpacking so the basic room are no problem.
Mainly the service were terrible and the boys in the reception didn't even get up from the couch to give us our room or check or booking from Agoda when we arrived. Towels, soap, sheets and the extra bed we payed for were missing in the room and we had to run for it ourself all the time. Hot water was not working in the morning when we needed it.
The rooftop has a good view but they have done nothing to make it nice just thrown out som pillows and tables.
There are a lot better places to stay in the fort with same view and better rooftop bars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stech0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    26
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
22
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Deepak was recommended to me by two travellers who I met in Kochi so I headed there straight after my arrival in Jaisalmer. The rooms are exceptionally spacious and offer great views either of the city of Jaisalmer outside the fort or the Jain temples. The bathrooms are clean and come with hot water, which is very much appreciated, especially in the winter months when it get quite cold during the night. You might also want to ask for an extra blanket which will be provided with no problem.

My favourite feature of Deepak guest house: the roof-top terrace. It's just so nice to hang out there after a day of site-seeing. Very relaxed and a great spot to watch the sun go down over the desert. I had food here a couple of times and enjoyed it. It wasn't exceptional ore anything, just decent food. As everything in the fort, Deepak is fantastically located, although I know, there are reservations around staying in the fort as it is endangered.

The staff is very friendly and will help you book trips, etc., help you with your luggage, let you store your stuff while on a camel safari.

The wifi works in the lobby and on the roof, but I was lucky and it also worked in my room on the second floor (#12)

I would definitely stay here again, especially due to the great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ele75FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Top service, nice price, really good food and a beautifull overview from the rooftop to enjoy the sunset :-)
Jaisalmer is a very nice place with a lot things to see.
Its also good to make camelsafaris in the thar desert. You can boo them direkt in the hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We came to deepak through a friend. We got the best room- 3 directions of air and tons of wind. . No need for a/c
It may not be very clean but from what I saw its the cleanest you're gonna get for low budget hotel in Jaisalmer.
Staff was extremely helpful and nice!

In the restaurant up in the roof you'll get the best photos of the city sunset and night time in Jaisalmer

Ill warn u though, Jaisalmer is more expensive then rest of RJ so laundry, cigarettes etc. If you can do before

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I alongwith my wife and 4yr old daughter stayed here for a night 12-13 Mar 13. its located in the bylanes of the Fort. I specifically asked for Room No.9 (Ist floor) as suggested in earlier reviews & was not disappointed. The big bed was comfortable. Quite room with an open window space with great view of town. Clean bathroom with hot/cold water. Wi-Fi is available only in reception area & only till late night. Staff were very attentive. Excellent rooftop with 360 view of town. Menu is quite good with choice for foreign as well as Indian tourists, but wouldn't comment on quality as my wife/kid had some stomach troubles, and am not quite sure about as we had taken all meals from there! Otherwise, they offer good value for money.

Room Tip: Older people should consider the steep stairs to top floors / rooftop, it is very tiring. Ask for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunilraj_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed there 23-26 Dec 2012. The rooms are excellent with all basic facilities and beautifully designed. Rate is fair. The roof top restaurant serves excellent food including veg. Bengali meals also. It is right inside the fort and offers unhindered view of the city at sunset and view of Jain Temples at sunrise.
Jain temples are just opposite to the hotel's entrance.
The staffs are efficient and co-operating. The manager Mr. Biswajit is ever willing to help. It is a gem for the trallers who wish to stay inside this heritage fort.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOY_GHOSHDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We visited Rajasthan for entire month of Dec"12& stayed at many hotels by advance booking through MAKE MY TRIP-but of all hotels Deepak rest house is BEST.We arrived here on 18 th early morning ,still very dark with severe cold and very much before their scheduled check-in time.Still they greeted us with a smiling face & arranged for everything we needed.They even didn't ask for any extra charge for our early check-in unlike many other hotels in Rajasthan. The room was big, clean artistically decorated with antiques. Bathroom was not so big but was clean with adequate supply of hot water. We enjoyed the view of jaisalmir city particularly during night from our window and also while dinning from its roof-top restaurant.Sunset scene from the roof can easily compete with other famous sunset seen by us from sam or khuri sand dunes.Our special thanks to Manager BISWAJIT & the cook for serving delicious Bengali dishes.

Room Tip: Always select rooms at higher floor with a window-side view of jaisalmer town beneath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T_konar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
8.3 mi away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 104 in Jaisalmer
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 104 in Jaisalmer
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#3 of 104 in Jaisalmer
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deepak Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deepak Rest House

Property: Deepak Rest House
Address: On Fort Vyasa Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Deepak Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing