We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lasting bad impression”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Deepak Rest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deepak Rest House
Ranked #47 of 151 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lasting bad impression”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

#1 A staff member stole $100 USD and 2000 rupees out of my bag while it was in his possession for 'keeping safe' while we did a hotel organised camel trek!!!

#2 The shower did not work at all in my room, nor did the toilet flush unless you poured buckets of water into it.

This hotel and its staff have left a lasting bad impression that has affected my whole trip to India. 0/10 for everything except its location inside the fort.



  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 440NicoleG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    26
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Ok I don't know how this guesthouse has gotten 5 stars everywhere. I'm use to staying at simple places when going backpacking so the basic room are no problem.
Mainly the service were terrible and the boys in the reception didn't even get up from the couch to give us our room or check or booking from Agoda when we arrived. Towels, soap, sheets and the extra bed we payed for were missing in the room and we had to run for it ourself all the time. Hot water was not working in the morning when we needed it.
The rooftop has a good view but they have done nothing to make it nice just thrown out som pillows and tables.
There are a lot better places to stay in the fort with same view and better rooftop bars.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stech0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Deepak was recommended to me by two travellers who I met in Kochi so I headed there straight after my arrival in Jaisalmer. The rooms are exceptionally spacious and offer great views either of the city of Jaisalmer outside the fort or the Jain temples. The bathrooms are clean and come with hot water, which is very much appreciated, especially in the winter months when it get quite cold during the night. You might also want to ask for an extra blanket which will be provided with no problem.

My favourite feature of Deepak guest house: the roof-top terrace. It's just so nice to hang out there after a day of site-seeing. Very relaxed and a great spot to watch the sun go down over the desert. I had food here a couple of times and enjoyed it. It wasn't exceptional ore anything, just decent food. As everything in the fort, Deepak is fantastically located, although I know, there are reservations around staying in the fort as it is endangered.

The staff is very friendly and will help you book trips, etc., help you with your luggage, let you store your stuff while on a camel safari.

The wifi works in the lobby and on the roof, but I was lucky and it also worked in my room on the second floor (#12)

I would definitely stay here again, especially due to the great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ele75FFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Top service, nice price, really good food and a beautifull overview from the rooftop to enjoy the sunset :-)
Jaisalmer is a very nice place with a lot things to see.
Its also good to make camelsafaris in the thar desert. You can boo them direkt in the hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We came to deepak through a friend. We got the best room- 3 directions of air and tons of wind. . No need for a/c
It may not be very clean but from what I saw its the cleanest you're gonna get for low budget hotel in Jaisalmer.
Staff was extremely helpful and nice!

In the restaurant up in the roof you'll get the best photos of the city sunset and night time in Jaisalmer

Ill warn u though, Jaisalmer is more expensive then rest of RJ so laundry, cigarettes etc. If you can do before

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

I alongwith my wife and 4yr old daughter stayed here for a night 12-13 Mar 13. its located in the bylanes of the Fort. I specifically asked for Room No.9 (Ist floor) as suggested in earlier reviews & was not disappointed. The big bed was comfortable. Quite room with an open window space with great view of town. Clean bathroom with hot/cold water. Wi-Fi is available only in reception area & only till late night. Staff were very attentive. Excellent rooftop with 360 view of town. Menu is quite good with choice for foreign as well as Indian tourists, but wouldn't comment on quality as my wife/kid had some stomach troubles, and am not quite sure about as we had taken all meals from there! Otherwise, they offer good value for money.

Room Tip: Older people should consider the steep stairs to top floors / rooftop, it is very tiring. Ask for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunilraj_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I stayed there 23-26 Dec 2012. The rooms are excellent with all basic facilities and beautifully designed. Rate is fair. The roof top restaurant serves excellent food including veg. Bengali meals also. It is right inside the fort and offers unhindered view of the city at sunset and view of Jain Temples at sunrise.
Jain temples are just opposite to the hotel's entrance.
The staffs are efficient and co-operating. The manager Mr. Biswajit is ever willing to help. It is a gem for the trallers who wish to stay inside this heritage fort.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOY_GHOSHDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 mi away
Jaisal Castle
Jaisal Castle
#71 of 103 in Jaisalmer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 103 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Suraj
Hotel Suraj
#28 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jai Laxmi Paying Guest House
Jai Laxmi Paying Guest House
#33 of 151 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Stay
Hotel Royal Stay
#88 of 219 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himmat Niwas
Hotel Himmat Niwas
#18 of 151 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deepak Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deepak Rest House

Property: Deepak Rest House
Address: On Fort Vyasa Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Deepak Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing