We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its RTDC Hotel - Not to expect much.”
Review of Ghoomar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ghoomar Hotel
Ranked #82 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its RTDC Hotel - Not to expect much.”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We are three families with children & teenagers, group of ten. As part of our tour from Japiur to Jaisalmer & return, we had booked the hotel in advance through RTDC agent, in Mumbai. The room provided were spacious, clean. There was buffet breakfast. The staff is yet to get trained for this type of activity; its worth mentioning, that due to the buffet breakfast there was less problem on service. It was peak seson just after diwali and due holidays the place was crowded.
Since our purpose was visiting the market place and the fort, we used this place mainly to rest for a night and get ready to leave for our destination the nest day morning.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geegkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    20
    33
    11
    14
See reviews for
49
13
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Six of us went in January 2010. It is very cold and temp. about 3/4 degree C. But the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Staffs of Ghoomar are very nice and they are really down to earth and helpful. Even late at night when we reached after whole days of tiresome journey from Jaipur by car they have arranged food (hot) in that chilled night. It is really very good place to stay as a budget hotel. We are really thankful to staffs over there for their hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alliswell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We picked up this hotel as there was a off-season 30% discount on the listed price of 1800 bucks. The RTDC website is not user friendly and accepts only full payment and you have to take a print of the discount form.

It was totally dark by the time we reached the hotel and there were no lights in the lobby or reception. When I asked about the settlement the person at the reception informed that no refund could be made and only settlement could be done against food/ beverages was possible.

The room was spacious but the the furniture and upholtsery was stinking. The ac control was not working. The TV was a 21 inch of the bygone era. There were termite build-up at several places and the towels were very dirty. Overall, it was too late in the night, else we were ready to move out any moment.

We checked out the next morning. There was complimentary breakfast mentioned at the time of booking however the cashier at the reception very cleverly tried to put breakfast for the entire 540/- of refund money and suggested we take a few bottles of mineral water. He also suggested us taking a cab for city tour - 500 bucks. Don't take it from them, many such cabs are available for half the price outside. Later in the evening we were back early and wanted to freshen up and were directed to the public lavatory!! We ditched the plan and thought we might check out the Spa. As soon as we entered the Spa, the stench was so strong we almost threw up... We left immediately and waited in the lobby..

It was a miserable experience and would wish no one else should go thorugh the same, hence this post!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Som-Harsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jodhpur hotels

Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed here to attend wedding of my friend. Ok type hotel for short stay. Rooms were fine and bed was comfortable. Room service wasn't great but was not terrible either. Location was good. I think this is value for money place.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saurabh1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Hotel Ghoomar is run by Rajasthan Tourism Development Corporation (RTDC), it can not be called a budget hotel since the tariff is at par with others. We paid Rs. 1800 (off season) for a non AC room (including 2 kids). The service standards are as expected by a government run organisation, ie. things get done only if you tip. Hotel is clean, spacious, on the outskirt of city away from crowded lanes. Restaurant serves typical indian fare, tip well for efficient service, Beware of the Receptionist, they will try to hook you up with a tour guide who will coerce you into shopping at places where he gets hefty commission.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mans00r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur,India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

we were on our mission to Jaisalmer from udaipur --and thus needed a break and someof us did want to see Jodhpur for a day, since the plan was just done suddenly, Rajasthan Tourism have one facility ,just goover to hotelkajari in our hometown ,udaipur and pay cash there soyou ahve confirmed booking --we had to do for botht he places jodhpur as well as at Jaisalmer.
this particular hotel, i simply wonder how it runs...certianly no repeat visits it wpould be having..it has lousy bar...food...and staff...yes if you first pay themmoney they would run around you. overall, the hotel needs to be avoided at any cost.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Value for money hotel, Very good in low budget, if a a frequest traveller and focus more on travelling new places and needs a peace clean safe place to spend the night.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NishiNupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.9 mi away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
0.8 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#15 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Marvel Umed Hotel
Marvel Umed Hotel
#37 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghoomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghoomar Hotel

Property: Ghoomar Hotel
Address: RTDC High Court Road,, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing