We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Food in an excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mehran Terrace

Mehran Terrace
Ranked #46 of 367 Restaurants in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
New Delhi
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Food in an excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Yes, there are multitude of these over - priced restaurants within the premises of Fort across Rajasthan, especially in Jaipur. This place is run by the very trust which manages the fort and while we were initially skeptical, but it was a welcome experience.

The rajma dish comes with rice, an impressive salad and a good portion. The burger was farily continental (veg) with fries and a good lebanese salad. We ordered the mix parantha, and they were the most impressive with huge portions and raita.

This is not an expensive place and hence a must visit if you want to soak in the atmosphere of this wonderful fort.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An excellent choice to refuel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stopped by this cafe after wandering around the fort/museum etc. We had the masala chai, and two of the traditional Rajasthani vegetarian curries, with rice, and some gulab jamun with ice cream. All the food was prepared fresh, and tasted excellent. We appreciated that the masala chai was not sweetened already, and that we could do that ourselves (with brown sugar - happy days!). The waiter was very polite and gentle. We felt the service, food, and overall experience was excellent. We would go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great-looking street café but terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Mehran Café at the Mehrangarh Fort Jodhpur looks great, on the slopes of the fort, with tables on the paved-passage of the fort and also inside.

The menu also LOOKS good.

However, all this disappears when you sit there. for 10 minutes, there's no one coming to the table for giving the menu, and after that, there's no one for approx. next half an hour to take the order. I think they're too arrogant, and the waiters probably assume themselves to the Rathore rulers of Jodhpur !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MagiCarp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Beautiful City, Beautiful People and Amazing Fort & The Palace, lovely sculpture and ambiance, Food is Good but the View is Amazing ! Go for it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A definite stop over cause after all the walking you will feel ravenous!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

the Thali has to be pre booked and its always full and difficult to get a space so make an advance booking but even then you will still have to wait. the food is authentic and tasty but service is slow.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank sallyannpereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mehran Terrace also viewed

 
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Mehran Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing