We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best Taj Gateway”
Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our stay at this hotel was not our chosen option as we had tried invain to book the Taj Hari Mahal in the same city. We had actually stayed at the Hari Mahal for four nights prior to travell ing on to Jaiselmer and had wanted to stay for one night in Jodhpur on our return from Jaiselmer. As we had stayed in Umaid Bhawan some years back, we wanted to try other hotels in the area.

We arrived tired at the hotel having completed a five hours journey from Jaiselmer. The check in staff were courteous and efficient. We were offered cold drinks on arrival.

To our pleasant surprise, we were upgraded to a suite called the Jaipur suite. This was a luxuriously appointed suite with large windows and doors opening out to a balcony and the sprawling manicure gardens beneath. A gang from the local events team were setting up furniture and decorations for a wedding reception the following day. However, such was the sound proofing that we were never ever disturbed by their activities outside.

The bathroom in the suite was large and provided good quality toiletry. There were innumerable bottled water in the suite and to top it all, we were presented with a complimentary bottle of red wine sourced from Bangalore in India.

We ordered room service which arrived on time. The curry was finger licking good.

The hotel sits on acres of manicured lawn and as such is favoured by the locals for wedding receptions and other events.

We had our breakfast in the restaurant and the range of food served was satisfactory. It included both an array of Indian and continental fare.

The staff at the hotel were most attentive and courteous.

Arguably, it is the best of the three Taj properties in Jodhpur. This is mainly because of the hotel's architectural design and vast grounds within which it sits. On the other hand, the Umaid Bhawan is isolated and difficult to get out of if you were to decide upon having a meal outside the hotel for example. As for the Hari Mahal, it is a great hotel, but does not have the grounds which makes the Gateway such a tranquil place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

I hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

While perusing through you review, I was delighted to note your appreciation pertaining to our landscaped greens, the quality and taste of food. Have conveyed your compliments to the entire team and they were thoroughly delighted.

Have also noted the observations pertaining to the placement of amenities.

I greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

im stayong in tis hotel on feb 14th all over hotel is god property is awesome,and all over staff is good and helpful . Amazing swimingpool ,y overall experience of this hotel iss very goog breajfast is vety good special mirchivada an kachorie is good chef dalveer singh is good his behavior for guest a sign for goodhumanity food and service is amazing in this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwlvipin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.


Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

i was travelling to jodhpur with my family ...it is just away from the city crowed .......The gateway hotel of jodhpur.......is a huge property which is neat & clean, rooms are really good, breakfast was also good, staff too n the swimming pool is.... lovely...... :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freebirdflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Ma'am,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.


Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here from Feb 12-14. On arrival, we were upgraded to a suite which was very nice on part of the hotel staff. The suite is extremely spacious. The staff was very courteous both at the hotel and the restaurant and made sure we were treated like kings. Although, I was a bit disappointed initially that I could not stay at Umaid Bhavan or Taj Vivanta due to unavailability or persons per room restrictions, in the end, I was more than happy staying at the gateway hotel. The hotel staff more than compensated for any misses. This hotel stay was highlight of my 1 week rajasthan trip. We also took a 0.5 day tour of Jodhpur which covered Mehrangarh fort, Jaswant thada and market. The car was a very nice Manza. Although this hotel has only one restaurant, the food options were plenty. The serving size for ala carte was a bit small but again the staff went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very relaxing stay & we had a very good time. Very good lay for breakfast. Lot of activities inside the hotel. Little bit far from the make action of the city. worth it. Wish to visit again.
Send us a mailer with some special offers :)

Recommended

Room Tip: Take the lawn side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitnsanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Gateway, Jodhpur is a huge property. The lawns and pool area are quite huge, rooms are spacious.

The service & hospitality by Mr. Indranil Ray (GM) and his team was quite excellent. The Chef went out of his way to prepare special Jain Food for us.

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the hotel staff made sure that it was special for us in every possible way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajayjain1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Kindest Regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Gateway Jodhpur is a fairly beautiful property away from the city's hustle and bustle. For the ones who appreciate a quiet, peaceful and clean space away from dust and noise, this is the place to be in. It takes about 20 minutes or so to reach the main city but is fine if you have your own transport. The hotel has a long green driveway and sufficient parking. The property is fairly new, rooms are large and spacious and so are the wash rooms.
The front desk representative was not really cheerful or welcoming, totally not Taj but is ignorable. The pool is where you should be hanging out post sunset, really pretty and private. Feel privileged if Jitendar from F&B is the man at your service. The food is average, breakfast too. Avoid sausages, bacon and its kinds - stale, rubbery and left me with a bad stomach for days after. Chef Praveen went out of his way to prepare Chocolate Banana pancakes for us during breakfast.
We did have a really unappreciative experience just before check-out. I was still in the room while my partner went downstairs to the car to arrange our bags in the boot. The admin general manager and the front desk rep went running to him, demanding his credit card. Please note, we had already paid for the rooms in advance, the hotel has my credit card details and most importantly I was still in the room (he couldn't have left without me). Totally disgusting and embarrassing, isn't it. We didn't want to start our journey back arguing about the pathetic service so we left without bringing it up. Shardul Dixit walked us out and helped us with the inner circle credits after having to squabble internally with his team. Wonder what the Taj inner circle's problem is, they surely want to ensure you don't get points :) The air-con is weak in all Taj properties and had a concern throughout our road trip and stay with Taj.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor offer a better view of the hotel premises
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merl_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sir,
Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur!


I would like to thank you for your patronage of The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur, in course of your brief stopover in the city.
Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.

At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to certain areas that were wanting in terms of seamless service delivery especially pertaining to the inconsistency in the quality of the breakfast served , the ineffectiveness of the airconditioning in the room and the confusion and the embarassment that arose on account of the miscommunication while you were checking out. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken up the matter and other service and product related issues very seriously with the Hotel team and concerned Departmental Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards, processes and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations. Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I again look forward to meeting up with you on your next visit to the propery.

Kindest regards,
Indranil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
6.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
7.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
5.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Indana Palace Jodhpur
Indana Palace Jodhpur
#9 of 96 in Jodhpur
634 reviews
6.2 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,025 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range: £60 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing