We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mohan Niwas Homestay
Nearby Hotels
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Taj Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RAAS(Jodhpur)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Govind Hotel(Jodhpur)(Great Value!)
US$12
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$8
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ajit Bhawan(Jodhpur)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Devi Bhawan(Jodhpur)
US$65
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
37
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomlarge terrace areadining tableenjoyed our staytuk tuk driverstayed nightshome away from homehostspolocultureindiamrmaharajaforthospitalitypalace
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We intended to stay only 2 nights but due to the extremely friendly atmosphere and the fantastic treatment by the whole family we stayed 1 more night (end of Feb/ beginning of March 2013).The room was as good as shown on the webpage: big and comfortable bedroom and spacious bathroom. We even had a terrace where an early morning tea was served. We especially enjoyed the evenings together with the family and the very good and various home cooking. We even had the chance to spend a day at their camel camp in Osian (a 90 minutes drive from Jodphur) which was worth the drive: it is a luxurious site with a swimming-pool and lovely tents. Unfortunately we did not stay there overnight.
All in all a highly recommended place to stay at Jodhpur. Thanks again to the Singh family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shane123reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at Mohan Niwas for 3 nights in Feb 2013, this was the first place we had stayed after leaving Delhi for a 3-week tour of Rajasthan and it was the best! We wanted to stay in a homestay to experience modern Indian family culture and this is exactly what we got. The family were very friendly and made us feel at home for the duration of our stay. They were also very flexible, allowing us to choose meal timings and not putting any pressure on us to eat with them every night. They are also very helpful organising pick-ups, drivers and giving advice on places to visit. The food was excellent, the best we had in India, and the room was large, very clean and very comfortable. It was also great value for money, I genuinely can't find a single thing to criticise. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Jodhpur.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Mohan Niwas Homestay is slightly outside the tourist center of Jodphur. This is the large and comfortable home of an historic Rajastani family and our room was comfortable and well-appointed. We were graciously welcomed into Mohan Niwas and served one of the best dinners in all our travels in India the first night we were there. The family is very present and cordial - we enjoyed their company at dinner and at breakfast. The one drawback to this home is that it's not within walking distance of anything so you have to take a car or tuktuk for any sightseeing, shopping or dining. There is no wifi, but the owner will let you use his computer. As in most places in India, it is quite noisy - so bring a good pair of earplugs. If you're looking for a Homestay with an interesting and hospitable family, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisontinsley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this large home on a quiet street in Jodhpur. We felt right at home from the beginning and had wonderful, informative conversations around the dinner table with the family. You can learn things here you wouldn't elsewhere, history and perspectives on current India were on the walls and conversed. The dinners and breakfasts were excellent. My wife was ill when we arrived and they cared for her like we were one of the family. You won't find any of this in a modern hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bohdi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was my first stop on my trip to India, it truly set the standard for everywhere else.
From the time I was picked up from the airport to the time I left it was a cozy and comfortable home away from home.
The meals were fabulous and home cooked, breakfasts were hearty and delicious.
The hosts go out of their way to make you comfortable and fee at home.
I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to rise early and chat to the host over early morning tea, with the newspaper on the patio, and enjoy an Indian scotch with the hosts in the evening in the sitting room.
All of the recommended services eg Rickshaws taxis, etc were polite and respectfull

Room Tip: I highly recommend this Homestay, I travel extensively in my job and on personal travel, it's on a par with the best B&B 's I have stayed at. I am from Calgary Canada.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadianseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews