We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly&close to the fort”
Review of Hem Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hem Guest House
Ranked #30 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Do not be affraid when you first pop in to the hotel: the unrefurbished groundfloor is not part of the hotel, it starts from the 1st.

Location: the fort is only 15 min. walk away and the hotel is actually in the market area, so the two most important (or only) sights of Jodhpur are right next to you! Could not be better!

Staff: very-very friendly. They will do everything to make your stay comfortable. The food is also very nice and very cheap as well.

Wifi: slow, but works.
Sometimes there is no hot water.

All in all I would recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tamas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Hem Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great guest house in jodhpur. The staff is so kind and nice. The location is excellent. The restaurant is worthy with a fabulous view of the fort and the room was very clean
I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ilaria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were initially booked into to Hem Guest House however when we arrived we were taken by rickshaw to another hotel on the other side of the town (Hem Heritage). The staff were a little disorganized and sometimes over-friendly. We waited over an hour for dinner only to find out that they had gone to the market to buy the ingredients. Rooms were clean, large, good ac. We were given a lock for the door only to have it taken away the next day. We had to be assertive to get another one. Good location for clock tower and fort

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goddo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After a free upgrade, we got the biggest room on the top floor and I was pleasantly surprised when I stepped in; the room was beautifully decorated for a guesthouse. Everything was clean and functional. The family is super friendly, and there is one man who works for them (who's part of the family i believe) who found us on the street and spent the day showing us around Jodhpur. We visited the beautiful blue havelis in old Jodhpur. He really made my trip to Jodhpur special!
Great place to stay for a cheap price!
Good location too. Near the clock tower market

The food isn't great though, avoid it. Service is extremely slow. Fruits and pancakes for breakfast are alright.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room on the top floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellepham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This place was one of my favorite home stays while traveling throughout India, I would recommend it to anyone vising Jodhpur! The family made the place, they were some of the nicest people I have ever met and were there to help you with whatever you need. The home itself was beautiful and our room was clean and extremely comfortable. The rooftop restaurant had the most stunning view of the Fort and had great service and food. The location was also excellent, within walking distance to the city center and the clock tower. Anyone traveling to Jodhpur should consider staying here if they wish to have a comfortable and friendly stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and I arrived at the Hem guesthouse after a long journey on a train. The owners arranged a pick up on time at the train station and were generally very helpful. The rooms on the first two floors give directly on the family's living room and the kitchen. They are loud and do not provide enough privacy. I probably ate the worst indian food of my entire trip in this hotel and when I complained the owner's brother tried to convince me that the food was alright and that we were ignorant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This place is great – the rooms and bathrooms are spotless. However, what made this place great was the family. We were there for Diwali and they were so helpful and friendly and got the whole guesthouse involved in the celebrations, preparing a special meal and even buying fireworks for the guests so that we could join in all the fun on the street! Then later, they gave us earplugs so that we could try to get a good night’s sleep!

The rooftop restaurant has a stunning view of Jodhpur Fort however, the food wasn’t as cheap as other places and it wasn’t the tastiest that we had in India (it was still pretty good though)!

Great location right in the centre, an easy 15 minute walk to the Fort and the main street was only two streets over.

We would definitely recommend this place. It is excellent value for such a clean and friendly guesthouse.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the kitchen, which wasn't as noisy as we thought it was going to be but if...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#8 of 193 in Jodhpur
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#4 of 193 in Jodhpur
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
0.3 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Guest House
Royal Heritage Guest House
#48 of 193 in Jodhpur
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hem Guest House

Address: Near Keshariya Nath Jain Temple Daftariyon Ka Mohalla | Moti Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: £10 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hem Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hem Guest House, a family owned-and-run guesthouse & roof-top restaurant, full of the love and welcome that makes India so wonderful and a trip here so unique. As an honored guest in their home you will be afforded every luxury, comfort and convenience needed or desired to make your stay in Jodhpur, Rajasthan and India an experience you will cherish for the rest of your long life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing