We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bristows Haveli
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$132
US$122
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
RAAS(Jodhpur)
US$212
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$434
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens(Jodhpur)(Great Value!)
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ajit Bhawan(Jodhpur)
US$111
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$68
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
84
19
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
19
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounging areaold citywet roomtuk tukblue city of jodhpurowner georgefiltered drinking waterbeautiful gardenroof terracesmehrangarh forttranquil oasisreal indiaeach morninglocal lifetea and coffeejodhpur airportclock tower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February 2013. We made reservations on emails. Phil, a British national, who manages this place was very prompt (all responses within 24 hours) and bookings were made with minimum fuss. We reached Jodhpur at 6am, unfortunately, hadn't intimated Phil in advance of our plans. We also had a friend with us who was planning to spend a few hours in Jodhpur. When we called him up for directions to Bristows at 6am, he wasn't particularly amused at the lack of intimation and the additional person and made known his displeasure on meeting us. He, however, showed us our rooms and accommodated our friend for a few hours.
After the rather rocky start, we were extremely satisfied with the service, clealiness, food, responsiveness and all information that Phil volunteered about tourist activities in and around Jodhpur. There is a beautiful garden in the premises and a great place to relax after a dusty and noisy day discovering Jodhpur. They do serve a very tasty and healthy breakfast, home cooked meals (rather expensive), excellent coffee, best taken black (hadn't had such a coffee since leaving Bangalore). While the surroundings are not great and the place is hidden away, it is very accessible to the town centre and all kinds of Indian food options. The auto stands / taxi stands are about 5 minutes walk away and will ferry you to all attractions.
Phil is a great source of information about Jodhpur, place to see, things to do, travelling around, culture etc. - it is a good idea to scratch his brains about travel plans. If I had to travel to Jodhpur again, I would most definitely come back to Bristows and would intimate Phil much earlier about my travel plans.

Room Tip: If you get a room around the garden you can wake up to the sound of birds chirping.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After staying in some rather posh, 5 star hotels (luxurious but anonymous - could be anywhere in the world), Bristow’s Haveli proved to be a wonderful experience: a tastefully restored, traditional house in the heart of the old city, built around a tranquil courtyard garden with roof terraces and balconies, which make the most of the beautiful view of the Fort.

I don’t know what I can add to the plethora of reviews already here, except to say that all the positive comments are absolutely true. Phil is an exceptionally helpful and friendly host and he, Ramu and Puja (the staff) work incredibly hard to provide a great service (cleaning, preparing delicious, fresh food, laundering clothes, serving beer, coffee, tea whenever you want it… etc). Our rooms were comfortable and scrupulously clean, with furnishings that perfectly suited the age and style of the property and, although it was very hot (early October) the room fans worked well to keep us cool. Breakfast was delicious, with as much fresh fruit, toast and preserves, omelets, tea, chai, fresh coffee as we wanted – an excellent start to each day.

One practical, and very useful, thing – the haveli provides as much drinking water as you want. This is filtered and then treated in some way to make it perfectly safe for soft foreigners to drink. We were apprehensive at first but, because the weather was so hot, needed vast quantities and couldn’t be bothered to go out and buy, then haul back, bottled stuff. I am pleased to say it tasted good and we had no tummy trouble at all the whole time we were there.

If you prefer 5 star, bland luxury then this is not the place for you. If, on the other hand, you would enjoy a tranquil oasis in a beautifully restored, traditional house in the centre of a bustling Indian city then you absolutely could not do better! Can’t wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The first floor suite is lovely and quiet, with a private balcony overlooking the central garden courtyard and views of the fort. Lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It would seem like your only options in Jodhpur are backpacker dives or shelling out hundreds of dollars a night for a luxury accommodation, but if you're reading this - you just struck gold. Bristows Haveli is an awesome Haveli.

Paul is an extremely kind host and answered several questions I had about Jodhpur and where to purchase certain things / eat / etc. The property is very quiet and nestled off the main roads in the old city. You can walk to the Clock Tower in five minutes or the fort in about 15. The upper balcony area is fantastic as has an amazing view of the fort. The garden is also very well maintained and peaceful.

I stayed on the ground floor with a non-attached bathroom and everything was comfortable and clean. The live in staff is also extremely friendly and will provide you with refreshments upon request (beer, soda, tea, etc.). I will also say after traveling through India for the last month the dinners served at Bristow's are quite delicious. Huge spread and everything is prepared fresh that day. Just let them know in advanced if you plan on eating dinner. Breakfast is also great with some breads, jams, fresh fruit and coffee / tea.

I can't recommend this place enough - I would honestly live here if I could. This is a place to relax and re-charge. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a calm, clean and welcoming stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine, but the one of the ground floor didn't have an attached bathroom. That might be a deal breaker for some, but I didn't find it an issue at all.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having stayed at many hotels/guest houses around the world,Bristows has a charm and peace about it i have yet to find anywhere else.The staff ,all three of them are charming,polite,welcoming,and helpful.Should you wish to stay in for the evening the food is second to none and prepared with fresh ingredients on the premises.Sitting on the roof top watching the sun go down over the fort is a memory that will live long (with a cold beer)Breakfast is served in the garden (full of bird life) on a large table where you can chat to fellow guests.Phil appeared with fresh coffee,wholemeal toast and preserves (the marmalade is a must try) a bowl of fresh fruits really set you up for the day.The staff are a font of information,regarding things to do and see in this beautiful indian city.Rooms are sympathetically furnished by the owners,each being unique in style.In short if your thinking of a break in 'the blue city" and want a taste of old india on your doorstep ,yet have complete tranquility when you enter the fine old restored haveli Bristows has got to be first choice or as the say in India "No 1 Sir".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lasborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This is not a hotel or somewhere just to crash - it is somewhere to savour, explore and enjoy.

From the tranquil entrance hall all the way up to the stunning roof top view the house is beautifully styled whilst keeping a warm, homely feel.

Phil was a welcoming light when we arrived, guiding us through the tiny alleyways to the house. As an Englishman abroad he has a great, dry sense of humour and appreciates the many curious Indian ways but at the same time he is very respectful and totally immersed in the culture. He is very approachable and was a great source of information on local customs, history and places to visit.

The food and dining experience was another highlight of our stay. Meals are served in the garden terrace and it's a joy to have breakfast among flowers, sunlight and singing birds. Dinner was by far the best food we have had on our travels to date. Very fresh, flavourful and in huge quantities. You will find cheaper meals in Jodhpur but nowhere near as good or as romantic as here - it really is part of the experience to enjoy.

With just Phil and the husband and wife team of Rumi and Puja running the place they all work extremely hard and provide great service - and give a great warmth to the place .

Some practical notes: the location is very central - 50 rupee rickshaw from the station, 5 minutes stroll to the clock tower and 15/20minutes up to the fort. There was no wifi when we stayed but this was scheduled to be installed soon - dependant on the whims of the Indian phone company. It wasn't too much hassle and nice to escape tech for a bit. There are lots of Internet cafés nearby if you need them - we found the Jhankar cafe to be a good place for some tea and emails.

The local neighbours are genuinely friendly and it's easy to wander the streets and bazaars without lots of hassle. The ants or other little critters can be a problem with bites on bare feet in the house and garden so some socks or spray may be advisable.

After our first week in Indian staying here was the first time we could properly relax and start to really appreciate the country.

Compared to budget hotels a stay here may be a little decadent but it's worth every penny and Phil and the team are to be applauded for creating a beautiful oasis.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews