We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“improvements needed”
Review of Bristows Haveli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bristows Haveli
Ranked #23 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

While I rate our stay as average. We do so with certain qualifications.We stayed for three nights.We paid 3500 rupees per night for a very small double room with a bathroom across the hallway.We met Phil on arrival, a pleasant man,and introduced ourselves, but i have to say that over our stay we felt he needed to interact more with his guests, as there was a distance, unlike the other home stays we stayed in where interaction was the norm..Now while the staff , the breakfasts, the garden,and the rooftop were perfect,the small bedroom had no storage, the bed was hard, as were the pillows making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. In the bathroom there was nothing more than a drip of water out of our sink , and as for the shower, what was provided was totally inadequate. This consisted of a small hose pipe with two nozzles which you attached to two taps . Totally unacceptable, and not a proper functioning shower. I understand the same system was also in at least one of the suites at 4500 rupees per night . We believe if you charge this amount of money , then you must provide the appropriate facilities in every sense of the word. Wake up Phil.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgebristow, Owner at Bristows Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank-you for your comments. I was very unhappy to read your feedback, and can only say sorry for not giving you an enjoyable stay.A few of the points that you did bringing-up I will try to address, The mattress, when we restored the havali we tried to keep the place as original as possible, we decided to use cotton filled mattress being slightly more eco,this has been difficult for some guests and next year we will chance to a more modern style.
The same for the bathrooms this Is the traditional indian style, but again we are changing this next season. Your other problems was down to us not doing our job properly, for this I am very sorry. Phil is leaving us soon and moving on to pastures new.If you come again to Jodhpur please have a complementary stay with us.
regards George B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Bristows Haveli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

I cannot recommend this haveli highly enough. It is the most beautifully restored and furnished house with a lovely garden and roof terrace with fabulous views over Jodphur. A real oasis of beauty and peace in the heart of a bustling city. Phil the manager and the staff could not be more helpful and pleasant. Do try to eat here, the food is very good. All in all the nicest place I have stayed at in India.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I'm not sure where to start with this homestay style, restored haveli in the old town of Jodhpur. It was simply amazing.

I guess it is important to start with what it is not - it is not a hotel and it is not a restaurant. But it is an ongoing restoration project staffed by three very dedicated individuals who go out of their way to present a very clean and beautifully detailed accommodation experience with excellent food and a wonderful atmosphere.

First, the location is magnificent. It is tucked away in the laneways of the old city, with awesome views to Mehrangarh Fort and across the residential districts of the old city. Less than five minutes walk and you are in the thick of Manak Chowk and the Ghantaghar Bazaar. And this is a living city, so you get to experience all the great street life as well as all the bustle and madness that is a big Rajasthani city as you walk about.

But secondly, when you get back to the haveli, you are in your own, private room where things are quiet, service is subtle but attentive and things are decidedly low tempo.

The manager Phil took some extra time to show my partner and I around the local area, including some specific shops we were after but also some very interesting excursions to local Hindu temples. My partner also accompanied Phil on a trip to the food market to purchase ingredients for everyone's dinner, which she found to be a very special experience.

Dinner is additional to the tariff, and you need to give advance notice so they can cater properly. And if you do accept their hospitality (you should), the food is delicious and simply as wonderful as you might hope from a home cooked Indian meal.

Access is a bit of an adventure as our driver was not comfortable navigating the narrow access lanes in his Innova - we walked some of the way with our luggage. But Phil met us where he said he would and assisted with our baggage.

In summary - stay here, it was one of the highlights of our Indian trip. Just make sure that you understand what experience is on offer and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

A beautifully restored haveli tucked right into the middle of old Jodhpur. It has a real homely sense and is packed full of character, with statues and artifacts everywhere. Our rooms had everything they needed (including hot water bottles to combat the cold) and tea/ coffee was available all day and included in the price. The little garden and rooftop courtyards provided lots of areas for enjoying the sun and the views of the fort are breathtaking. Phil, the owner, was an invaluable source of advice in terms of what to see and do and helped arranged excursions and drivers, which was a weight off our minds. The food was excellent. After living in India for almost 2 years it is one of the best places we have found to stay and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

You may well wonder where you're going if you arrive nearby by tuk tuk and follow Phil the rest of the way down tiny lanes and alleyways, but you turn into an old haveli with thick stone walls which turns out to be a small oasis. It's set at the foot of the hill on which the fort is built so there are wonderful views of the fort from the roof. It has a maze of small rooms with a garden at the heart of it and it must be lovely in the summer as there is plenty of shade with plants growing, both in the garden and in pots everywhere. At the beginning of January it was very cold, and although hot water bottles are provided for the beds (a wonderful thought!), it was too cold to sit outside or inside for most of the day without a coat or jacket. The suites are decorated with old and new artefacts and are simply but attractively done, without much storage space, if that matters to you. I struggled with the low water pressure through the shower in our wet room but the water is extremely hot and if you don't mind a bucket bath rather than a proper shower, that's fine (just a bit cold in the room!) My back, hips and knees found the bed rather hard. The food was very good - well-cooked and beautifully presented (especially breakfasts, which were the best we've had) and served at a table overlooking the garden (you can take your hot water bottle to the table!). Phil was very hospitable and helpful, could recommend local shops, arrange excursions, make phone calls for taxi prices and looked wonderful in his Rajasthani garb! We would definitely recommend the Haveli, but if you are going in winter, take along plenty of warm clothing. A small kettle and cups for making tea in each suite would be appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

A former Bramin's house, Bristow's is nestled in Jodhpur's old town and is just a short walk from the Fort, of which is enjoys magnificent rooftop views. The house has been beautifully restored, original features and room sizes preserved and is filled with antiques and Indian items of interest. My suite was gorgeous and I slept in a lovely antique bed. In winter it's chilly (the nature of the haveli makes it pretty breezy) so wrap up warm. Hot water bottles, provided, help. Water is beautifully hot but to help preserve resources, the bathrooms have just a hand held shower attachment. The bathroom floors are very slippery so they might benefit from some kind of anti slip mat. Phil, the host, is great. Considerate, knowledgeable and always on hand to ensure a comfortable stay. He's also good at arranging reasonably priced taxis. The breakfasts were delicious and he has a great husband and wife team doing dinners too. The garden must be gorgeous in summer- a treat getting this in the crowded old town. All in all a very happy (if nippy) stay in this beautiful town.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 68,394,944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February 2013. We made reservations on emails. Phil, a British national, who manages this place was very prompt (all responses within 24 hours) and bookings were made with minimum fuss. We reached Jodhpur at 6am, unfortunately, hadn't intimated Phil in advance of our plans. We also had a friend with us who was planning to spend a few hours in Jodhpur. When we called him up for directions to Bristows at 6am, he wasn't particularly amused at the lack of intimation and the additional person and made known his displeasure on meeting us. He, however, showed us our rooms and accommodated our friend for a few hours.
After the rather rocky start, we were extremely satisfied with the service, clealiness, food, responsiveness and all information that Phil volunteered about tourist activities in and around Jodhpur. There is a beautiful garden in the premises and a great place to relax after a dusty and noisy day discovering Jodhpur. They do serve a very tasty and healthy breakfast, home cooked meals (rather expensive), excellent coffee, best taken black (hadn't had such a coffee since leaving Bangalore). While the surroundings are not great and the place is hidden away, it is very accessible to the town centre and all kinds of Indian food options. The auto stands / taxi stands are about 5 minutes walk away and will ferry you to all attractions.
Phil is a great source of information about Jodhpur, place to see, things to do, travelling around, culture etc. - it is a good idea to scratch his brains about travel plans. If I had to travel to Jodhpur again, I would most definitely come back to Bristows and would intimate Phil much earlier about my travel plans.

Room Tip: If you get a room around the garden you can wake up to the sound of birds chirping.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
0.1 mi away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#5 of 193 in Jodhpur
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Krishna Prakash Heritage Haveli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#9 of 193 in Jodhpur
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#13 of 193 in Jodhpur
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geeta Mahal
Geeta Mahal
#3 of 193 in Jodhpur
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristows Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristows Haveli

Address: 132 Sutharkhana Ki Gali | Manak Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristow's is a sensitively restored Haveli of modest size,in the heart of the old Blue City of Jodhpur. It provides a calm and peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. The house offers four suites, each with their own wet room, sitting room and a double and a single bedroom. There are many quiet corners to sit or read, and of course there is the beautiful secluded garden. All rates include breakfast, drinking water and tea and coffee throughout the day. Lunch and dinner are available at a modest extra cost,and we only offer the finest cuisine. Other services such as safaris, both village and desert, as well as camel /horse riding are available by arrangement. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing