We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The Juna Mahal is an old middle-class house converted into a small authentic hotel (I wouldn't call it home stay). Each floor level is a room with its own bathroom. Our room was nicely decorated, the bathroom was small and clean but absolutely fine.

The rooftop offers seats and tables for breakfast and dining. Ordered dinner is freshly prepared and tastes great, breakfast could have been better.

The host and owner is a bit of a braggart. The rest of the staff is good but sometimes keeps you waiting without reason.

As for the location: You can walk from the hotel to the Fort and to the clock tower.
Yes, it's in the old city and you only get there by tukuk, yes, it's just off of one the of the main streets of the old bazaar, and yes it can get noisy - but so what? That's an experience and don't you come to India for getting a experience? Besides being centrally located gives you a great view from the rooftop to the Fort and to other houses and temples around you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baboon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    76
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
127
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

It is located in the old city, and there is a lot of noisy especialy in the morning. I can not sleep well. It is not a good neigbhood.
The room was clean and has a good decor. The bathroom is a bit smal, but it was clean.
The owner was not friendly. The rest of the team was great.
The owner did not help us with information about How to get to the fort. When We asked him to book a car to us to go to jaipur the price was realy high and the car was an old car. I do not recomend this homestay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianaK139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in this boutique hotel. Come and stay here for a different experience of great architecture and good food on the rooftop. The bed is comfortable and toilets are clean. I had the best sleep here throughout my stay in India. Location is in the bazaar so you'll need a tuktuk to get in here but wouldn't cost much, you can walk here as well

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank toitoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
thank you very much for come and stayed with us.
regards joshi family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Lord Ganesha room which is on the top floor of the building. The room was great, it had a balcony, newly renovated en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, extra blankets, and charming haveli decor. The bed was a bit hard for us Westerners. Although it's a walk up 3-4 flights, I highly recommend this room because we never had a mosquito problem, the rooftop restaurant was right there, and it was super quiet.

Joshi the owner is a very nice man who will chat with you and is always willing to help out. His employees are pretty helpful too. We had a bit of a debacle with our hired auto-rickshaw (we hired the guy through the hotel for a day of sightseeing but he left us at the fort! So we had to hire our own guy back down) but Joshi was nice enough to strike the charge from the bill. That was really professional.

We also had some laundry done. There's same day service if you give them the clothes before 9 or 10am. There's a computer for guest use too. The roofttop restaurant is a great place to chill out - the views are simply amazing! The food is so-so and will take a long time but you're on vacation, just relax! We ate here for most meals just because it was convenient and quiet.

The location is convenient although there have been some mixed reviews on this. It's in the old city so those unfamiliar with navigating such streets will have a hard time. We didn't have a problem and had a great time exploring; it's about 15 minutes away from the clocktower and Sardar market by foot. The hotel is in an offshoot alley, and a minute away from the "main" alley where you can always catch an auto-rickshaw.

To avoid getting lost while trying to find the hotel for the first time, just have the hotel pick you up from the train station. Overall very good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igetfuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahendra J, Owner at Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much For your Review. You said that it was a Charming Stay and you Give us Four star Ranking and its Our Pleasure. In my opinion Charming and 4 star does not work in RIGHT way But if you were not happy with our service please give us the right feedback because i didnt understand your review. BUT Our Family Always gives you Best wishes for your bright future and we are always with you.
Greetings and regards
from juna mahal

Next time when you come and stay with us we will do our better service for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay is located in one of the side streets of the hustling and bustling sections of the city. The hotel looks great from the inside and the outside, with its blue painted walls and carved wood decor. The hosts are friendly and welcoming, offering spiced chai upon your arrival.

The layout of the building shows its age as there seems no rhyme, nor reason to it when compared to the modern hotels but that only adds to its uniqueness. The website allows you to select your room, depending on budget, size and availability. I stayed at the Juna Mahal on two occasions and each time had no complaints. I stayed in the Lord Krishna room (small, street front views, private bathroom just outside the room) and Lord Shiva Room (large, private bathroom in the room), both of which were very comfortable and clean.

Some people have complained about the location but I never found this an issue as there are numerous Auto rickshaw passing by to be flagged down. Some people may prefer to be located closer to the clock tower and Pal Haveli area, where there are lots of restaurants and bars, but the downside to that location is the constant noise.

Try the rooftop restaurant. The views are spectacular in the early am and late pm. The food and drinks are nice and the prices are very reasonable.

For those concerned about WiFi access, they could be frustrated by the signal which is intermittent and weak. The signal is concentrated around the reception area and thus the smaller Krishna room provides better coverage. The alternative is to sit in the foyer area and/or use the hotel PC.

My final top tip/word of caution is the mosquitos. The can drive you insane and they are everywhere in the evening time, and the temperature drops. The constant cold blast of the A/C may help but I would suggest that anybody heading to India in the Winter months should take along a mosquito net to keep them at by. There are lots of light, portable options out there and will stop you swearing at little bugs in evening hours.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRestlessSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canacona, India
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Located in the old city This 17th century sand stone haveli has been lovingly restored and tastefully decorated, with each room having its own unique features. Beautiful architecture and fine antique furniture help to make a magical Rajastani homestay with Mr Joshi and his wonderful family. Staff are really helpul and the service excellent.

Room Tip: for best light and views head top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardnjohnson1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent clean hotel. Friendly owner. Sent rickshaws to the train station early in the morning to pick us up. Location, a bit dodgy and a difficult to find when you are returning back to the hotel.
The bathroom for my room was not en-suite but was outside (though it was private and a padlock was to be used to secure it).
My parents room was bigger and better furnished.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BogusGenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.0 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 95 in Jodhpur
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 95 in Jodhpur
979 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#15 of 95 in Jodhpur
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay

Property: Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay
Address: Ada Bazar | Ada Bazar, Daga Street, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is 472 year old home (haveli) formally used by a brahmin family who served as a priest for the royal family temples. The homesay feature five boutique suites with indisval a/c and balcony converted from the home stay. All the suites decortaed with ancient sand stone carved and 6 to 11 windows OFFERING natural light brahmin family rooftop restaurant serving vegetarian food with relaxed atmosphere. Sand stone jaroka with beautiful carving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Juna Mahal Boutique Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing