We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Desert Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thar Oasis Resort & Camp
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Desert Camp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed in the desert camp for one night, rather then the main hotel resort.

Was a good 2.5 hours from Jodhpur, so take that into account if your heading back to Jodhpur to get anywhere else.

The camp was so well kept, beautiful tents with four poster beds, very clean and a good power shower !

The staff are so very helpful and work so hard here. The food was amazing , although I couldnt eat dinner as lunch had been such a large affair. The evening entertainment was the best dancers we saw in Rajasthan, and the setting was spectacular on all white sofa beds put on the floor, lit by campfires and candles with a bar for drinks served to your sofa.

The jeep desert safari was great fun, and getting to meet the locals was even better. Not one person tried to sell us anything that there were making or showing us ... they are such beautiful friendly people who are geniually happy to meet you and show you their way of life.

An excellent choice camp with a real personal touch and really wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EveJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    26
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

In considering this property, travelers should distinguish between the resort, which is closer to the main Jodhpur to Jaisalmer road, and the camp, which is some 20 kms off the main road. I think the reviews are a mixture of the two properties, so be sure to read the one you are considering. We stayed at the camp in a group of 22 and it was probably the highlight of our 7 days in Rajasthan. The tents are luxurious and facilities well-maintained, the sunset camel ride to the dunes was tons of fun and provided some incredible photo ops, and the night-time traditional dance performance at the campfire, with traditional musicians, was magic. OK, sure, it's a touristy experience, but one of the best out there. Besides, traditional music and dance were a dying art after the end of the maharajah period, and tourism has revived them. The food was excellent (particularly the snacks and drinks during the performance), and early morning in the quiet of the desert camp is something worth waking up for.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shiok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

A beautiful property. Far from the bustling city crowd, a propertry set far from the chaos.. A perfect getaway to plan for couples . Lots of privacy and quiet time guaranteed !! Added charm is the finger licking food. Camps are definitely way better than the property !! Again camps are a first rate option for a romantic outing and also good for a family visit.

The only negative point is the distance of the resort property from the town. In case you dont plan to have your own vehicle at your disposal, be ready to be totally cut off from everything, until and unless you are ready to pay a hefty price for the jeep - to and fro trip.

Cannot finish the review without mentioning the heartwarming hospitality and care presented by the overseer/cook ath the property.

Room Tip: Camps are a better option than rooms. Split your stay between both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stumbled upon Thar Oasis as we needed a place to rest in between Jaisalmer and Jodhpur. The grounds are pretty spectacular, with need little cottages serving as rooms. We caught them at an odd time, I think, as it had been packed the day before and then we were the only ones staying there on the day we arrived. As such, the staff were very attentive, almost to a fault. The restaurant cooked up some of the best food of our trip, and there's an interesting cultural singing and dance show in the evening that was pretty cool but also a little odd, as they were performing just for us. Anyway, I get the feeling there's a lot more there to experience, but it served us great as a short stopover. Recommended.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank JH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have never seen such hospitality as was there even in the housekeeping staff. You think of anything and it was attended. Everything- Dunes safari, Camel safari, Night Safari was very well organized and we enjoyed each moment of it. The tents were so clean, spacious, full of all facilities....you name it and it was there. Best part of all- NO TV which means it's your time only. The demand of lunch or dinner menu was addressed very beautifully and what a lunch and what a dinner. The jeep safari was done in Major 4X4 which means it was truly Rajasthan experience. Experiencing the breakfast on the sand dunes was a truly wonderful. Go and ENJOY the same.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nitin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were three families planned to stay in jaisalmer then hotel manager in jodhpur advised us to stay at thar oasis which is on the way to jaisalmer a beautifully designed resort wid the cottage accomadation, it was an gr8 experience here they are having exclusive dunes so my past experience of jaisalmer which was unfortunatly not good b,coz of jungle of tourist... Here it's change we n.joy everything.. Best option for peace and nature love traveler.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhagirath purohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
60.7 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
54.4 mi away
Bijolai Palace-A Treehouse Palace Hotel
59.3 mi away
Park Plaza Jodhpur
Park Plaza Jodhpur
#21 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.9 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
55.5 mi away
Marugarh Resort
Marugarh Resort
#29 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.7 mi away
Manvar Desert Camp & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thar Oasis Resort & Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thar Oasis Resort & Camp

Property: Thar Oasis Resort & Camp
Address: Village Gumanpura | Dechu, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thar Oasis Resort & Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thar Oasis Resort gives you touch of Rich tradition, splendid heritage and warmness of local culture of Rajasthan. Incredible stonework and carvings done by local skilled craftsmen, gives you a view of spectacular architecture of Rajasthan. Getting the Village-feel with all modern amenities is what you experience only in Thar Oasis Resort.You may want to enjoy nature walk or want to rest your body with peace. Recreational art facilities rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Thar Oasis Resort & Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing