We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Jodhpur”
Review of Ajit Bhawan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ajit Bhawan
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oasis in Jodhpur”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This heritage hotel is a gorgeous oasis of calm & comfort amidst the noise & bustle of a big city. The original building has all the charm of a Raj palace; & in the garden area are a number of delightful "Rajasthani round bungalows", spacious & beautifully appointed. The only drawback was the plumbing - when the bath was emptied the water flowed back up the waste pipe on the bathroom floor, flooding it! The outdoor restaurant was very attractive & food was plentiful & delicious. There are some good shops a few minutes walk away & also another very pleasant garden restaurant if you are looking for a change. Service at the hotel was reasonably prompt (by Indian standards) & the staff were very courteous & helpful. The pool looked very inviting & the gardens were spacious & lovely for a relaxing read. The inevitable gift shop had some really attractive items of what appeared to be good quality & reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKay54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    289
    95
    21
    13
See reviews for
205
399
33
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here twice during our trip around Rajasthan and it was very good. Rooms are quirky - lovely little round cottages in the garden. The pool is fab. Dinner in the garden restaurant was so good we did it on all 3 nights even though we had intended to go out. Food was delicious. My husband isn't a big fan of buffets but this one won him over completely. Service at breakfast good too.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JSS0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel. the hotel is a home of a former Raj relative and the hotel section beautiful. The hotel lobby has large photos of former Rajs. There is a lovely dining area in the main garden with traditional regional live Indian music during dining hours. We had a beautiful blue suite overlooking the outside dining garden. I downgraded the sleep quality for noise. The music did stop at 10 pm, but it was a little noisy before 10PM. In the morning a nice breakfast was served in the indoor dining area. There was a variety of delicious Indian foods on the menu and at the buffet. The swimming pool is beautiful and all al all the entire exterior and interior design was lovely. The beautiful gardens surround the exterior spaces. The staff was very nice and helpful. We felt like we were in a old palace, great style.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the outdoor dining area…it is noisy until 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

By far one of the most incredible experiences of my life! We were met at the airport by a driver which set the stage for a week of incredible hospitality, great food, wonderful service in our room and all aspects of the facility. We chose to take all meals here rather than go out - just no reason to wander! We enjoyed the pool, lounge (bar) with music and food, strolls around the beautiful grounds, relaxing reading and soothing fountains; incredibly clean surroundings, and well planned tours. The staff definitely is oriented toward providing incredible service; we are still stalking about the trip weeks after returning home.

Room Tip: each room is different/unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Racial discrimination to the core.. we were constantly asked to keep moving our tables even after placing an order. The F&B manager Mr Sarkar was extremely rude. We were not even served water. Terrible experience especially when we were starving at lunch time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, with thatched cottages as rooms. Decorated and furnished to a high standard.
Very nice staff and good to see staff of all ages and not just young boys. The older staff made you much more welcome. They guy who greets you at the entrance to the hotel with the fab mustache is well worth a photo. Great pool to relax after a a days sight seeing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Accommodation- Excellent
Hospitality- Excellent
Ambiance- Peaceful
Value for money- Well, it is bit expensive, but worth it I must say!
Food- Average

This is the second time I stayed here and when it comes to Jodhpur, I cannot stay anywhere else! The rooms are so well designed(specially the cottages). Its peaceful, big and has lots of greenery all around.

Their souvenir shop was also nice and well priced.
I am very satisfied with my stay. My only issue is food. Their in room dining options are still better than their main restaurant. The breakfast had a big spread but most of it was tasteless.

They have Rajasthani folk musicians visiting in the evening, almost daily.
You may take a ride or two in the Royal vintage cars, owned by the hotel. Its quite expensive though :)

Room Tip: go for the cottages but not around the reception area. They might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monamukherji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.4 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajit Bhawan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajit Bhawan

Property: Ajit Bhawan
Address: Circuit House Rd, Jodhpur 342006, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#5 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#6 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajit Bhawan 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajit Bhawan Palace is the residence, for the family of the younger brother of the Late Maharaja of Jodhpur, Umed Singh Sahib. Built in 1923 for Maharaj Ajit Singh, it exudes the true essence of an oasis with magical powers capable of making the worries of the world simply melt away. The Palace Resort, has the foundation of a legacy that is part of the history behind the city of Jodhpur, it is about achieving a balance between history while enriching your experience through comfort & unique original style. Must have a Joy Ride on Vintage Car when you are in Jodhpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Ajit Bhawan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajit Bhawan Hotel Jodhpur
Ajit Bhawan Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing