We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Room... If only the Facilities Matched”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What A Room... If only the Facilities Matched”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The only reason this place gets 4 stars from me is the room. I was booked into a suite and was provided what they refer to as the Maharaja suite or something equivalent... they're the largest rooms on offer - probably the best hotel room I've ever stayed in, period. Huge rooms you'll get lost in, massive bathtubs, beautiful green lawn that your study at the back opens into. Then you climb onto the terrace and look out onto a beautiful lake. There are chairs in the shade there and is the ideal place to sit down with a coffee and a book. The overall property is a slice of paradise.

The nag I have with them is the facilities though - they're only just getting Wi-Fi so there was an issue there.. even the dongles of service providers such as Tata and Reliance don't get good signal - so if you want to check your mail (for now...) you'll have to go down to the reception and the business centre which is some distance off.

Also their hot water system needs a reboot - it takes (and I'm not exaggerating here) a full ten minutes of leaving the tap running before hot water at any reasonable temperature (without any cold water mixed in) starts coming through the taps. That is a colossal waste of water and I felt extremely guilty every time I had a bath (being November, having a cold water bath is out of the question).

What WelcomHeritage have here, then, is a diamond yet to be fully polished. All the ingredients are there. A little bit more and they can push this property into the truly divine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShravanBends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    137
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
157
158
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It is two hotels in one property with no sign boards as to which is which hotel, the stress of seatrching for the right hotel reception is further compounded by the security staff who it seems have no idea of presence of two hotels and their names(one of them is Lake and other is Garden). I have scored it average as this is big stress, else it will score a "very good", Once you manage to get to the right place. the hotel has is decent with staff who are really warm, the Garden rooms are good, the interesting fact is that they are actually stables converted to rooms, the rooms are well done up. The food is really good, I loved the tatse of LAL MAAS the local lamb dish. The lawns and flower garden is quite a eye tonic , one can have a long walk and photography session with the birds ranging from peacocks to parrots.The younger generation will feel very out of place as there is no WIFI for Social Media update.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same in a row next to each other with the reception at one end and the reataurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

So what do you get -
1. Thick green jungle
2. Rooms with private balcony and open area.
3. Huge garden space
4. Lake! - Bal Samand
5. Palace!
6. Peacocks, birds, squirrels, monkeys
7. Horses and stables!
enough? Add to that the great service, staff, decor, location. Everything about this place is exceptional. Would go here again and again. Definitely recommended for every traveller.

Room Tip: There are only 2 category rooms available here. Great rooms (where we stayed) and exceptional rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankitparul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

love to enjoy peace food and birds it is a kind of best place in the middle of the big city like jodhpur , lovely place , food bit pricy never give you the menu with price ask for the price menu they will provide you , the most difficult thing is the air condition does not work one cant sleep over night , better you stay in larger rooms near lake but extra price , food excellent bit pricy , clean freshly cooked with real indian herb and the service is wawoo lovely , people are very helpful trust worthy and warm , you feel like royal guest , bathrooms are very small in the rooms , beautiful gardens watch peacock dancing and birds all over , lovely , elegant, veg food is just fresh from farm . worth staying .

Room Tip: the lake view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vievekUdaipur_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

i visited bal samand in the first week of may with my family. i dont have words to explain my experience at this beautiful property. pure serene setting with large and well maintained garden, lots of peacock and peahens around and many more. Most polite and helpful staff i have ever seen. I would take opportunity to express my Thanks to Mr. Devendra and staff for helping me like anything to get my car battery repaired and ensure my safety.
I have never tasted such delicious and quality food that i had at balsamand especially kebab and desserts. Looking forward to visit this place again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhaumiknayak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I went back to the Bal Samand after more than three years and it's as lovely as ever.

The gardens are a delight - huge sprawling lawns, lots of flowers and lovely old trees make this a bird watcher's delight. The mornings are just gorgeous. You can walk out barefoot on the grass with your cup of tea and be greeted by peacocks; look around and you can spot kingfishers, woodpeckers, sunbirds and orioles.

You're only about twenty minutes away from the hustle of the city, but it's a different world.

The rooms are simple, but very comfortable. They were originally stables and you can still see the stones with a hole protruding into your private sitout/verandah where the elephants were tied. The twin vaulted stone arches above your bed lend a warmly quirky touch. The bathrooms are not too large, but they're adequate and the shower is absolutely superb.

The restaurant is bright and cheerful, the staff smile and serve a lovely breakfast with fresh juices - no canned stuff. In the evenings the Kebab Korner on the lawns serves succulent barbeques, or you can dine in the restaurant which also has a good menu - but it helps if you can tell them in advance what you'd like, since everything's freshly prepared.

The walk up to the beautifully restored restored palace is a bit of a climb but the view over the lake is worth it. I've stayed at a few places in Jodhpur over the years, including the magnificent Umaid Bhawan palace - which can take your breath away - but the Bal Samand has been one of my favourites since 1996, and it's great to see that it's still a delight.

Oh, and there's a beautiful pool, too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are laid out in one line, each with a private verandah, and they're all identical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajn0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I visited Bal Samand Garden Retreat between 29-31st Mar'13 with my family. The natural setting was the first attraction and was much more than my expectation - greenery, birds (seeing so many peacocks was a rare sight), beautiful gardens and well kept lawns. The staff was very courteous and very hospitable. We could spend a lot of time walking around, the swimming pool was good and not to mention the Lake Palace. My little daughter enjoyed the most as she got the most of what we tend to miss out in city life. On the last day, check out being at 12 noon, my train was at 8 pm. I told the front desk staff if I could delay my check out, they were very helpful and flexible in allowing us to check out at 6 pm at no extra charge. The morning break fast was great with Bheekha Singh ji at our service promptly. The candlelight dinner on the lawns with live Rajasthani music and the tasty kebab platter was a great experience. Overall, a great place to be over an extended weekend with famlly.

Room Tip: All rooms are set perfectly facing the garden with a private courtyard on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.7 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
4.0 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
2.5 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
4.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
5.3 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Address: Mandore Road | Near BSF STC, Jodhpur 324026, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace is a fleeting distance of 5 kilometers from the city of Jodhpur. It is located on the Mandore Road, overlooking the astounding still and clear Balsamand Lake. It is indeed a true spectacle of a view. The heritage property is built in red sandstone & employs typical ornate Rajput architecture. It is conceived to be the summer residence of the Jodhpur Maharajas in the glorious past. The Bal Samand Lake was artificially created in the 13th century as a water reservoir that supplied drinking water to the city. It now compliments the lush greens and heritage terraced gardens of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bal Samand Lake Palace Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing