We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good earth restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Taj hari mahal for dinner and wanted to check for the best food.

Grand entrance and history of jodhpur is well retained in the walls of the hotel.

Lattitude was full and we had to fit in the good earth, a chinese restaurant which had a great ambience and good choice of food.

Great time for first timers. Staff were very polite and welcoming.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank blackmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to have you with us during your visit to Jodhpur.

We are glad that we were able to provide you a memorable dining experience at our Chinese specialty restaurant, The Good Earth. Thank you also for your compliments for our colleagues. We look forward to have you over with us whenever you visit Jodhpur in future.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed at Hari Mahal for a wedding exactly a week ago for 1 night and 2 full days. The hotel exteriors (architecture) and interiors are absolutely beautiful and regal. The passage to the rooms is through typical Rajasthani palace corridors, all of which look down upon the very inviting pool and the palm trees surrounding it. The rooms are very comfortable - five-star category, and our balcony looked out upon other parts of the hotel. The breakfast spread and drinks were excellent, and there were also a couple of exotic-looking souvenir shops for tourists. The location is very good (less than 10-minute drive from railway station), though this was a slight bummer for me as it was right on a main road which took a little bit away from the palace / old-world charm I felt. Another slight downside was that we were in a double room converted into a triple seater, but for the 3rd person (me!) they provided a mattress which they laid on the ground directly with an uncovered quilt - in short, not very inviting. They changed it to a proper extra bed when we asked them to, plus I guess the mattress may have been part of the wedding party arrangement, so no major qualms there, even though it did seem rather odd at first. In all though, a pleasant stay at a beautiful, classy and very royal hotel. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiraag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us, during your visit to Jodhpur.

We were pleased to learn that the palace setting and ambiance of the hotel and its architecture resonated so deeply with you. We were indeed delighted to learn that you liked the hotel’s facilities and services, and had an enjoyable stay.

I also regret the inconvenience caused to you on account of the extra mattress, and glad that, when communicated, our colleagues provided you with an alternative, for your ease and comfort. As a group we are particularly dedicated to listen to the voice of our guest, which is the best barometer for us to enhance our services and quality.

Thank you for your stay and feedback, and we look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.

With best wishes and regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The 2nd Taj hotel we had stayed in and thought this place was pure luxury.Had read mixed reeviews so wasn't expecting much but got a good deal on cleartrip.com and we were blown away!Our room was lovely-the welcome drink and the foyer stunning.It had the best pool area out of all the hotels we stayed in-including Oberoi Udivillas and would stay here again.
We ate a reasonably priced,tasty lunch at the restaurant as we had a free meal included in our package-wasn't there when I'd booked but didn't argue and lovely touches such as sweetened lime drinks gratis available which was much appreciated after touring the fort-43 Celsius!Very refreshing when you are dehydrated.The pool staff bring you freshly made fruit kebabs,chilled water and chilled towels when you are swimming and the pool has a net above to keep the pidgeons out so is very clean.Best pool ever!Room was spacious,bathroom huge,breakfast was amazing-great variety and the Oberoi Udivallas had a lot to do to match this one at twice the price!Management were lovely-Taj staff generally so helpful and friendly and happy.Usha Kiran staff were lovely too.Wouldn't hestiate to stay at a Taj property ever.Loved this hotel!!
We enjoyed the puppet show and magic show-they are not paid by the hotel so depend on tips and we enjoyed a private show from both for 200 INR tip which was very cheap.Embarrassing we were the only guests enjoying this typical entertainment though.Everyone has to make a living

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and such a wonderful feedback.

It is always rewarding when our guests sense and appreciate our efforts, and also to learn that we were able to make your stay enjoyable with us. Taking utmost care of our guests is essence of our hospitality, and we are delighted to have your approval of our facilities like swimming pool, spacious rooms, huge lobby, evening entertainments etc. Food is an important part of any hotel experience, and we are glad that you liked the food we served.

Your encouraging compliments about the same as well as about our colleagues have been conveyed to the team, and it has been great source of motivation for all of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur.

With best wishes and regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Check in was smooth and brisk as also it was off season but could manage a standard double bed room in good bargain and corporate rate, also was offered a welcome drink on arrival but due to Rajasthans summer heat temprature could not be maintained so had to ask for a fresh one to be prepared which was absolutely chilled.
Rooms are gorgious, spacious and plush with Swimming pool facing, gives a awesome sight.
Bathrooms and fittings were sparkling clean and spacious.
Breakfast was good but number of veg items on menu were less than avarage, but it was tasteful.
Night/Sleep quality was optimum and relaxing with Soft and comfortable mattresses.
Check out was simple and bell servive prompt.

Room Tip: Select Pool facing rooms for a splendour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drrahulgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur.
It is our constant effort to provide best of our services and hospitality to our guests, and we are delighted to learn that you liked our rooms along with the food. However we also noticed the opportunity for improvement in some of our services, where we have not met with your otherwise higher approvals, which I and my team will work upon.

We look forward to future opportunities to be of service, and to providing you with enjoyable stays on all your visits.

With best wishes and regards,

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

You know that the service is first class at the Taj network, but our stay proved it. My friend had his passport stolen from him on our way to Jodhpur and the Taj security staff drove him around all day and helped him figure out all of the paperwork that he needed to get a reissue. We can not thank them enough for it. Also, the events that they had ever night were fantastic and they kept us well entertained. I would recommend this treat of a stay to anyone that is desiring luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arolewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Jodhpur. I was also pleased to learn that we could be of assistance to your friend in dealing with the difficult situation of their lost passport. Being a traumatic experience I am glad that my security team went out of their way to assist you both in this matter, enabling you to enjoy your stay with us and to experience the vignette of local culture that we arrange for our guests everyday.

We do hope you have occasion to visit Jodhpur again, and we look forward to being of service at the Taj and in facilitating many more memorable stay.

Best wishes and warm regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Hello
A great place to be in.a fie star property with excellent ambience and lots of silence to give peace.
Delectable international menu.
The staff gives a warm welcome traditional style which make you feel at home.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank kennychristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Madam/Sir,

It was a pleasure to have you with us during your visit to Jodhpur and I am glad that our team through their warm, personalized and caring services made you feel at home immediately on your arrival.

Experiencing different cuisines is an intrinsic part of one’s enjoyment while travelling, and I was delighted to learn of your appreciation of the fare that we had on offer.

The Hotel despite being situated in the heart of the city, does have an oasis like feel and I am glad that it provided you the comfort, silence and peace that you desired.

We look forward to being of service at the Taj again. Please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of personally.

Best wishes and warm regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The 4 of us,mom,dad and our 10 year old twin daughters,were seriously spoiled by now having experienced a number of outstanding hotels from the Oberoi chain.So our comments are influenced by that.
Arriving at this hotel the reception was nice and swiftly we were guided to our connecting rooms overlooking the pool area.
Spacious rooms but rather outdated with a moist smell! (old airco's)
We went to the pool but it was rather noisy as workers were cleaning some marble ornamental parts with machines! GM it might be more effective by hand and quiet!
The Spa refused our daughters (too young they say)
The evening dinner was very average and the breakfast was okay.
The hotel has this 'old food' smell.
In the bar we sampled the worst Mochito's ever!
All in all it is a big,big hotel but it missed soul and dedication for us as we travelling as a family and not for business.
will we come back?preferably not!but we are afraid this is the best you can get in Jodhpur!

Room Tip: Poolvieuw I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Madam / Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for your well meaning feedback, which is so important to us.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your experience at our hotel did not meet with your expectations, and to the level that we seek to provide our guests with. It is unfortunate that we did not realize this during your stay, and seek to suitably address your dissatisfaction at that time.

We do periodic refurbishments of our rooms in a cyclic manner and are also working towards contemporizing the design for the future. I was also sorry to learn that you were disturbed by the work at the poolside. We have issued clear instructions to our associates and the workers that whenever a guest visits or is at the poolside area, the work is to be stopped, and apologise this was not followed in your case.

Spa therapies are not advised for growing children, for medical reasons, which though these may be on the cautionary side, have been inculcated by us. I wish this had also been explained to you, which might have reduced the discomfort you felt. We will train our colleagues to handle such situations better.

Food and beverages are part of our daily celebration of life, and particularly so whilst on vacation. Appreciating this, and the need to appeal to the individual tastes of our guests, our Executive Chef and F&B Manager have taken up training on the shortcomings faced.

We always seek to strive our best for our guests, and I am sorry that we were unable to reach out more meaningfully to you and your family during your stay with us. I can understand your disappointment, and we certainly do not take any solace in the observation that this might be the best you can get in Jodhpur.

We have worked on the feedback you have so kindly provided and hope that another opportunity presents itself for us to regain your faith and confidence in our services.

I would be only too pleased, if there is any way I could be of assistance to you in future.


With best wishes and regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
2.0 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
2.1 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,039 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#16 of 96 in Jodhpur
632 reviews
4.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.8 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur

Address: 5 Taj Hari Mahal Residency Road, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#3 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: £151 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jodhpur is a popular tourist destination with palaces, forts and temples, set against the landscape of the Thar Desert. Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, offers Rajasthan's legendary hospitality along with comfortable opulence. Located just 5 kilometres from the Jodhpur airport, the resort is also close to the city's vibrant bazaars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Jodhpur
Taj Hari Mahal Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing