We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,387)
Filter reviews
1,387 results
Traveller rating
838
395
114
27
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
395
114
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews recreation room latitude restaurant magic show taj property swimming pool evening entertainment welcome drink taj group beautiful hotel luxury hotel excellent stay front office special thanks rooms are spacious courteous staff memorable stay breakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,387 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is our first visit to Jodhpur. Though this place has its positives, it falls short of providing an awesome experience.

Location : Situated very close to the railway station and city center. Yet due to the construction work of fly over just in front of the entrance of the hotel and one way, it is hard to find it first time.

Check in - Was quick but did not get the welcome garlanding and drink.

Check out : it was smooth and warm enough farewell memento.

Room - The superior pool view rooms are bit congested. With a writing table and sofa, hardly any space remains for mobility in the room. The bathroom is also comparatively small. Tap of the bath tub does not work properly and to fill the tub shower has to be used.
Swimming pool can be maintained in a better manner.

Room Service - Particularly in the morning time it is very sluggish and phone may be unanswered sometimes.

Food - There are two restaurants - Latitude and Good earth. The food is excellent by taste though the breakfast menu is too monotonous. Buffet dinners are worth..

Restaurant service - Simply Excellent..

Recreation room - The kids activities room is very good and well equipped. There is a pool table, carom board, darts, fuse ball, table tennis. There is even have a mini theater where kids can watch movies.

It was great interacting with the staff and guest relationship manager, especially Ms Ambika, a very talkative & helpful person to guide us about all sight seeing places and shopping areas described well in details. She made our visit to jodhpur fruitful & joyful part of our tour.

This place remains a bit far from 5 star experience yet it has got great ambience & grace, hence highly recommended & must stay in Jodhpur.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ND1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta Hari Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay with us at Vivanta by Taj Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, and for detailed feedback.

There are times when the best of intentions are not good enough and therefore, it is only through our guests that we get a feedback of our services, which in turn helps us to improve our standards. We regret the shortcomings you observed in our facilities and services during your visit to us, and we feel obliged that so kindly you brought these into our attention. We are working on the solution to these issues, and I am confident that you will notice perceptible improvement on you next visit to us.

Despite this, we are delighted to learn that you were pleased with hotel’s facilities and services and had an enjoyable stay. Your heartwarming compliments for our colleague Ambika have bee a source of motivation, and thank you also for you kind recommendation.

We look forward to welcome you back, please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of.

With best wishes and regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at Hari Mahal, Vivanta by Taj for 3 nights for leisure trip. Hotel is well located within the city and very well laid out. The first thing you notice is the height of the room which is over 12 feet. Rooms are very specious and well appointed. Air conditioning works very well and staff is well trained and well groomed. Shivani, the Front Office Guest Relations Executive, particularly, made our stay memorable. We had problems at airport, someone picked up our luggage from the belt and left their own bags for us. Shivani made us comfortable from this mishap and finally she brought our luggage back. Hotel's pool, Spa & Gym are all well equipped and manned very well. Staff in the restaurants are courteous and food is good. This is the best option to stay in Jodhpur and hightly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are better.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rajandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta Hari Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay at Vivanta by Taj Hari Mahal, Jodhpur, and for such a wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to learn of your approval of our rooms, swimming pool, spa/gym and the location. Food is an important and intrinsic part of any hotel experience, and we are glad that you liked the food that we served.

Thank you also for your heartwarming appreciation of Shivani and our other colleagues too. It is a great source of motivation for them. We are also overwhelmed to receive your kind recommendation of our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back, and please do let me know of any assistance that I may be of.

With best wishes and regards

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed the stay at The Taj Hari hotel.Good rooms,service,ambience and the personal attention of not only the staff but also the executives.
We were treated like lords and the food was excellent and plenty of variety for breakfast.We enjoyed and played with my grandson in the pool.
As the road was under repair we had to detour every time we went out and returned.
The wi - Fi should be free ,nowadays even the 3 star hotels offer this free with the room,this I have noticed in most of the bigger and higher standard hotels and never understood the charges o
For Wi-Fi .......?

Room Tip: Select the pool facing rooms thou it costs a little more.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank pcgoliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta Hari Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal during your visit to Jodhpur.

I am glad that you were delighted with our hospitality and personalized service, and that you particularly enjoyed the ambiance and facilities at our swimming pool.

Food being an intrinsic and important part of any hotel experience, it is a pleasure to learn that you liked the food that we served.

We also understand your viewpoint with regard to the charges for Wi-Fi services. As these are governed by chain wide applicable policies, in deference to the feedback received from our guests we have introduced multiple choice considerations for their convenience presently, and are optimistic that future technology would provide us with a more amicable solution for our guests.

We look forward to an early opportunity to be of service again.


With best regards and wishes

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is centrally located and has a great ambiance. The garden view rooms are huge. Even with an additional bed, there was lots of space in the room. The bathroom is also spacious. Room is tastefully done and is in sync with the overall architecture of the hotel. The restaurants (both) are really nice with excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purvak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta Hari Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal, Jodhpur.

We were delighted to learn that you found the architecture and ambience of the hotel and its rooms appealing, along with its centrally convenient location, which has been well complemented by our food and beverage offerings and services.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.


With best regards and wishes

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our first visit to Jodhpur and overall third to Rajasthan. Having stayed at ITC Rajputana in Jaipur and Trident, Udaipur, its hard not to compare the experience of staying at this property with those. Though this place has its positives, it falls short of providing an awesome experience.
Location - Situated very close to the railway station and airport. So close that you can hear the hooting of train from the swimming pool area. Not an irritant though
Check in and check out - Was quick and no problem However did not get the welcome drink. Since it was early check in, would give them the benefit of doubt.
Room - The garden view rooms are huge. Even with an additional baby cot, there was ample space in the room. The bathroom is also spacious. Room is tastefully done and is in sync with the overall architecture of the hotel
Room Service - First day was quite slack. In a five star, the phone is supposed to be picked up within first 3 rings. However found once or twice the calls were unanswered. Had to request for water twice and still it was not provided. However once the weekend crowd reduced, the service was quick. Since it was my birthday, my wife wanted a cake to be delivered in the room at midnight. The hotel could not provide this service. Even they could not provide a cake at 8 am. These small things are expected from a 5 star hotel and though these are small things, it spoils the overall experience.
Food - There are two restaurants - coffee shop, Latitude and Chinese - Good earth. The breakfast menu is severely limited. They have the minimum items which is required for a 5 star breakfast buffet. The south Indian food items need improvement. There was few changes in the menu and by the fourth day, it was quite boring to eat the same items. The hotel needs to think on the breakfast menu.
Restaurant service - Excellent and as expected from a Taj hotel. The staff took good care of my son, taking him to the kitchen to show him how cakes are made and also escorting him to the washroom.
Recreation room - The recreation room is good and caters to both kids as well as adults. There is a pool table, caroom board, darts, fuseball, table tennis. They have books, both in English and French for reading. They even have a mini theater where you can watch movies. However the hotel should take care of the spelling of movies in the catalog. I have never seen so many spelling mistakes in one catalog in my life. Barring this, this is an excellent facility.
It was great interacting with the staff and guest relationship manager. This place has a great potential and would recommend for Jodhpur.

Room Tip: Choose the ones facing the pool and choose the ones on first or second floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ritwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VShrikent, General Manager at Vivanta Hari Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Vivanta by Taj – Hari Mahal. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us on the occasion of your birthday.

You have been most kind in explaining your experience, and at the outset I would like to apologize for the shortcomings and inadequacies faced during your stay. While we would have liked to provide the family and you with a better stay, there are unfortunately times when the delivery does not match with our intent, and I have taken note of your feedback which my team and I am working on.

Having celebrated many guest birthdays and wedding anniversaries, it was surprising for us to learn that we missed out on delivering the birthday cake at the requested time. I am sorry for the disappointment this caused, and while we are sensitive to guest requests, do find our response lacking on this occasion. We are reaffirming the sensitivity required through training with our colleagues and I personally regret this missed opportunity.

Food is an important and intrinsic part of any hotel experience and our Executive Chef and F&B Manager are working on providing a greater selection over different days at our breakfast buffet, so as to provide more variety to our guests.

Retaining the good faith of our guests is at the core of our service philosophy and promise, and I am confident that whenever you provide us with another opportunity to be of service, you will notice a discernible improvement which will reassure you of our commitment to our guests.

We were however glad to learn of your satisfaction with the services provided by my colleagues in our hotel, and were pleased that our recreation centre and rooms met with your approval.

Thank you for your kind recommendation of our hotel, and please do to let me know of any other service or assistance that I may be of in future.


With best regards and wishes

Vijay Shrikent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews