We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Heritage type hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Heritage type hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at Ratan Villas for 3 nights. What a delightful and quiet place to stay. Some of the rooms are in the old house, while others are in a new addition. The older rooms are very large, and have been modernized to meet current comfort levels. Our bathroom , while not Lux ,was very modern, comfortable, clean and functional. The bed is "firm", but I would not call it hard like may Indian beds. We had a nice sitting area in our room or you could sit on the balcony

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The family are usually around the property, and love sharing stories of the house's past life. Much of the old furniture, decorations, and landscaping have been preserved. There is a new swimming pool that was so enjoyable after a hot day of sightseeing in Jodhpur.

The dinning options are in the center courtyard. In the evening , candles are lit, and the courtyard takes on a very romantic feeling. The food was some of the best we had on our four week trip. The cook uses authentic recipies from the days of the marajahas. Some nights there is a buffet, but there is always a la carte choices. Breakfast has limited choices, but we always found pleanty to eat, and again very well prepared.

Room Tip: Room 107...2nd floor in the old part of the house. Very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmkrnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the feedback.
It is heartening for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.
I have passed on your words of appreciation to our staff.
Your feedback will motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    295
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
258
602
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We were delighted with our one night stay in a superior room at Ratan Villas, which has the charm of a heritage/boutique property as well as comfort, amenity and service. We stayed in a huge, tastefully decorated bedroom, with a great bathroom.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Jodhpur is a fairly small town, so transport was not an issue from the hotel to major sights of interest.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you.
It is heartening to know that you had a satisfactory stay with us.
I will pass on your encouraging feedback to the staff.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
With best wishes.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent 3 nights here including Christmas. The hotel was decorated and we even got Christmas cake!
It has a real colonial feel to it. The rooms are clean, comfortable and big. The bathrooms are gorgeous. There is a central couryard where meals are served. The food is great and the staff very helpful!
IThe location is perfect. We loved Ratan Villas and recommend it to anyone going to this gorgeous city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the feedback and for offering to recommend us to fellow travellers.
We take pride in the fact that you found our Jodhpur to be a gorgeous city.
We really look forward to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas, may be Christmas of 2012?
With best wishes.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in Dec during out family trip. Very friendly and helpful staff, with special mention the hotel manager.

Food was great with the fireplace setting outdoors a great experience in cold Jodhpur December night. Our corner room was spacious and was fitted with a king bed and 2 single beds.

The whole experience was good and it did not feel as we were staying in a hotel. Will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Wifi hotspot near the dining area as well as a PC for guest use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaya99_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the feedback.
It is heartening for us to know that that you enjoyed your stay and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.
I will pass on your words of appreciation to our manager.
Your feedback will motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I visited Jodhpur and stayed at Ratan Villas and I've never been treated so well in my life. The hotel is very comfortable and a lovely place to stay. The food and drinks are good and the place is kept very clean. My bedroom was very large and extremely comfortable. The air conditioning was very effective and it was great to cool down there after spending the daytime in the heat.

But the main 'plus' point to this hotel is the staff. The owner of the hotel is very welcoming and made an effort to meet me on arrival. Two days later he told me all about how his father used to run the hotel (and his grandfather too, I think) and you can see the care he takes in preserving the family name and ensuring good service.

The other staff in the hotel are excellent and are always there to meet your needs. They are all very friendly and very helpful.

I'm looking forward to returning to Jodhpur. I would definitely recommend staying at Ratan Villas.

Room Tip: From what I could see, all the rooms were as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonjourphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a wonderful review.
I am absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Ratan Vilas.
I will pass on your words of appreciation to all the members of the staff.
All of us here at Ratan Vilas look forward to welcome you again.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurgaon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

An oasis in the desert. this place is situated near all major attractions in jodhpur. food is good. the staff is very professional and decent, always smiling. We were 3 families with 4 children but no one had any complaints. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a good fusion and ambiance. Rooms are very comfortable and well kept. I can strongly recommend this place for at least 2-3 nites. Its quite and relaxing with big verandas all around overlooking the small central courtyard. the place is quite secure for children with ample parking and walking. The lounge is very beautiful and one can actually make ones own cocktail from the small bar and sit around the decorated corners and relax.there is wifi and a small quiet study corner with computer. There are books to read and coffee is good.

Room Tip: some corner rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planmytour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for writing about your experience at Ratan Vilas, Jodhpur
It is heartening to know that that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.
Your feedback will motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

the hotel is very nice, a relaxing place almost in the centre of Jodhpur! the rooms are quite large and very clean, all the rooms are around a quiet courtyard where you can find the restaurant.
Breakfast is very good whit a big choice.
we also had dinner at the restaurant, the food was very good and the service was excellent, special thanks to the two staff , Hanuman and Ashok they were really attentive and always present!
Swimming pool wonderful after one day excursion under the sun in town !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
2.5 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 97 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing