We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Great Food”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Sadly we only stayed one night at the Ratan Vilas, as it was one of our favourite hotels during a month in India. Very reasonably priced at 2,600 rupees per night. The house is set back from the road and is very peaceful with gardens and a nice pool. The rooms are set round an internal courtyard and as the evenings were cold when we stayed, they lit some fires in the evening which made for a romantic setting. Food was delicious!!! Breakfast was served under marquee in the front garden which was very nice. Service was warm and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well presented.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 1,270 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

I only wish they had availability for more days. Because they didn't we stayed there only for a night. But that night made such an impression on us! It's a huge and beautiful property with friendly and helpful staff, delicious food and amazing rooms. When I come to Jodhpur next I am definitely going to stay here. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNK1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a small, elegant boutique property in an excellent location. It's 10-15mins away by autorickshaw to the hustle-bustle of the clock tower market, the emporiums on Circuit House Road and around 20mins away from the Meherangarh Fort. It's set well off the main road - a long, tree-lined driveway leads you to the small front garden with a charming fountain, and the historic haveli awaits in the background. There is also a decent-sized swimming pool adjacent to the garden.

We stayed in a double superior room for two nights, including breakfast. The hotel airport pickup (complimentary) and check-in were both smooth. We were given a welcome drink on arrival in the sitting room next to the lobby, which is quite interesting with its family memorabilia.

Our room was lovely - a nice blend of modern comfort and Rajasthani decor. The hotel staff, including the owner's wife, happily answered our questions about things to do in Jodhpur.

The breakfast buffet was ok, amongst the cooked dishes the Indian dishes were far better than the western ones (one morning I tried the pancakes and they were just bad). The paranthas and masala chai (the latter ordered separately) were yummy, and the eggs were cooked according to preference. We didn't have any other meals here as we wanted to try some of the other restaurants in the city, so can't comment on the lunches and dinners.

A word of warning - there is no wifi in the rooms (we knew this at the time of booking though), it is only available in the courtyard and in the open breakfast area next to it. The computer located in a corridor off the lobby area has internet, but is very slow.

One thing left a bitter taste in the mouth. We booked a taxi to Jaisalmer with the hotel, and paid Rs 4,500 one-way (we were told it was expensive because the taxi would be returning back to Jodhpur without passengers). On our return from Jaisalmer to Jodhpur, however (we were flying out from Jodhpur at the end of our Rajasthan trip), we booked a one-way taxi with a local travel agency in Jaisalmer (K K Travels) for just Rs 2,800.

All in all, this is a lovely place to stay, great location and the staff are friendly and helpful. I would however recommend asking around for better deals before you book taxis with them!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper level, away from any noise during the lunch/ dinner service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mon080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ratan Vilas in Dec 2012. It's a great property and very well maintained. The service was thoughtful and efficient . We ate breakfast at the hotel and were very satisfied with the spread. Also ate lunch and dinner and loved the food. Dinner was especially nice as its seved in the courtyard with a warm fire burning in the centre.
The poolside is beautiful . The hosts were always around making sure that we were well looked after. They very kindly let us do a late check out and let us use the room till late night for absolutely no extra cost:)
Definetely recommend Ratan Vilas for your stay at Jodhpur .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jyo226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Ratan Vilas was the best hotel I stayed in during my trip to India. The grounds of the hotel are very green and like an oasis off the busy streets of Jodhpur. Gorgeous swimming pool. The staff were gracious and most respectful. The rooms clean and spacious. All the furnishings are very authentic and give the visitor a feeling of being in old India with all the modern conveniences a traveller needs. The free access to the internet in the communal areas and computer set aside on the verandah for visitors' use was great. Best of all was the buffet breakfast which had an extensive choice and was lovely quality. Would highly recommend this hotel to visitors to Jodhpur.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Having a month trip across India I have to admit - this hotel we liked the most. It is a very beautiful hotel with nice rooms, adorable stuff and delicious food.

What did we dislike? Can't remember anything! I know that they don't have wi-fi in rooms, only at lobby, but we were lucky even with it :)) in our room we had wi-fi, have no idea why :))))

What we liked:
+ the personnel is very professional, we liked every person we met there, they all did their best to make our stay comfortable
+ very charming rooms with some lovely details like fresh flowers and complimentary fruits, everything is so cozy
+ great shower, no problems with hot water! (what we see so often in India)
+ delicious dinners and breakfast

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone! On pictures I can't say it looks so charming, but in reality it's just perfect! LOVED it :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oksanchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Ratan Vilas pleases you at the very first glance, a welcome green amongst the busy streets of Jodhpur. It has a nice walkway followed by a lawn, before you reach the building housing this wonderful hotel.

The room we stayed in was spacious, spotless clean, and tastefully decorated. The room had a sofa, a working table with chair, a TV, a dressing table, and an cupboard with a near full-size mirror apart from a nicely decorated bed. As a proof of their thoughtfulness, there was a multipoint power strip, compatible with different types of power adapters. Thus, if you are coming from a country using different type of power adapters than those used in India, you still should not have any problem. The room was also equipped with a heater, and an AC. The washroom was also very spacious and the hotel provided good quality toiletries. There was unconstrained supply of hot water. The entire property was very well maintained, and clean.

But what sets this hotel apart from others is its way of dealing with the guests. Every guest is made to feel special, and welcome. Moment we entered the property, we were taken to a sitting room and served cold drinks, while the check in formalities were taken care of by the front office. Then, we were taken around the property, and we were shown the swimming pool, the places where the breakfast, lunch and dinner were served (there are separate areas for each of these). Lastly, we were shown our room, and every facility was explained. We had our little daughter with us, and we had informed the hotel that we would not need a separate bed, but they still put an additional bed in case the same was needed, at no extra charge. There were chocolates put in our room for our child. While we visited other hotels, there were always two glasses in a double occupancy room - but in this place there were three glasses, three towels; the hotel had taken every possible care for our daughter even without our asking - we were made to feel so "taken care of". Then we met Brijraj, the owner of the property. We had a nice discussion where Brijraj informed about the area, about its changes over the years, and about the property. It seemed that Brijraj ensured personally that every guest is looked after well. A pure example of Rajasthani hospitality, two plates of traditional Rajasthani 'namkin' and sweets were placed in the room in addition to a basket of fruits. Electrical kettle with arrangement for making tea and coffee was also there in the room.

The dinner is arranged in an open space with bonfires around to keep the guests warm. The food is just excellent, and served well.

As for the location, it is not in the old city near the Mehrangarh fort. I Initially wanted a "fort view" room as advertised by many hotels in the old city area, but during my visit I realized that it was best that I had not gone to a hotel in the old city. The old city area is pretty crowded, and "fort view", which means seeing the high walls of the fort, is hardly anything to go for. I surely would not have had a relaxed holiday that I had at Ratan Vilas if I stayed in the old city area.

I would stay only in this place during my next visit to Jodhpur.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basav_Roychoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
1,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 99 in Jodhpur
1,018 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
6.4 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#19 of 99 in Jodhpur
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 99 in Jodhpur
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: £54 - £784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing