We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic place with good restaurant”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice historic place with good restaurant”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our favorite city on our trip to India, the room was relaxed with a great shower and a good size. There is no heat but they had already placed a heater in the room before we arrived. There were extra blankets, treats, and a great restaurant with amazing kebabs awaiting us too. The employees were kind and very attentive. When in Jodphur be sure to take a horse carriage ride from the center of town - it is the best way to watch the people and take pictures. We went on the Jeep Safari of the local villages which added to the beauty of the city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 27415miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    295
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
260
604
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our stay here was for 2 nights, and due to no prior booking on our part, we got the room on the ground floor facing the main courtyard. Very comfortable room, infact more cozier than any of the other fancy places we stayed at. Large and clean bathrooms, heaters in every room. Fantastic service by the staff who made sure every need was taken care of. To top it all, the food is simply delicious. The best part about this property is that even though its in a busy neighborhood, its nestled in a corner which makes it more serene and peaceful once you step inside the gates.
The only peeve i have is the rooms couldve been a tad bit cleaner, but then again thats me,and i prefer rooms ultra clean.
Its easy to find rickshaws outside the hotel, but we had to walk till the crossing to find one.
Another plus point is that its central to all the major tourist hot spots like the Mehrangarh Fort, Clocktower, Umeid Bhawan etc. Also 5 -10 mins away from the airport.
Highly recommend this place to anyone. Would go there again in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the first floor, they get more sunlight. Do not miss the masala chai and the Lal Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrawasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After a dusty day between Udaipur and Jodhpur, what an oasis. Service wonderful,food great and room clean and comfortable. Bathroom to die for. Wish we could have stayed longer. Well decorated and nice public areas. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekelly051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

In a country traditionally known for its hospitality, Ratan Vilas is one of the few hotels in India upholding this spirit. Aesthetic, native, laden with modern day comforts along its wonderfully courteous staff and reasonable prices, makes a stay in Ratan Vilas truly special.
Undoubtedly one of my best experiences with the hospitality industry in India.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We absolutely loved our short time here - the best hotel we stayed in during our 14 day trip to Rajasthan. The service was fantastic, both the manager and the other staff could not do enough to help. The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable and peaceful. And the food, oh the food, was so fantastic. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

So peaceful in the heart of the city.
Lovely pool that you could spend all day in.
Nice garden where lovely food is severed at the desired relaxed pace.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to all.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DavidP6207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We loved our 3 nights here. The main thing is that the staff are very nice. The hotel is very peaceful and the rooms are well laid out around a central courtyard. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant on a couple of occasions and the breakfast was superb. Definitely recommend this place :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
2.5 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing