We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 104 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have never bothered to write a review on Tripadvisor (or anywhere) before but this lovely hotel and staff deserve recommendation. Lovely ambiance, great food, fantastic service a calm oasis and sanctuary in the hubbub of Jodhpur.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Huge room, decent food (though toned down too much, spice-wise, for the western palate), awesome service all for a very modest price. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed at since moving to India nearly two years ago. Very quiet setting. Exceedingly clean. Antiques throughout. Great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badgeridaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We really can't fault this hotel. From the free transfer from the airport to the warm welcome to the beautiful gardens and the relaxing pool area to the lovely rooms and the delicious food in the restaurant. And did I mention free WiFi? All at an unbelievably reasonable cost. We would definitely stay here again on our return to Jodhpur.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our favorite city on our trip to India, the room was relaxed with a great shower and a good size. There is no heat but they had already placed a heater in the room before we arrived. There were extra blankets, treats, and a great restaurant with amazing kebabs awaiting us too. The employees were kind and very attentive. When in Jodphur be sure to take a horse carriage ride from the center of town - it is the best way to watch the people and take pictures. We went on the Jeep Safari of the local villages which added to the beauty of the city.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank 27415miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our stay here was for 2 nights, and due to no prior booking on our part, we got the room on the ground floor facing the main courtyard. Very comfortable room, infact more cozier than any of the other fancy places we stayed at. Large and clean bathrooms, heaters in every room. Fantastic service by the staff who made sure every need was taken care of. To top it all, the food is simply delicious. The best part about this property is that even though its in a busy neighborhood, its nestled in a corner which makes it more serene and peaceful once you step inside the gates.
The only peeve i have is the rooms couldve been a tad bit cleaner, but then again thats me,and i prefer rooms ultra clean.
Its easy to find rickshaws outside the hotel, but we had to walk till the crossing to find one.
Another plus point is that its central to all the major tourist hot spots like the Mehrangarh Fort, Clocktower, Umeid Bhawan etc. Also 5 -10 mins away from the airport.
Highly recommend this place to anyone. Would go there again in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the first floor, they get more sunlight. Do not miss the masala chai and the Lal Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrawasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After a dusty day between Udaipur and Jodhpur, what an oasis. Service wonderful,food great and room clean and comfortable. Bathroom to die for. Wish we could have stayed longer. Well decorated and nice public areas. Quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekelly051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

In a country traditionally known for its hospitality, Ratan Vilas is one of the few hotels in India upholding this spirit. Aesthetic, native, laden with modern day comforts along its wonderfully courteous staff and reasonable prices, makes a stay in Ratan Vilas truly special.
Undoubtedly one of my best experiences with the hospitality industry in India.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,056 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
4.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: £53 - £750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing