We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 96 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice, as everyone has said. The location is good, the rooms are pretty, and the pool is nice. And the staff was very friendly. I personally found the friendliness almost too much and a bit artificial/formal, but we had just been at a much more basic home-stay.

My only complaint was that our room, and it looked like most rooms, did not have any real windows to the outside. The one window opened to a courtyard where many people would walk by or hang out, so you couldn't really leave the shades open. I prefer more natural light. Was good for one night, but wouldn't want that for a long stay.
They were also doing construction during the day, which made hanging out at the pool loud. I guess because it was tourist off-season.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

• Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Thank you for staying with us.
It is nice to know that you found the pool and the location good and the rooms pretty.
In my opinion friendly staff adds a lot of value and character to a property.
Just to avoid any possibility of inconvenience to the guests we do brief the staff to be formal to a certain degree but always friendly and keen to serve. However, I am concerned with your observation that you found the staff to be artificial. I am already looking into the matter to see if it was those one off days or a developing trend.
Regarding the guest room windows opening in the courtyard, I would like to convey that the building was made in 1920 as a private residence and during that time a lot of houses were made with rooms placed around courtyards to keep them cool during the hot summers.
You will be pleased to know that we are about to finish a set of new rooms which will have windows with the views of the pool and the garden. We will be very happy if you give us an opportunity to host you in one of the new rooms whenever you are in Jodhpur next.
With sincere regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms and good food. It was short stay hence could not get enough time to stay in hotel. Amazed by hospitality of staff. They offered and prepared packed breakfast for us at 4 in morning without our request as we were leaving early in morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gunjanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Thank you for staying with us and for taking out time to write about us.
It is really nice to know that you had a satisfactory stay at Ratan Vilas.
We look forward to welcome you again, perhaps for a longer stay this time!
With sincere regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

arriages


Ratan Vilas
This is a fantastic place; we stayed for 28 days during the month of July and loved it!
Room 101 is huge, with an enormous tub and shower.
We were able to get Wi-Fi in the room.
The pool is perfectly clean, the rooms are spotless, and linens were changed daily.
The location is great. It is easy and cheap to get to the clock tower and market at the center of town using a tuk tuk. We would often take a tuk tuk to market and then walk back (about 3km).
The level of service and attention to our needs was over the top.
We requested a patio umbrella for the terrace area outside of our room for shade because that part of the terrace did not have a roof cover.
Instead of an umbrella, they built a shade tent /pavilion complete with lounge chairs, pillow cushions, a coffee table, a fan, and a light. The tent was erected in less than 2 hours after our arrival and was just amazing! We were so impressed with all the effort they made to make our stay comfortable.
The food was excellent and there is plenty of choice on the menu including Western and Indian dishes.
The restaurant staff were very kind, attentive and accommodating.
The staff at the reception desk were polite, friendly and extremely helpful with booking cars and trips for us.
We loved that the owners spent time talking with us and shared stories of the family and history of Ratan Vilas.
We would very highly recommend this place. It truly is a sanctuary from the busy streets of Jodhpur.
Ratan Vilas has scored a solid 10 out of 10!
Bravo!

Room Tip: Room 101 is very spacious and has Wifi in the room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank poney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Personally as well as on behalf of all the staff, I would like to thank you for being so considerate and cheerful guests. In fact after a few days of having you amongst us we had to remind ourselves that you were guests!
We wish you all the best and will be honored and delighted to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
With sincere regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ratan vilas is a very nice hotel with beautiful rooms. The staff is very friendly and the food is very good. (the atmosphere to eat in the courtyard is great) I am very happy that I paid a bit extra (compared with other hotels around the area) to stay here as it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank blueprint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you for staying with us and for sparing time to write such a nice review.
We will be delighted to have you back amidst us whenever you happen to be in Jodhpur again.
With best regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Ratan Vilas is a magical and unforgettable place to stay in India. This hotel is a perfect icing of the cake of the Jodhpur city. I enjoyed all: rooms, swimming pool, amazing stuff, but above all, the atmosphere this place has. One of the best hotels I visited.

Malgosia (San Francisco)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malgorzatak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes.
Thank you for staying with us.
It is very rewarding for us to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Ratan Vilas and we will be delighted to have you back with us.
With kindest regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The most amazing, friendly, hospitable and cleanest place we have been to on our second trip to India. We are so glad to have found Ratan Vilas, as we will be returning to Jodhpur regularly on business. We were at Ratan Vilas during the off-season, hence after a week’s stay here the staff and owners made us feel like we were part of the family. The new rooms, which according to the owners will be ready in time for the coming season are looking lovely and their patio lead directly to the nicest pool area I have seen in a very, very long time. Apparently the wi-fi reception will be considerably better in these rooms too… which is the only thing that could have been a little better, but hardly weighs in considering everything. We will definitely return and I can HIGHLY recommend Ratan Vilas to tourist and business travellers.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are a little more expensive (yet still brilliant value for money) and are very sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good wishes.
I would like to thank you for staying with us and for giving us such a glowing review!
It is heartening for us to know that you loved your stay with us.
We will be delighted to welcome you at Ratan Vilas again.
Thank you.
With kindest regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

the staff was amazing and so accomodating. they kept the pool open late just so we could take a dip upon our late return from checking out the fort. they packed us breakfasts to go so we could have breakfast later on, on our early train trip that had us leaving at 5 am.

the place itself is wonderful, too. you get a fun sense of the history with all the old photos that they have up, decorating the walls. it's a beautiful place. an oasis out in the desert that feels good coming back to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph_js999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you for staying with us.
We really appreciate your taking out time to give us such a lovely feedback.
We look forward to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas whenever you're in Jodhpur next.
With warmest regards
Brijraj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,024 reviews
4.2 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 96 in Jodhpur
957 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#16 of 96 in Jodhpur
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: £54 - £731 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing