We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rehab” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rehab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

So me and my wife arrive at the hotel with that thing that people tell you that you will catch in India, but don't believe you will. #lotofpoo

Upon arrival we were struck by the beauty of the atmosphere... a great colonial house with internal patios, garden and a country club house kinda vibe.

The pool is great to freshen up and get that india tan you know you want.


The first thing we did: shower. They've got great showers. Hands down, best shower we had in india.

But the place is not the best. The staff is. Harish, what seemed to be the hotel manager... gave us a five star treatment. Since we were tired and feeling not too good, we stayed in a fair share of time. Harish arraged for me to get a tailor do me a beautiful kurta, we got a great massage, and the restaurant is super romantic... All this service at a very accessible price.

After our stay, we were feeling energized and ready to hit the road. Go for it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings and Good Wishes.
Thank you for staying with us.
We are truly grateful to you for the wonderful feedback about the atmosphere of the hotel, the staff, the service and the amenities offered.
It is really nice to know that you felt energized after your stay and found the hotel to be value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Ratan Vilas.
With kind regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    284
    32
    5
    0
See reviews for
249
579
56
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maranello, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

You will be greeted with a small but beautiful lawn and a picturesque entry path. The rooms are simple yet elegant with the staff being courteous and at the same time extremely friendly. A mixture of Hindi and English speaking staff, mostly catering to non-Indian guests, as a majority of those are from outside of India.

Do not forget to take a dip in the pool, though the under construction wing is overlooking the pool, but its a great place to stay if you are either in transit to Jaisalmer or are willing to spend a quite time in the pink city of Jodhpur.

Highly reccomended to pre-book and don't take any chances to arrive on the spot and book.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Akash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings and Good Wishes.
Thank you for staying with us and for posting a lovely feedback.
We will be delighted to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas, whenever you visit Jodhpur next.
With kind regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

A nice hotel with a great pool. Rooms were nice. Very clean Food was good. The only downside was being charged for what we thought was a complimentary welcome drink (there was complimentary tea in the room, so I was surprised to be charged for tea that we were offered on arrival), and check out took a long time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeoulSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Thank you for staying with us and for taking out time for the review.
It is very nice for us to know that you found the pool and the food to be good and the rooms nice and clean.
I have checked the details pertaining to your disagreement on being charged extra for the tea - Upon arrival late in the evening you had ordered a plate of snacks and green tea, for which you were charged. The tea and coffee placed in the room is a part of in room complimentary amenities offered to the guests. We do not present a bill if the guests use the tea coffee maker placed in the room to make tea and serve themselves, however if the tea is ordered from the kitchen at any other time of the day besides breakfast time, then it is chargeable. As per our knowhow this is a standard practice in most of the hotels unless stated otherwise. I do assure you that I will update myself with the changing trends and do the best I can so that our guests are not taken by surprise in an unpleasant way.
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused due to the delay during check out. According to my information, the credit card machine was not functioning properly, the reasons for which are usually related to either the banks updating their soft ware or disturbance in phone lines. Any which way, the inconvenience caused to the guest is unacceptable.
We do hope that you will give us another try and assure you of a very smooth and happy stay.
With sincere regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very nice, as everyone has said. The location is good, the rooms are pretty, and the pool is nice. And the staff was very friendly. I personally found the friendliness almost too much and a bit artificial/formal, but we had just been at a much more basic home-stay.

My only complaint was that our room, and it looked like most rooms, did not have any real windows to the outside. The one window opened to a courtyard where many people would walk by or hang out, so you couldn't really leave the shades open. I prefer more natural light. Was good for one night, but wouldn't want that for a long stay.
They were also doing construction during the day, which made hanging out at the pool loud. I guess because it was tourist off-season.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
• Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Thank you for staying with us.
It is nice to know that you found the pool and the location good and the rooms pretty.
In my opinion friendly staff adds a lot of value and character to a property.
Just to avoid any possibility of inconvenience to the guests we do brief the staff to be formal to a certain degree but always friendly and keen to serve. However, I am concerned with your observation that you found the staff to be artificial. I am already looking into the matter to see if it was those one off days or a developing trend.
Regarding the guest room windows opening in the courtyard, I would like to convey that the building was made in 1920 as a private residence and during that time a lot of houses were made with rooms placed around courtyards to keep them cool during the hot summers.
You will be pleased to know that we are about to finish a set of new rooms which will have windows with the views of the pool and the garden. We will be very happy if you give us an opportunity to host you in one of the new rooms whenever you are in Jodhpur next.
With sincere regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel with spacious rooms and good food. It was short stay hence could not get enough time to stay in hotel. Amazed by hospitality of staff. They offered and prepared packed breakfast for us at 4 in morning without our request as we were leaving early in morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Thank you for staying with us and for taking out time to write about us.
It is really nice to know that you had a satisfactory stay at Ratan Vilas.
We look forward to welcome you again, perhaps for a longer stay this time!
With sincere regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

arriages


Ratan Vilas
This is a fantastic place; we stayed for 28 days during the month of July and loved it!
Room 101 is huge, with an enormous tub and shower.
We were able to get Wi-Fi in the room.
The pool is perfectly clean, the rooms are spotless, and linens were changed daily.
The location is great. It is easy and cheap to get to the clock tower and market at the center of town using a tuk tuk. We would often take a tuk tuk to market and then walk back (about 3km).
The level of service and attention to our needs was over the top.
We requested a patio umbrella for the terrace area outside of our room for shade because that part of the terrace did not have a roof cover.
Instead of an umbrella, they built a shade tent /pavilion complete with lounge chairs, pillow cushions, a coffee table, a fan, and a light. The tent was erected in less than 2 hours after our arrival and was just amazing! We were so impressed with all the effort they made to make our stay comfortable.
The food was excellent and there is plenty of choice on the menu including Western and Indian dishes.
The restaurant staff were very kind, attentive and accommodating.
The staff at the reception desk were polite, friendly and extremely helpful with booking cars and trips for us.
We loved that the owners spent time talking with us and shared stories of the family and history of Ratan Vilas.
We would very highly recommend this place. It truly is a sanctuary from the busy streets of Jodhpur.
Ratan Vilas has scored a solid 10 out of 10!
Bravo!

Room Tip: Room 101 is very spacious and has Wifi in the room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes
Personally as well as on behalf of all the staff, I would like to thank you for being so considerate and cheerful guests. In fact after a few days of having you amongst us we had to remind ourselves that you were guests!
We wish you all the best and will be honored and delighted to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
With sincere regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ratan vilas is a very nice hotel with beautiful rooms. The staff is very friendly and the food is very good. (the atmosphere to eat in the courtyard is great) I am very happy that I paid a bit extra (compared with other hotels around the area) to stay here as it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueprint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brij Raj S, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Greetings and Good Wishes!
Thank you for staying with us and for sparing time to write such a nice review.
We will be delighted to have you back amidst us whenever you happen to be in Jodhpur again.
With best regards
Brijraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.7 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#7 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1.1 mi away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#12 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing