We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in India!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in April and were overwhelmed by the welcome, hospitality, service and grandeur of this hotel. Everyone was so helpful, the building is breathtaking and the whole experience was just wonderful. We have stayed at many beautiful hotels in India but the Umaid Bhawan holds a special place in our hearts.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank JKRLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you so much for giving such a wonderful review on your recent stay with us. I am glad to know that you had a pleasant and relaxed stay at the Palace which completely met with your expectations.

It is our constant endeavor to make our guests feel like royalty and we hope we were able to achieve the same with you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with my team and they are equally thrilled to know about your fabulous experience.

Hope to see you soon for another stay at your favorite Umaid Bhawan Palace!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stayed here for one night in September 2013. Welcome ceremony is really royal. lobby area and palace dome really imagine. Historical suite breath taking... breakfast at pillar area really adorable...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you so much for taking out your valuable time in sharing such a lovely review with fellow travelers. I am pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and comfortable with everyone taking good care of you.

It is all because of such a lovely team of hardworking ladies and gentlemen we have for guests like you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your compliments with the whole team and they all are equally thrilled to know about your fabulous experience.

We would love to welcome you back to this beautiful palace in future as well.

With gratitude for your kind patronage,

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4 (2 young children) for one night in April and the service was second to none. The facilities and service were outstanding and I hope that we can return one day whilst living in India. One of the best hotel stays we have had. A must stay in Jodhpur.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Susnairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at Umaid Bhawan Palace.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and my colleagues could enhance your family holiday. It is rewarding and motivating to receive such feedback concerning the hotel team.

I hope that we will get a chance to welcome you back on your next trip to Jodhpur.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

we stayed here for one night in Nov 2013.It is a real palace belonging to jodhpur royals, part of it 64 rooms converted to a heritage hotel run by taj group. The palace built in 1940"s still looks new, its spotless, really royal. We had booked a palace room , but they had upgraded it when we arrived. All the staff are really attentive and caring, the rooms are and palace architecture are unbelievable , even the whole area smells like we are in arose garden.The breakfast in pillars restaurant is a real experience, with peacocks standing near you. Nobody who can afford to pay a bit extra should miss this while visiting rajasthan, worth every penny

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paret2877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay here at Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel, especially the breakfast at Pillars restaurant and that we have met your expectations.

The restaurant food and the hotel design are elements of our hotel that we are extremely proud of, and it is always such a pleasure to read our guests’ positive feedback regarding these.

Thank you for selecting Umaid Bhawan Palace for your stay in Jodhpur. We do very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

From the initial welcome to the charming farewell this is a wonderful place to stay. The building itself is quite beautiful, sitting under the vast dome enjoying the music was a total delight as was a pre dinner cocktail in the bar browsing the array of excellent books. Breakfast on the terrace - with peacocks- was another highlight. The staff are so welcoming and this is really an art deco treasure house. Thank you for a totally memorable stay and your excellent and charming service - just fabulous.

Room Tip: We had one of the historic suites - spacious and stylish, great quality sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you for taking out your valuable time and sharing your experience with felow travellers.

I am delighted to know that your experience at the Palace completely met with your expectations and you had a fabulous and comfortable stay. It is our constant endavor to make the stay of each and every guest special and to make them feel like royalty and we hope we could achieve the same with you.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your compliments with the team and they are all delighted to know about your stay too.

We would love to welcome you back at the majestic Umiad Bhawan Palace!

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

You get an extremely amazing experience and it had been the best place/hotel I have stayed in my life time anywhere.

Everyone working here greets you starting from entrance of the property. wherever & whenever you walk around the property, staff observes you and brings water. (highest level of courtesy) hence you are well taken care of. Peacocks and greenery across the entire property makes you feel 'out of the world'. you are close to nature. The thoughtfulness shown in its construction is also unique and amazing.

On top of that, this is the last palace built before India's freedom, hence you get to see the latest palace in India.

Food and services provided by the hotel is excellent. Your stay will be extremely comfortable. Every room is palatial. I feel, everyone should come here and stay at least once in their lifetime. one must come and move around the entire property to realize the wonderful experience this hotel provides.

I will like to come here and stay again.

Manoj Jain

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 400,059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Mr. jain,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

Thank you so much for taking out your valuable time for giving such a wonderful review to the fellow travelers. It gives me immense pleasure to know that you stay was pleasant and well taken care off.

I am really glad that all the services met your expectations and you had such a memorable stay. It is all because of the hardwork put by our team of diligent ladies and gentlemen.

I have taken the liberty to share your kind words with the whole team and they are all equally delighted to know about your stay.

We would love to welcome you back to this beautiful Palace once again in the future!

With gratitude for your kind patronage,

Sincerely,

Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Overawed on arrival and still overawed when we left. We travel a lot to all parts of the world and this hotel is just amazing. If you haven't visited Umaid Bhawan then make plans to go immediately. We visited Ramburgh Palace in Jaipur last year and were so impressed that we decided to return to India this year to visit some of the other Taj palaces and it has been a wonderful trip. Taj hotels really look after their clients - we were upgraded to a suite at each of the 3 palaces we visited. We thought that the Lake Palace in Udaipur would take some beating but Umaid Bhawan managed to do so. This palace is still lived in by the Maharaja and it looks like it. We stayed for 3 nights and will definitely return to stay for a week (longer if time allows).
The setting is magical, the staff are amazing and any criticisms are minimal so let's get them out of the way first. The wifi is free but can be a bit slow especially round the pool. The rooftop restaurant, which our son highly recommended to us is closed so that was disappointing but the indoor restaurant and the outdoor terrace restaurant were both excellent. Maybe if we were staying for a week, we'd need to find somewhere else to eat as the menus could become boring but not so for 3 nights. The trophy bar is a lovely place to have a pre-dinner drink, which comes with complimentary snacks.
Now onto the good things - too many to mention but here are some:
The building - impressive from outside just gets better inside. Every time we walked through the spectacular domed central hall, we had to sit there for 5 minutes just to admire it. When you visit the town or the fort, this beautiful palace stands up on a hill for everyone to see. It is beyond stunning.
The concierge (Sumer Singh Rathore) replied to e-mails prior to our stay and organised trips for us. Even when we were there, he took us on a private tour of the palace and also over to see the Maharaja's polo ponies. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
The grounds - kept in the most beautiful condition by lovely gardeners who always smiled and stopped for a chat, regardless of the level of their English.
The swimming pool - the attendants were wonderful. Cool drinks, cold cloths, fresh fruit, clean towels every time you got in or out of the pool. These guys really know how to make your stay enjoyable without being overbearing.
Rooms - we booked a Palace Room and were upgraded to a Suite (Room 304), which was just stunning. Our room attendant Berishal was friendly, helpful and very efficient. There was another younger man who did the turn down service (didn't get his name unfortunately) who was also lovely. The Palace Rooms are beautiful and the hotel always upgrade to a suite if they have one available at no extra cost.
Service in the restaurants was fantastic - special mentions to Saddique, Amit and Hitesh. The food was delicious and whilst the imported wines were not cheap, the Indian Sauv Blanc was lovely. A really nice touch was that at the end of each meal, the chef on duty always came to ask how the meal was and whether it could be improved (answer: No).
Management are discreet but eager to please. Pratyush Tripathi, the assistant food and beverages manager was very good as was Mandeep Singh Ahluwalia (Team Leader of Palace Services). Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Spa - I had an Indian Aromotherapy Massage with Esther and it was one of the best massages I have ever had. Definitely visit the spa if you get time.
There is a full gym, squash court, tennis court, yoga studio, indoor pool and goodness knows what there - if you never went out, you wouldn't get bored.
I could write a book and still not manage to convey just how fantastic this place is. Go and see it for yourself. From the royal greeting to your departure, you will have an amazing time.

Room Tip: Try to book a room that overlooks the gardens. Book at least a Palace Room but if you can afford a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSOCBrentwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Ma'am/ Sir,

Greetings from Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur!

I am so humbled and delighted to hear your fantastic review from your most recent stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to your wonderful stay with us.

As General Manager it makes me so proud to know that we have ladies and gentleman that give their genuine best to our guest and that it makes that important difference when choosing hotels.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your amazing reveiw with my team and they all are equally thrilled to know about your experience.

Regarding the wi-fi services and your dining options, I have informed the concerned personnel to take required action accordingly. Hope we don't give you any chance of such inconvenience in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable and much longer stay.

Sincerely,


Vincent Ramos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,106 reviews
2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 104 in Jodhpur
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,329 reviews
4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range: £324 - £1,446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing