We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel - Beware of provocative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Beware of provocative reviews”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed at Umaid Bhawan Palace Hotel, at the end of July. Before reporting on the experience of staying at a real palace, partly inhabited by the Maharaja of Jodhpur, I would like to strongly protest against TripAdvisor's system of ensuring that a report concerning a hotel, is not a fake report, when that is more than obvious.
I am refering to the report send by member Worldtravels2000, dated July 13th. It is more than profound that the above mentioned member has never visited the hotel and the description is so grossly false that it is shouting out it is a provocation. First of all the specific member has only contributed this one report and has visited only Jodhpur in her life.
Secondly, although she says that she only visited the restaurant , she also comments on the state of the rooms which she finds terrible, without having seen them. She is supposed to be French but she writes the report in English, when everybody knows that a French person would never do that. I strongly believe that one needs only to read the report to realise it is definitely "a joke". I cannot understand how TripAdvisor allowed it to get published. I would like to have an answer to that. I want to believe together with the millions who consult TripAdvisor that this kind of striking inaccuracies are banned by your control system.
Staying at this palace-hotel is an amazing experience in every aspect. The building is very impressive standing on a hill and can be seen from every place in Jodhpur, like a second landmark after the city fort. The gardens are beautiful, food is excellent but most important is the staff attitude. One day the pool was not open due to cleaning works in the garden. In five minutes, from the moment we asked if it was going to open, five members of the staff were there to meet our every need. They even arranged the whole surrounding area in order to create a pleasant ambience. The most helpful, polite and caring member of the staff was Yogita, who took us on an exciting tour of the palace and gardens, we will never forget.
We strongly recommend Umaid Bhawan Palace Hotel, as one of the best hotels you will ever stay at.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lion1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamaJodhpur, General manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services.

We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    70
    15
    3
    10
See reviews for
373
555
43
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2009

I visited UBP with my senior mother and 10 year old during the month of June - July 2009. This was a surprise trip for my mother and son and I was not, in the least disappointed!

We all had the time of our lives. Everything was perfect: the pick-up, check-in and the staff were efficient and homely. We must make a special mention of Ms. Yogeta who did her best to make our stay memorable. The room was 'huge' and amenities were amazing. Room service was twice a day and the service staff were always ready to assist with any of our extra needs. The food was outstanding. We tried authentic Rajasthani meals and did not regret it. The array of sweet dishes were my mother's department.
The staff even took my son to a nearby stable where my son thoroughly enjoyed the racehorses
Our sight-seeing tours,arranged by Mrs. Deepa Krishnan, were very well organised and the guides were extremely knowledgeable.
UBP, truly lived upto the Taj motto... Bravo ! A truly Royal experience. My mother felt like a Maharani and my son, a Yuv raj :)
N.B.: I still cant get UBP out of my mind and I guess I never will

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EASTERLILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamaJodhpur, General Manager at Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur, responded to this review, 21 December 2009
Thank you for your valuable feedback which will certainly enable us to measure and improve our performance of hospitality services.

We appreciate the time and effort taken by you and look forward to receiving you at Umaid Bhawan Palace with the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,
Ashish Kumar Rai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

What a place!! I had the honor of having my wedding at the Umaid Bhavan Palace. We had booked the entire hotel for the wedding for 4 days and the guests had a blast! The staff were extremely cheerful and helpful. There were no un-needed delays in wedding events and the overall experience was a great one! Each wedding guest came back to us and decribed their uttermost joy at staying at this heritage site. I recommend anyone visiting Jodhpur to definitely stay at this property!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_the_Globetrotter84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Fantastic. Regal. Breathtaking.

Even if you do not stay here, you must go for dining at Risala. What fantastic hotel - every bit royal. Even the rest rooms are awesome!

Extremely high dome gives a larger than life feel to the lobby, and the palace garden is amazing. Lobby area is semi-museum and staff are super-good. This one beats Palace and Towers in Mumbai by a distance!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The Umaid is simply amazing. The palace will simply take your breath away as soon as you enter it.
I was booked into the deluxe room. But soon found out that the room had some problem with the AC. We contacted the house keeping regarding it, and it would take quite long to get sorted out, they offered an immediate room change to the suite !! This was to compensate for the trouble we had !! This is what you call Taj hospitality.
The room was simply superb with a great view of the Mehrangarh fort. The bed was very comfortable. Service was top class with attention to minute details.
We were offered a complimentary tour of the palace, which was a pretty nice experience.
The hotel has two swimming pools. The outdoor one is good, again with amazing views of the fort. The indoor one is at the basement. It's actually a part of the spa. The water was very cold, and I think its not temperature controlled.
And lastly the food. Well it was fantastic. The chef took personal interest to know what we like like, and then cook accordingly !!
Overall it was an amazing experience !!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anupamwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Myself and my two friends went there for dinner and we all agreed it was one of the most fabulous meals of our lives. We actually stayed at the Taj Hotel in Jodhpur, which is related to the Umaid Bhavan, so as guests at the Taj we were entitled to dine at the Umaid Bhavan (and the hotel taxi took us there and back) without the extravagant surcharge otherwise levied on restaurant guests not staying at the Umaid Bhavan (which costs about $500/night to stay I believe, and I think there is something like a $50 surcharge for a meal if you don't stay there - but look it up). The Umaid Bhavan is absolutely enormous, like Buckingham Palace, and has fabulous public rooms of which we were given a very brief tour as we were the only guests dining at that time - and were told there were only 5 overnight guest rooms taken. Gold gilt and tiger heads, fabulous stained glass and architectural details - everything you would expect in the palace of a major Raja in northern India (he and his family live in one wing part of the time). We ate on the outside back patio overlooking the large grounds. The menu was extensive and everything we ate was fabulous and it was expensive and well worth every dollar (I think the cost for the 3 of us, with drinks, was $150). I have a friend who did stayed at the Umaid Bhavan with a (wealthy) tour group and said the rooms were likewise fabulous - and that she actually got lost trying to get back to her room and had to call for help. For a once in a lifetime splurge and experience - this is it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaryaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The Palace makes you feel like a royal yourself. Right from the time you step into the lobby, the royal welcome, inroom check in, the palatial rooms...all bring to life, the style of the maharajas.

  • Liked — The property itself.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilanoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.9 mi away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 97 in Jodhpur
949 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
0.6 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 97 in Jodhpur
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 97 in Jodhpur
1,208 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 97 in Jodhpur
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 97 in Jodhpur
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur

Property: Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
Address: Near Circuit House, Jodhpur 342006, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Spa Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest royal residences in the world, the golden-yellow sandstone Umaid Bhawan Palace is a monument to Jodhpur’s gallantry and romance. Guests get a taste of what it was like to live like kings. From rooms once occupied by the Maharaja. From regal pastimes like polo or croquet. From magnificent views of the palace gardens and the spectacular Mehrangarh Fort. From unique themed dinners that flaunt all the pomp-and-splendour of the desert kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoftTaj, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
Jodhpur Umaid Bhawan Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing