We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Jodhpur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #15 of 194 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Hello everyone!! I strongly reccomend Durag Niwas Guesthouse in Jodhpur. I stayed twice last year and will be back for sure. For a female solo traveller like me was the perfect place. It´s located in a quit area next to a sports compound (which only members can enter), but it´s located very close to the center, to supermarkets and the old town.
I always feel at home here the atmosphere is very warm and cozy. Govind and Mukta and great hosts and they always help guests with information and helpful tips. All the staff is very nice.
My favorite room is one of the suites upstairs, which has a nice terrace overlooking the sports ground and is nice to see the sunsets from there. Regards,
Sandra Salazar

Room Tip: The suite upstairs that faces the sports ground or the very first room located next to the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slss3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

I'm a female solo traveler and where ever I travel, safety is a priority. My friends recommended it to be the place for me as it is run by a family. I was very happy to find it more than what I had expected. The blue walls on the outside were very welcoming and when I stepped inside I was warmly greeted by Mukta Jee (Owner's wife n co-owner). My room was clean, decorated tastefully with soothing interiors, well ventilated with lots of windows and had a small balcony. The dining area is nicely done with a beautiful canopy, lots of shrubs and greenery and fresh home cooked meals are available right from the kitchen. It was nice meeting other guests, long term volunteers of the NGO run by the owner, the owner himself and his family members while eating breakfast. I loved lounging and reading books on the beautifully decorated n comfortable divans places all over the property. The ambiance is homely and comfortable. The staff are polite and courteous. I had quite a relaxing time while staying there. In fact, I had planned to stay for two days but ended up staying for five. The owner was very thoughtful to pack some fruits for me when I left early in the morning.
While I was around, it was quite an inspiring experience to see and know about 'Sambhali', the NGO that works for empowering Dalit women and girls by means of education and self employment, owned and managed by the owner. I look forward to staying at Durag Niwas again and I would strongly recommend it as the comfortable and homely place to stay when in Jodhpur. Best wishes to the owners and their entire team.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psych10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I arrived at night and loved how cosy the place looked with the warm lights, blue walls and colourful drapes. The room was simple, staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the people who stay here volunteer at the Sambhali trust, a non profit organization to help women set up by the owner and everyone was really nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MizzH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this guest house. Room and bathroom was clean, food was good. Service was not very prompt, being a family-run guest house. We recommend it for staying in Jodhpur. However, when we wanted to book a car for our journey to Mt. Abu, they did not inform us about the availability of the car, in spite of assuring us to come back with the information within 15 min. We were waiting about 3-4 hrs and then assumed they have failed to arrange something.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ipsita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We called here in the evening to inquire about room availability - we were scolded/yelled at for calling too late in the evening for them and told to call back after 9 AM with questions. We couldn't believe it and took this as a sign of their attitude and customer service and happily found somewhere else to stay (all other guest houses were eager to answer our questions). We're currently at Sadar Haveli and finding it a unique place to stay (200 year old fort with fantastic view of main Jodhpur fort).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank KEM333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramramsa1983, Owner at Durag Niwas Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,
Durag Niwas is a simple guest house run by a family and sorry for not providing fancy 24 hours reservation desk service. We remember your call from last night. We are sorry to you that we cannot provide reservation information at 12.00am, when our family is asleep. We are sorry that we have suggested yourself to call at 9.00am so that our staff could assist yourself. Sorry for the inconvenience caused by us. We wish you a pleasant stay in Jodhpur.
Best Regards
Durag Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Our family recently stayed three nights at Duraq Niwas in Jodhpur. I think we had the largest room available and it worked well for our family of 4. There is a large central area with wifi available and was a very nice place to sit and rest.

This guesthouse is the base for the Sambahli trust that works with women and girls in India so many of the other people at the guesthouse are volunteers for the trust. The owner and founder of the trust was kind enough to give my 13 year old son an interview and to discuss with him the problems that plaque women in India.

We would recommend this budget guesthouse without hesitation.

This guesthouse was quite quiet at night and yet was only a short rickshaw ride to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emelle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Excellent hostel! The owners are really wonderful and also run a non-profit helping local women; it feels great to support them. We wish we would have known about it in advance so we could have volunteered! This place has an awesome vibe and it’s a great place to meet other travelers. There’s really good food, hot water, fast wifi, clean towels/sheets and the best fan I’ve had in India!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAPapasFritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 102 in Jodhpur
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
1.3 mi away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 102 in Jodhpur
1,024 reviews
1.3 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 194 in Jodhpur
652 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kothi Heritage
The Kothi Heritage
#4 of 194 in Jodhpur
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Address: K.N. College Road | 1. Setrawa House, Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: £14 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing