We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A concrete bed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 189 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A concrete bed!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This Guest House is popular with NGOs and has a relaxed feeling about it. The Guest House was full and we were given a room next store, on the ground floor with a concrete bed and thin mattress. the room was disappointing and not clean. We had breakfast booked early but they had forgotten and when it arrived the crockery was dirty.
The stay here did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenthere429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovindSetrawa, Guest Relations Manager at Durag Niwas Guesthouse, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Ma'am,
I am sorry that your stay at the guesthouse did not meet your expectations. We hope that if you return to Jodhpur you will allow us to welcome into OUR guesthouse and show you the hospitality and excellence of service that we expect from our staff.
Thank you for your comment and we hope you a wonderful stay in India...
Warm Regards
Durag Niwas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    38
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
41
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had such a wonderful time in the beautiful guesthouse with the Durag Niwas family that we would like to go back as soon as possible. The rooms are very nice and ours the Rajput suite is just a dream. The bathroom big enough and very clean; hot water for 24 hours. The atmosphere in the house is peaceful and we could find at every time a nice person to talk. We enjoyed the home made food in the evening and were happy to taste many new dishes and learn more about the culture of Rajasthan. Yes the guesthouse is really a pearl, but that is not enough. It is also the base of the Sambali Trust, a wonderful charity organisation. Whenever you go there reserve one day to visit a part of the Trust; it is an eye opener and a sign of love that we don't forget.
Mother Rosmary and daughter Christine, Zurich/ Switzerland

Room Tip: Even the suits are very affordable for foreigners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November. The place was beautiful and the rooms really pretty - we even had a lodger in our room - a small lizard :) You got a nice view of the city and, although it wasn't centrally located, tuk tuk's were easy to get at the end of the street. The food was very nice, though, the service is a bit slow. The hotel is special as it also comprises of a trust that teaches women and children languages and life skills. There is wifi available, though, you have to move around the grounds a bit to find a connection as it doesn't always work in the rooms. It's nice to stay somewhere so different, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunt82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Clean rooms and bathrooms are clean. You can also have food there as they have a home-run kitchen. Service is not very quick as it is family-run. They reserved a room for us when we booked via email. However, they do not offer free pick up from railway station.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badshah400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very good guesthouse.... facilities clean, rooms big and the hospitality is amazing... I arrived in Jodhpur at 22:30 p.m. and they managed very thing for me..... Govind the owner one of the nicest Indians that I got to know in 6 months in India.... So when you plan to go to Jodhpur this guesthouse should be the first address...

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sepqel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

You will love staying here and enjoy this beautifully decorated and traveler-friendly guesthouse! It has much to offer that sets it apart from the usual guesthouse... but make sure you book ahead - many rooms are occupied by volunteers of all ages (18 to 70!) coming here from all over the world, helping this family empower the underprivileged women and children (untouchables) to make a better life for themselves and their families. A real opportunity If you are interested to have a look beyond the usual India experience!
You can get involved if you like or just watch from the sideline, visit one of their projects at Sambhali Trust, meet some of the girls who come to learn Hindi, English and craft in the empowerment center run at the guesthouse upstairs or visit their boutique for souvenirs.
Meet fellow travelers and volunteers during scrumptious breakfast, lunch or dinner served around the big table - cooked by Mukta, the lady of the house, offering the most delicious home-cooked food that you could find!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

When i enter here, it was so amazing that people were familia with us and I cant explain about that feeling while travelling in Jodhpur. Furthermore, the dinner was so delicious. Also, the interior of rooms are unique and clean with nice view. Thus, you will have so much fun with them friends. In short, it was an unexpected adventure!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreneSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 100 in Jodhpur
506 reviews
0.9 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.0 mi away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 100 in Jodhpur
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#9 of 100 in Jodhpur
428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
1.3 mi away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 189 in Jodhpur
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Property: Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. A Rajput family run home stay, simple, clean room with many windows for fresh air and natural light. Private bathroom with 24 hour hot shower. Home cooked delicious meals available. Cooking demonstration available on request, complimentary pick up service, drinking water (R.O.) and WiFi complimentary. Very green neighbourhood and centrally located. 24 hours our family is available to assist you; you can use our common refrigerator, washing machine, kitchen, a doctor is available on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing